We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old House at Home

$$ - $$$, British,
2 South Street, Havant PO9 1DA, England
+44 23 9248 3464
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good27%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“burger” (17 reviews)
“sunday roast” (10 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 South Street, Havant PO9 1DA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Decided to have supper out as had a long day and wanted a break. Thought I would give this pub a try and disappointed I did. Not much atmosphere or charm although service was friendly. The menu was limited. We ordered a burger and a...More

Thank Kathyfitchett
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly pub and our meal was very nice indeed. The food came hot so that's a bonus. The only thing that I would say is that if you have a burger like I did, make sure you ask for no pickle. As I wasn't...More

3  Thank Navigate324415
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had Sunday lunch today with my hubby. Very good beef roast and would thoroughly recommend. Most of the staff were very friendly.

Thank Christine L
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Thank you old house at home for giving our family party quality food quality service and an amazing experience couldnt of been better we couldnt be bothered to cook and with a party of nine including three children who absolutely loved the crayons and board...More

Thank Richard H
Amy C, General Manager at The Old House at Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review I am very glad you all had a good time especially the children as we are a very family friendly public house and love to see everyone enjoying themselves

Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Decided to try our local after hearing of a management change. On arrival the lovely lady called Judy was quick to arrange seating as we have a toddler needing a high chair. We sat in the restaurant side of the pub where it was calmer...More

Thank Rosie B
Amy C, General Manager at The Old House at Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you Rosie B for taking the time to write a review I am very pleased you had a very good experience with us enjoying our quality food offer and the team being attentive we are very pleased with our quaint areas our food and...More

Reviewed August 28, 2018

Excellent food lovely atmosphere friendly staff And good selection ofor beers. A good menu plus choices of the day. No loud and intrusive music. Clean and tidy . An adequate yard at the rear for smokers. Sunday roasts also available. Low beams and tradition well...More

Thank alanjbeardmore
Amy C, Guest Relations Manager at The Old House at Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us we are very pleased you enjoyed our food beers and hospitality we always aim to please as it shows in your review and we do hope to see you soon

Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We thought we would wonder to our local and have lunch, what a mistake to make. No menus on any tables, a few people eating in the “lounge bar” , lunch menu minimal to choose from, main menu not much better, I chose fishfinger sandwich,...More

Thank Susan S
Amy C, Guest Relations Manager at The Old House at Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Dear Susan I am very sorry we did not live up to your expectation on Bank Holiday Monday we were very busy for food that day in the restaurant area, unfortunately yes our general manager was working on the laptop at the bar completing weekly...More

Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

We sat at a booth and were asked to move as it was reserved - the booth remained empty the entire time we were there and forced to sit in the cold corner room of the pub. I assume to keep us away from the...More

Thank Adam R
Amy C, Guest Relations Manager at The Old House at Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Dear Adam, I am very sorry that you felt the need to give us a poor review, it was not intentional at all to make you feel not welcome especially with young children, our supervisor did explain to you that the table was reserved and...More

Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

We ate here with friends. The food was average nothing special. Overall we had a good evening here and the staff were friendlyMore

Thank humeybear
Amy C, Guest Relations Manager at The Old House at Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you for your review I am very pleased you had a good evening and enjoyed our hospitality and food its a shame you felt it to be average we pride ourselves on quality local suppliers and pay particular care in delivery of our offer...More

Reviewed August 20, 2018

I called late Sunday afternoon to ask if they could accommodate a party of 14 that evening and to my surprise they agreed after conferring with the chef. We arrived duly at the agreed time and were made very welcome. Our server was very courteous...More

1  Thank ianHH
Amy C, Guest Relations Manager at The Old House at Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you for our 5 star review we are very pleased that you enjoyed our great food and service we pride ourselves on both here at the old house at home and enjoy catering and attending to large groups whatever time it is. Thank you...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Havant
The Bear Hotel
721 reviews
.06 miles away
Premier Inn (Langstone/A27)
413 reviews
.29 miles away
Brookfield Hotel
648 reviews
1.19 miles away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
497 reviews
1.30 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
19 Fourteas Tearoom Havant
380 reviews
.16 miles away
Lavender Tea Rooms
215 reviews
.06 miles away
Aroma Oriental Restaurant
164 reviews
.16 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Spring Arts and Heritage Centre
50 reviews
.13 miles away
The Chapel Medi-Spa
10 reviews
.19 miles away
Horizone Leisure Centre
37 reviews
.48 miles away
Langstone Harbour
88 reviews
.83 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jill D
February 23, 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kate M | Reviewed this property |
Monday - Thursday 12.00 - 21.00 Saturday - Sunday 12.00 - 17.00
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 South Street, Havant PO9 1DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Havant
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9248 3464
  • E-mail
Description
Rustic home-cooked food is the order of the day at The Old House at Home, a 17th century pub in Havant. The best Sunday roast thanks to our seasonal ingredients and the meat from our superb local butcher. Choose from six ales, four lagers and a fridge full of craft beers!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing