We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Swan

$$
Bar, British, Gastropub, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
91 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6TL, England
+441252510920
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 11:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 135: English reviews
Aldershot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited on a busy Friday evening. The pub was full and the restaurant was busy too. We got seated quickly and had our drinks and order was taken. There was a slight wait on the food and drinks but you could see why from how many people there was. The food was tasty and looked great. We had young children... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Km1304
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I'm always in decisive when it comes to choosing a meal in a restaurant and decided to ask our waiter what I should have, he was knowledgeable and informative about the menu and suggested a wonderful beef dish from the specials which I thoroughly enjoyed! We had a lovely evening and will definitely be going again!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny H
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well refurbished, nicely appointed pub, with pretensions to quality regrettably not delivered. Young, hardworking front of house staff with a personable lead member who did his best. However at the end of the day it took far too long to produce mostly sandwiches for a group of 16 on a Tuesday lunchtime. Notice had been given but for whatever reason... More 

Helpful?
Thank BritishTraveller66
AviatorbyTAG, Office Administrator at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear BritishTraveller66 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the newly refurbished The Swan, Farnborough. I was sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience, however your feedback can only help us improve our service. The team at The Swan are very appreciative of your feedback and please be assured this has been taken extremely... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice, modern building obviously recently refurbished. Overall the Swan just seemed to me to think it was much better than it actually was, on our visit anyway. Service was prompt and efficient. Caesar salad starter was good and very large. The ham hock terrine itself was tasty but was supposed to be served with crusty bread - in fact it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lesleyandarthur
AviatorbyTAG, Office Administrator at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear Lesleyandarthur Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the newly refurbished The Swan, Farnborough. I was sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience, however your feedback can only help us improve our service. The team at The Swan are very appreciative of your feedback and please be assured this has been taken extremely... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The menu held great promise, but turned out to be quite disappointing. The duck had a good flavour, but even says on the menu ‘served pink’, was cooked quite a way beyond pink. My wife had the trout which was tasteless with an over salty sauce. The cheesecake was not a very pleasant almost rubbery consistency, as if too much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Selwyn H
AviatorbyTAG, Office Administrator at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear Selwyn H Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the newly refurbished The Swan, Farnborough. I was sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience, however your feedback can only help us improve our service. The team at The Swan are very appreciative of your feedback and please be assured this has been taken... More 

kent UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice welcome, Pub has recently been renovated and was very busy. Food was excellent pub food and service was very good.

Helpful?
1 Thank birch13424
AviatorbyTAG, Office Administrator at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear birch13424 Thank you for your 5 circle review regarding your recent visit to the newly refurbished The Swan, Farnborough. I was delighted to read such wonderful feedback and was so pleased to read that you were very impressed with the food and service. I have shared your review with The Swan Team, who were delighted to read such lovely... More 

ESSEX, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
209 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited for a few drinks when staying at the nearby Aviator Hotel. Nice atmosphere, and decoration. Good selection of beers, didn't eat but menu looked really good. Staff very helpful and polite.

Helpful?
1 Thank LIMPIT
AviatorbyTAG, Office Administrator at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear LIMPIT Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to the newly refurbished The Swan, Farnborough. I was delighted to read such wonderful feedback and was so pleased to read that you were very impressed with the selection of beers. I was delighted to hear that you thought the menu looked really good although you didn't have a... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoyed a really good meal at the Swan pub overlooking the airfield. The food was excellent, great atmosphere and super friendly staff. So nice to have somewhere good to eat in Farnborough at last

Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe218
AviatorbyTAG, Office Administrator at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear Zoe218 Thank you for your 5 circle review regarding your recent visit to the newly refurbished The Swan, Farnborough. I was delighted to read such wonderful feedback and was so pleased to read that you were very impressed with the menu, food and service. I have shared your review with The Swan Team, who were delighted to read such... More 

addlestone
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a large table, 4 people didn't show, we were a bit slow ordering and waiting staff took it all in their stride. Every dish was good quality and not a single problem. We then all paid separately on card and again, the staff were patient and cheerful. Good varied menu to suit all. Would visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Sophia B
AviatorbyTAG, Office Administrator at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear Sophie B Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to the newly refurbished The Swan, Farnborough. I was delighted to read such wonderful feedback and was so pleased to read that you were very impressed with the menu, food and service. I have shared your review with The Swan Team, who were delighted to read such lovely... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Whilst staying in the area my partner and I stumbled upon this lovely place. After reading the menu we assumed that the restaurant would be booked up so called ahead to book in advance for the evening, the member of staff advised that it was wise to book as they were expecting to be busy. When we arrived we received... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leonie S
AviatorbyTAG, Office Administrator at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear Leonie S Thank you for your 5 circle review regarding your recent visit to the newly refurbished The Swan, Farnborough. I was delighted to read such wonderful feedback and was so pleased to read that you were very impressed with the menu, food and service. I have shared your review with The Swan Team, who were delighted to read... More 

Travelers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 
Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $33
Cuisine
Bar, British, Gastropub, Pub
Meals
Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 91 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6TL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Farnborough
  • Phone Number: +441252510920
Description
The Swan is a contemporary gastropub set in one of Farnborough's most charming buildings.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Swan and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
hants
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?