We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cams Mill

$$ - $$$, British,
Cams Hill, Fareham PO16 8AA, England
+44 1329 287506
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good28%
  • Average19%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“hake” (13 reviews)
“liver” (12 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cams Hill, Fareham PO16 8AA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We went a couple of times when it first opened and wasn't impressed but this time it was much better. Service was fast and friendly and the roast was good. Best to go earlier for the roast as they had run out of some veg...More

Thank Terry N
Reviewed 2 days ago

First time visit and it will not be my last thats for sure. Was taken there by my daughters as part of my birthday present, what a lovely place we had lovely views over the water. I and one daughter had the Pork roast what...More

Thank brendacunningham2016
Reviewed 1 week ago

30 stroller arrived for lunch before it was arranged, because the stroll was abandoned due to atrocious weather. Without any difficulty, our lunches were rescheduled and we sat down to some of the best meals tasted by the members. My calves liver and mash was...More

Thank Darryl P
camsmill, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful experience during your recent visit to Cams Mill I will certainly pass your comments onto to all of the team, as it is feedback such as yours that we strive to achieve. Thank you once...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Two of the four of us had tasty meals, the other two were boring. Certainly the portions were not big enough to warrant the high prices. Service was a little slow and characterless!. The high point was the stunning views out of the back windows.More

Thank dawn b
camsmill, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, following your recent experience at Cams Mill I am disappointed to read your comments, it is clear that we did not deliver on all fronts. I shall be passing on your feedback to both my...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Poorly cooked and poorly presented and expensive. Won't be going again. The drinks are mega expensive!More

Thank ADW1954
camsmill, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Cams Mill on Monday August 6th I am disappointed to read that you feel our food is poorly cooked and presented. I would be grateful if you could contact me direct on camsmill.manager@fullers.co.uk with...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Is a restaurant/pub within grounds of golf course, a mile or 2 off the M27, so is a welcome escape from the appalling establishments on the main road, It is a (sort of) recreated mill, but not convincing, has a reasonable try at the menu,...More

Thank MikeFo
camsmill, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for posting a positive review following your experience at Cams Mill We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have been going to Cams Mill since it opened and has seriously gone down hill! They brought the wrong meals twice. The other people in our party had already finished by the time my daughters meal had arrived.More

Thank Elliott B
camsmill, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, following your recent experience at Cams Mill I am very disappointed to read your comments, it is clear that we did not deliver on so many aspects of your meal, the issues you have stated...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Waited an hour and then the food was cold and frazzled The chips were cold the burger was over cooked My wife’s fish and chips was marginally better but this place is so variable It would be ok but £13 for fish and chips and...More

Thank DavidLittlejohn
camsmill, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, following your recent experience at Cams Mill I am very disappointed to read your comments, it is clear that we did not deliver on so many aspects of your meal, the issues you have stated...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having eaten here before, when the restaurant offered an early bird menu, which was good value, and reasonable quality, I visited again on 25th July. Very disappointed with the chicken burger I ordered. Meat was flavourless, very few french fries, and bun was dry. Very...More

Thank handysue12
camsmill, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments left on Trip Advisor, it was disappointing to read that you felt that we are both over rated and also overpriced. It is clear that we did not deliver on so many aspects of your meal, the issues you have...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at 12.30. With only one table not booked (Why?) we sat and waited for the menus. Eventually a lovely young woman took our order. We waited again...and we waited. Eventually the food arrived. A Burger with such a good write up it had...More

Thank Jeannette H
camsmill, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, following your recent experience at Cams Mill. I am very disappointed to read your comments, it is clear that we did not deliver on so many aspects of your meal, the issues you have stated...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Fareham
The Roundabout Hotel
293 reviews
.13 miles away
Red Lion Hotel
731 reviews
.36 miles away
Lysses House Hotel
262 reviews
.37 miles away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
164 reviews
1.33 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Truffles Restaurant
168 reviews
.35 miles away
Lauros Brasserie
266 reviews
.34 miles away
Three Joes
123 reviews
.43 miles away
Cackleberrys
224 reviews
.38 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Westbury Manor Museum
55 reviews
.53 miles away
Garden of Reflection
11 reviews
.58 miles away
Fareham Shopping Centre
50 reviews
.95 miles away
Airport Cars Fareham
34 reviews
.68 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jammymildred
April 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sue W | Reviewed this property |
That's appalling you just can't believe people could actually do that !
0
Votes
Ashleigh O
February 24, 2016|
Answer
Response from victoriaannjane |
Hi. I ate here in January and although they don't have a gluten free menu, if you pick what you want on the menu, they make a gluten free version. In fact I have many food allergies and had a lovely meal and now planning to... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cams Hill, Fareham PO16 8AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Fareham
  • Phone Number: +44 1329 287506
  • E-mail
Description
Cams Mill is a recreation of the original tidal mill that stood on the same site nearly 100 years ago. With a large oak framed barn and beautiful views of the estuary, this is the perfect place to enjoy a pint and indulge in some delicious food. With a large patio garden that seats up to 60 guests, Cams Mill is without doubt the best pub in Fareham for soaking up the summer sun. This historic place is the perfect spot to enjoy real log fires, warming winter ales and delicious and freshly cooked food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing