We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Cams Mill is a recreation of the original tidal mill that stood on the same site nearly 100 years ago. With a large oak framed barn and beautiful views of the estuary, this is the perfect place to enjoy a pint and indulge in some delicious food. With a large patio garden that seats up to 60 guests, Cams Mill is without doubt the best pub in Fareham for soaking up the summer sun. This historic place is the perfect spot to enjoy real log fires, warming winter ales and delicious and freshly cooked food.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront, Dog Friendly
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,102 results
Traveler rating
330
315
211
141
105
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
330
315
211
141
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pudding roast dinner fareham creek the pub cauliflower cheese family meal be visiting again my mum tide
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Cams Mill, not local to Fareham but what can i say, I have been using this over the last few weeks. I have enjoyed some amazing Cocktails by Aaron and a perfect Sunday roast with my Boyfriend. Lamb was cooked to perfection and roast potatoes...were extra crispy. COVID Standards are very well thought through and safe. Aaron and the Cams Mills Team thank you for making my experience so special. I will be recommending this restaurant to all my friends and family.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Greeting good. Socially distanced tables good. Waiting staff not so good - they spent more time chatting amongst themselves than asking if the food was ok. The meal I ordered had chips with it. The chips were at least 80% bits. As if the bottom...of the chip pan had been emptied onto my plate to bulk out the meal. The next time I saw a server was when the bill was delivered. I then mentioned the chip bits and the server said he would tell the chef. The gratuity was included in the bill so I could not choose the amount I had to pay. So I paid and left. Won’t be going back.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
chrisbL4086YU, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I apoligise your recent visit to us was not an enjoyable one, I have spoken to th entire kitchen team to ensure that they check the chips they are sending out so...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called into this place for lunch today with my daughter, A lovely,clean,airy place, Maybe it was once a barn. Service from a young girl was good ....But the food prices are a joke! I had an ordinary Burger with a small bucket of about 10...chips £14!!! Something that would cost about £7 elsewhere. And the pudding prices made us laugh even more! We are both seasoned, “ Eater outers”. What a shame, could be great place.....More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
chrisbL4086YU, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to review us. Thank you for you kind comments and I will pass your feedback on pricing onto our executive chef team Kind Regards Chris Bennett General Manager Cams Mill

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went here for dinner mid-week, the table setting was brilliant with a quiet spot for two at the window looking over the water. Staff were very friendly and attentive. The menu was very uninspiring (but this is personal preference I guess) so I decided...to order the ploughman’s platter, it was very nice. However my partner ordered the chicken burger which came swimming in oil and the bun was soggy. The only saving grace on that meal was the triple cooked chips which were lovely. For pudding we ordered the warm chocolate brownie which was ok but not warm, and the coconut rice pudding which I sent back as it was watery and bland. There was no hesitation in taking it off the bill. Overall an ‘okay’ experience but nothing more.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
chrisbL4086YU, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to review us. Thank you for your kind comments and I will pass these onto the team. I apoligise that not all of your food were up to my high standard and what I expect, I have...More

Reviewed September 16, 2020 via mobile

Great location, just off motorway, lovely scenery especially when the tide is in. Whilst acknowledging Covid issues service was distant and cold, you were sat down and advised to use the online app to order and pay. Food arrived very quickly and no complaints, fish...finger sandwich was handsome and tasty. London pride as you would expect from a Fullers pub very good. If you dine/eat as the local school kicks out expect a lot of kids around , took the edge off somewhat with many going upstairs to use the toilets. Can’t fault the food and drinks,but when compared to other local venues we have dined at during Covid the difference is the service which meant only 3 stars on this visit.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
chrisbL4086YU, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to review us. Thank you for your kind words which I have passed onto the whole team. Regarding the children we have spoken to the local school and informed them we are not a public toilet and...More

Reviewed September 14, 2020

We were really looking forward to a meal out here after staying away since February when we had a very enjoyable lunch for four of us. It was just my husband and myself enjoying a meal out on a Saturday evening. We were greeted by...a very friendly young lady who showed us to our table, sadly not upstairs as was advised when the table was booked. The table had sticky food already on it and crumbs left in the large grooves of the wood, bit disappointing considering the current climate. We ordered online which was not too difficult and had our wine brought to us quickly afterwards. The problem came with the salad we both ordered. It was only a Caesar salad with extra toppings but what came was just a basic salad with dressing which very disappointingly had loads of brown ends on the lettuce and throughout many of the leaves. Looked like it had been cut days ago. I could see the staff doing their best to wipe down chairs etc after the tables were empty but anyone looking at our table would feel it was mucky at best, and to top it all our cutlery, nicely wrapped in a napkin, had the ends exposed which were placed on this mucky table. We will go back but not for a while.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed September 4, 2020

I went to Cams Mill last night with a friend for the first time in several years. The food was really good and the whole place felt very Covid secure.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
chrisbL4086YU, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2020

Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am glad your recent visit was an enjoyable one and we look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Chris Bennett General Manager Cams Mill

Reviewed August 31, 2020

Second time we have visited and the second time we said never again. Very limited menu with poor choices for starter and main. Beer overpriced for London never mind Fareham and best beers not available as they had been recently changed. We ordered the squid...which wasn't fully battered and was thrown onto a bed of paprika aioli with no salad and was chewy due to over cooking. There was a lemon on the plate as an afterthought. For main we ordered sea bass and rump steak the sea bass was good but the new potatoes and fennel were running with grease and totally unpalatable, the steak looked good but was rancid as the oil used had burnt and flavoured the steak, the peppercorn sauce was runny and had no flavour, luckily the chips were edible however the mushroom was undercooked and jelly like and the tomatoes were also undercooked and tasteless. The only good part of the meal was the cheesecake and that probably wasn't made on the premises.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
chrisbL4086YU, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2020

Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to review us. Apologies your recent visit didn't live up to my high expectations, I have spoken to all team members who were working in the kitchen at the time of your visit to ensure this does...More

Reviewed August 29, 2020

Came here just for a midday drink. Lovely location, lovely pub inside and outside. While outside we had to order our drinks from the website but was quick and easy. Service was top notch.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
chrisbL4086YU, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2020

Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we look forward to seeing you soon Kind Regards Chris Bennett General Manager Cams Mill

Reviewed August 26, 2020

Fish and chips - with nine a a half chips, only worth the price paid with the eat out to help out scheme. I have eaten here a handful of times and each time it fails to impress.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
chrisbL4086YU, General Manager at Cams Mill, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2020

Good Morning JF12013 Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry your recent visit was not an enjoyable one, I have since sat down with the Head Chef to ensure our portions are more adequate going forward Kind Regards Chris Bennett...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Royal Esplanade Hotel
661 reviews
8.30 miles away
Premier Inn (Langstone/A27)
643 reviews
7.93 miles away
G! Boutique Hotel
964 reviews
6.37 miles away
Sinah Warren Coastal Hotel
2,512 reviews
7.87 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Truffles
300 reviews
.35 miles away
Lauros Brasserie
323 reviews
.35 miles away
Antonio's
456 reviews
.40 miles away
Cackleberrys
308 reviews
.38 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Westbury Manor Museum
65 reviews
.62 miles away
Garden of Reflection
11 reviews
.58 miles away
Fareham Shopping Centre
66 reviews
.95 miles away
Cams Hall Estate Golf Club
24 reviews
.34 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Safari774402
October 20, 2020|
Answer
Response from chrisbL4086YU | Property representative |
Yes we have tables designated just for drinks
0
Votes
homerjuk1
October 22, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from annamaibent | Reviewed this property |
It’s a pub so probably not
0
Votes
Jammymildred
April 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from U1092BGsuew | Reviewed this property |
That's appalling you just can't believe people could actually do that !
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing