We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Lion

$$ - $$$, British,
28 High Street, Fareham PO16 7AE, England
+44 1329 484509
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good24%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“fish pie” (6 reviews)
“chilli” (7 reviews)
“beef” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
28 High Street, Fareham PO16 7AE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Who knew?? I’ve been here on an evening in town with work colleagues but never thought to have a meal here. We had a lovely Sunday lunch - family of 2 adults and 3 children. Admittedly it was quiet (at 1400) but the service was...More

1  Thank John D
Rob G, Owner at The Golden Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi John, Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you tried us for your family meal as well as work drinks. We are trying very hard to establish a fun and friendly pub where everyone is welcome. Hopefully we will see you...More

Reviewed August 1, 2018

Had a great lunch outside in the garden. The staff were brilliant and made sure I had everything I needed. I will be back!! As Arnie says ;-)

Thank ronjonesy
Rob G, Owner at The Golden Lion, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Hi RonJonsey, Thanks for your review. Im glad you found the Secret Garden, and to hear that you will be back! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

Waited an hour for 2 sandwiches which then had to eat at work 3rd visit will not be back awful food one bar staff at lunchtime!!!More

Thank Vicky S
Rob G, Owner at The Golden Lion, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Hi Vicky, I'm not sure when you came in as I've not heard of any complaints, and I agree an hour is far too long. I presume you were on an hour long lunch break, and my staff haven't bagged or wrapped up any food...More

Reviewed July 18, 2018

Excellent staff, Ali was more than friendly and a credit to the establishment. Food abismal steak to wrestle with even with there own steak knives, Ali changed the meal and I was presented with another poorly cooked piece of gristle. Points for the cook, he/she...More

Thank IMK24
Rob G, Owner at The Golden Lion, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Hi IMK24, Thank you for your comments regarding Ali, she is a valued member of the team, and so is our Chef. As you mentioned, Ali very happily spoke with our Chef regarding your steak, and our Chef provided another one, even though in our...More

Reviewed May 10, 2018 via mobile

Went here for lunch as my daughter and I had been before and had good food and good service! We were not let down, again, the barman was cheerful and friendly. We ordered drinks and said we were having lunch, he brought the menu’s to...More

Thank Tina S
Rob G, Owner at The Golden Lion, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Hi Tina, Thank you for your fantastic review. We are trying to very hard to provide a great service and experience for our customers. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your meal and that we looked after you and your daughter. I will ensure...More

Reviewed April 14, 2018

I had the chance to have dinner here twice, first I took beer battered cod and chips, the second a nice jacked potato with chili and cheese. Both dishes great with a good choice of beers!

Thank BaaBaaBlacksheep87
Rob G, Owner at The Golden Lion, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hi, Thank you for your comments, I will make sure they get back to the team. Thanks for your custom and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks

Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We decided to visit this pub last night to get something to eat. The first thing that hits you upon entering the pub is the smell of stale grease. It’s overpowering . After purchasing a drink we decided to leave as the thought of eating...More

Thank Jo B
Rob G, Owner at The Golden Lion, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hi Jo, Thanks for your comments. I'm not sure what you smelt as it's not something we have had a comment on before, and I'm not aware of any issue that we had that night. As you may have noticed the kitchen is very close...More

Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Tuesday for ‘pie night’. The food was really nice. Proper pub food. Thank the good lord the low energy stark white lighting has been replaced for good old tungsten halogen with candles on each table. Staff all friendly and not overly expensive....More

Thank Richard W
Rob G, Owner at The Golden Lion, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hi Richard, Thank you so much for a great review. We are trying to make the place more warm and friendly,and the lighting has definitely helped. It's the simple things that make a difference, as well as great food, drink and staff. Thanks again and...More

Reviewed March 10, 2018

Returned after a poor experience a few weeks ago to find that there has been some improvement but it's not yet back to being "Fareham's Hidden Gem", as it was once known A very friendly & helpful barmaid on duty this time, doing her best...More

Thank reviewer17523
Rob G, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Hi Thanks for coming back and Im glad you feel things have improved since your last visit. You are correct in that we would normally have 2 staff on,(I assume you came at lunch time) but we are still in the aftermath of Xmas, so...More

Reviewed February 22, 2018 via mobile

Third visit as a stop off on the way to the ferry at Portsmouth. As before, warm welcome, now complemented with at table service for drinks and food. Good quality and great value food in good portions. Will definitely call again if travelling this way.

Thank paulzcooper
Rob G, Owner at The Golden Lion, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2018

Hi Paul, Thanks for coming back to visit us again. We are constantly trying to improve and great feedback like this makes it all worth while. We look forward to seeing you again when you are down this way . Thanks

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Fareham
Lysses House Hotel
265 reviews
.02 miles away
Red Lion Hotel
748 reviews
.19 miles away
The Roundabout Hotel
300 reviews
.28 miles away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
167 reviews
1.00 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Truffles Restaurant
176 reviews
.10 miles away
Lauros Brasserie
271 reviews
.11 miles away
Three Joes
129 reviews
.18 miles away
Cackleberrys
228 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Westbury Manor Museum
55 reviews
.24 miles away
Garden of Reflection
11 reviews
.22 miles away
Fareham Shopping Centre
51 reviews
.76 miles away
Airport Cars Fareham
36 reviews
.35 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Golden Lion staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$5 - $25
Cuisine
Meals
Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 28 High Street, Fareham PO16 7AE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Fareham
  • Phone Number: +44 1329 484509
  • E-mail
Description
The Golden Lion is in Fareham's historic High Street, a conservation area in the borough of Fareham. We hope you enjoy your experience in our Traditional English Pub. We would be delighted to receive any comments, good or constructive in order that we may build upon and improve our business.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing