We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Old Salisbury Road | Abbotts Anne, Andover SP11 7NJ, England
+44 1264 710424
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 321: English reviews
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Great for family get togethers, always something on the menu to suit everyone. A lovely village pub on the outskirts of andover. Nicely decorated with little nooks and a cosy feel. Never beem disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We arrived at the Poplar Farm for a family Sunday lunch around 3:00 where we were faced with an uninterested man behind the bar ( I assume the manager ((in a blue shirt) who arranged for us to be shown to our table). After the table had finally been cleared of dirty plates and cleaned, we sat down but were... More 

Helpful?
Thank acosgree
Tidworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Food was good but service was slow to such an extent that we cancelled our sweet. Not sure what the problem was but overall a good visit and we will go there again. Today may have just been an off day as I know other people have been there and said the service was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
General Manager A, General Manager at Poplar Farm, responded to this review

Good Evening Jeremy, Thank you for taking the time to review The Poplar Farm. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. Unfortunately we had 3 members of staff call in sick that morning which put extra pressure on us that day. We strive to deliver the best possible service regardless and I am therefore very sorry that... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Waited over an hour for food and it wasn't busy!! food was awful so disappointed as eat here often. Won't be returning

Helpful?
Thank AlysonBradford
Steve N, Manager at Poplar Farm, responded to this review

Good Evening AlysonBradford, Thank you for taking the time to review The Poplar Farm Inn. I'm so sorry to read about your disappointing experience in December. We have been through some staff changes since your visit including a new General Manager joining us last week. I do hope we can welcome you back. Should you return, please mention this review... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

went here for Boxing Day lunch, and it was not good. In cooked fish, with a large hard bit running through it. When we were asked how our meal was and we said not good, we were told they had a problem with their fish supplier. Why leave it on the menu. We were offered a drink in compensation!

Helpful?
Thank tim y
General Manager A, Manager at Poplar Farm, responded to this review

Good Morning tim y, Thank you for taking the time to review the Poplar Farm Inn. I am so sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied during your visit. I have passed your comments on to the relevant people to ensure that this does not happen again. We have just undergone some big changes here with a new General Manager... More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited as a table of eight for lunch. Didn't have starters and mains took a very long time to arrive. A waiter even apologised to us about the delay and saying it would only be five more minutes, but then took at least 20 minutes more to arrive. We ordered several coffees and one dessert, the coffees took a while... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
Steve N, Manager at Poplar Farm, responded to this review

Good Morning Stuart G, Thank you for taking the time to review The Poplar Farm Inn. I'm really sorry to hear about your visit and can understand your frustration. We have just welcomed a new General Manager here after a couple of transition weeks. Unfortunately what should have been a smooth switch appears to have caused a slight service issue.... More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The team dealt with a glitch today which meant our food was delayed. I hate complaining and I have to say the team were beyond great. Lovely food (vintage inns are my fave any way) but the managers here are why we return every few months. Well done guys great team x

Helpful?
Thank Cheeseandonion_uk
General Manager A, Manager at Poplar Farm, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Cheeseandonion_uk, Thank you for taking the time to review The Poplar Farm Inn. Thank you for your kind comments regarding your visit. I have passed them on to all those involved on the day. You may be excited to know that we launched our new menu yesterday which incorporates some lovely new light dishes as well as some... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
449 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visiting friends locally, they suggested we visit this Vintage Inn just down the road from where they live. And what a good choice it was. Very welcoming, a great pub grub menu choice for all tastes and friendly staff. Prices were reasonable too. Recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We're local to the Poplar Farm and come here once a month or so. It can be a bit variable - never been bad enough to complain though. Like all restaurants it struggles when busy - just stay away at Valentines day. Mothers day etc. We choose to walk past the Eagle in Abbotts Ann to walk to the Poplar... More 

Helpful?
Thank vetoevo
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my husband visited here for Sunday lunch! We were utterly disappointed and wish I had got my money back! Roast was missing items listed on menu, very dry and tasteless! Little to no gravy! And the veg consisted of 3 small carrot sticks and a whole potato cut up! My husband had the steak it was over done... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SSealey2034

Travelers who viewed Poplar Farm also viewed

 

Been to Poplar Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Salisbury Road | Abbotts Anne, Andover SP11 7NJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Andover
  • Phone Number: +44 1264 710424
Description
The Poplar Farm in Abbotts Ann is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Poplar Farm and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Poplar Farm staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?