We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
126 Hamlet Court Road | Westcliff on Sea, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7LP, England
+44 1702 331666
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I rarely write reviews but felt like I needed to warn potential customers. I used to come here quite often and I know it is under new management. Of course I didn’t expect everything to be the same but let me assure you – it is DEFINITELY not authentic anymore. They now have Korean items on the menu and even... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank mr-foodie1975
Management response:

Since all members of our team have more than 15 years experience of running Japanese restaurant, we really know how to manage a successful restaurant and what we are doing. Our Sushi chef is in top range of England and kitchen chefs not only can provide outstanding quality Japanese cuisine but also some Korean taste to customers. I am so... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food on the whole was disgusting, the katsu currys were horrific smelling and even worst tasting. Moreover the prawns were not even cooked. I could no even tell the difference between the two types of gyoza. DO NOT EAT HERE OR ORDER

Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew J
Management response:

For a collection order from Justeat we really don't know what happened after you leaving our restaurant. I don't even understand what means "prawns were not even cooked?" You mean we gave you raw prawn? Our foods were served freshly. Why didn't you complain with us but put this kind of rumor everywhere if you really think our foods were... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Please be aware this is now under new management and is nowhere near as good as the original. We tried to order takeaway and JustEat called 20mins later to say they can't deliver as they haven't got time to make our food(!!)

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
Management response:

To be honest according to our 15 years of restaurant managing experience, definitely, to provide qualified food and good service we would control the volume of customer both on booking table and taking takeaway order. Since you were never our customer of neither from our restaurant or Justeat, how you can say we are not good as before? We never... More 

Skegness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2016

Highly recommended.Visited here few days ago and it was lovely. The restaurant was under new management ,the staff were very friendly and helpful. We ordered fujiyama sushi set and dragon roll,which got a very decent taste,the prices were reasonable and i must said it was the best sushi i had ever had.We booked teppanyaki at next saturday and couldn't wait... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann W
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

The food is BEST! The staff are AWESOME! We ordered the Tepanyaki, Salmon sashimi and a red house wine. Spent around 50£ per person, its a bit expensive but its worth it! Definitely will come back for the special occasion.

Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina Adinda D
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

Having just got back from a night out at Fujiyama, I have to say this was one of the worst meals out locally that I have ever had. We often go for Japanese in London or whilst away, and thought "wouldn't it be nice if there was a good Japanese locally?". Then we thought, hang on, there is one in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank James C
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

Decided to come here on a whim, I love Japanese food, but my husband and our other friends had never tried it. We ordered the set menu for £29.90 per person. This provided a good introduction to Japanese cuisine, along with some sashimi (slices of raw fish) and we had all bases covered. There's a teppanyaki grill available if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vixen1966
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2016

As we will be in Japan next week, it was decided that we should experience the 'harmony, elegance, and aesthetic perfection' of Japanese Cuisine. We were not disappointed. The staff were attentive, friendly and shared some of their photos taken during a recent trip to Japan. We were delighted with our first experience of traditional food and now feel well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ozjdl
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Quite disappointed with our visit. The food was uninspired,very expensive, to the point extortionate, Staff were not very friendly. They really need to revamp the surroundings as it looks tired and stuck in some 1980's B movie. I'd like to see them make a bit more effort,in all departments, service, food and ambiance. A disappointed customer Mark

Helpful?
1 Thank Loobyphoto
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2016

I would firstly like to point out that I cannot comment on the food at this establishment as I was so off-put by the service that I didn't want to give them my money. A real shame as the food looks and sounds very delicious! After discovering that Fujiyama do takeaway service I telephoned the restaurant to place my order... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Chloe L

Travelers who viewed FujiYama also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Brentwood, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to FujiYama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 126 Hamlet Court Road | Westcliff on Sea, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7LP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Westcliff-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 331666

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from FujiYama staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?