We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Mews

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
British, Bar, Fusion, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2A Nelson Mews, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1AL, England
+44 1702 393626
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 12:30 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tue - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:30 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 372: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've been going to The Mews for as long as I can remember, be it downstairs for a drink, or upstairs for food. I went there for a post birthday meal Saturday night and was more than surprised to be given a separate vegan menu when we sat down. Two starters, five mains and three deserts. Wow, The Mews just... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnnyW75
Southend
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wouldn't go back..4th visit. Soooooo noisy tables too close together food ok. Better value for money elsewhere

Helpful?
Thank ShoeburyShaz
Jaime H, Manager at The Mews, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our table layout has been the same for 12 years, as you would know from your previous visits to us. Unfortunately, we cannot control our noise levels when people are enjoying themselves. I am sorry you felt the food was only okay, we pride ourselves on the quality of food we produce. I do hope... More 

Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this restaurant 'blind' for a meal on New Years Eve. We had a really good meal which was hot and well presented. The menu was fairly creative with a good choice. Despite being NYE and them being very busy, we were not rushed and the service was very attentive. Very happy with the experience

Helpful?
Thank Gail L
Jaime H, Manager at The Mews, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again soon! More 

Essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here for lunch the Thursday before Christmas, dined upstairs which is lovely. The food and the cocktails were delicious. Just a shame it was so quiet when we were there. It was busier with a few more groups of people as we were leaving. But definitely will return.

Helpful?
Thank HamishEssex
Jaime H, Manager at The Mews, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again very soon! More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time at The Mews, was made to feel very welcome, lovely relaxing atmosphere, comfortable seating, attentive and efficient staff and of course the food was excellent ! Would definitely return and thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank lynned99899
Jaime H, Manager at The Mews, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again very soon! More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2016

Our first visit taken by family who do visit quite often. Food was good but the service did let the evening down. Comfortable decor....

Helpful?
Thank Dilly17
Jaime H, Manager at The Mews, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I would be very grateful if you could get back to us and let us know how the service let you down so we can improve for next time. We hope this will not deter you from visiting again. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

This is my first ever ! Felt I had to contribute after reading previous review. Visited a Friday evening with closest friends. Food was probably the best I have tasted in Southend for a long time..... & I've been eating here in my home town for quite a few years ! The home made bread was delicious(along with everything else... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jaime H, General Manager at The Mews, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon! More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2016

We have been to The Mews many times and always found the food to be of very good standard and overall experience very good. We went there at the end of October for my partners birthday, as it is his favorite place in Southend. The food as always was very nice, the service not quite so good, we waited quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela M
Jaime H, Manager at The Mews, responded to this review

We are sorry your experience with us was disappointing, I have spoken to the waiting staff that worked that evening and it has been dealt with. Please do not hesitate to come back and visit us. When booking with us again, please ask for me and I will look after you personally. Thank you for your review. More 

Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

A nicely decorated candlelit restaurant offering a good selection of traditional food with a menu which frequently changes. The scallops are definitely worth ordering and the steaks are always a good choice. I didn't think the deserts were that great and there wasn't a cheeseboard on the menu. That aside I would recommend it and would visit this restaurant again.

Helpful?
Thank danielfeasey
Jaime H, Manager at The Mews, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

First of all I will start off by saying this used to be my favourite restaurant to go to in Southend. We have dined there often, so we know the standard that is usually upheld. On this occasion we arrived on time and were seated. Shortly after we were given menus, without wine list, which we asked for. Sitting with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lovelife2882

Travelers who viewed The Mews also viewed

 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to The Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$23 - $78
Cuisine
British, Bar, Fusion, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:30 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:30 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2A Nelson Mews, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1AL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 393626

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Mews and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
essex uk

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Mews staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?