We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Street, Hatfield Peverel CM3 2EA, England
+44 1245 380246
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 289: English reviews
Essex , UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2016 via mobile

Don't waste your money! Food poor.. Luke warm.. Slow.. Service haphazard.. Won't be going back.. Such a shame as could be a great little pub/restaurant..

Helpful?
1 Thank beanie
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you had a bad experience on Sunday. Please be reassured that we are working on all the points you raised to keep this pub great. We are training our new team, we have recruited a new Head Chef and a new General Manager is being built in time for Christmas. We are just as disappointed as... More 

Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2016

Best pub in local area, clean and well presented. Nice atmosphere, not pretentious, just a warm welcome. Good food reasonably priced and excellent Sunday roast.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Just what you need at this time of year. Thanks for the great review, we can't wait to see you again very soon. More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2016

Ok, so there have been a few issues of late but we gave the Duke another go Friday night and are really glad we did. The staff went out of their way to ensure everything was ok and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal (especially the rhubarb sponge for pud)! Well done guys and girls!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sympnds65
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

It's never an easy ride, and we are going through a transitional phase at the moment, hence the roller coaster of reviews. However we're glad you gave us a try and glad you enjoyed your visit. The guys and girls are keeping it together and if you ever have any feedback please speak to one of the team as we... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Lovely food and staff knowledgeable on the food on the menu, easy to get to just off the a12. Good for families. There were a few things off the menu no beef rib or lamb shanks but what we ordered was fine. All in all a nice friendly pub.

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

Not quite sure why this place has some bad reviews, I couldn't fault it. We were passing through on a Saturday evening and decided to stop for some food and the service was perfect, the staff were very attentive and the food was delicious. Fair pricing and I'd highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Becca E
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we're glad you enjoyed your visit and if you're ever passing by again please feel free to pop in again, you're always welcome. More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

Visited Friday night . Greeted buy friendly staff and sat straight away . Lovely atmosphere in the restaurant. Staff seemed happy. We had a gluten intolerant with us and Donna the waitress ensured she catered to our needs . Very disappointed to read such recent poor comments because our food was amazing. Better than before . This is an amazing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oliviawren
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your "Amazing" feedback. It's always appreciated by our team when people recognize them personally. We look forward to welcoming you and the family again very soon. More 

Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

Called in mid week, not busy but told 45 min wait for food. Ordered sausage and mash which menu stated Suffolk pork and parsley, what came can only be described as worse than value supermarket offerings. There were 3 very small sausages and a very small portion of potatoes thought it was a child's meal. The table next to us... More 

Helpful?
Thank nazeview
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, we are currently recruiting and training a new kitchen team who will be able to deliver quality food within an appropriate time, we can only apologise for your poor experience. Hopefully when you raised this with a member of the team they were able to rectify the situation to your satisfaction? If not please contact... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2016

Where's Paul, the old manager gone? He really did make this place a great place to visit & kept his staff on the ball at all times. Service & food used to be great, very sad to say that its not like it was. Sorry but I wont be coming back until at least the reveiws improve. Im clearly not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Unfortunately Paul has moved onto pastures new and will be missed by many. We are currently taking our time to recruit a new manager who can fill his shoes and maintain the high standards you became accustomed to. Thank you for your feedback and please feel free to discuss any feedback with the team should you visit again in the... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

Very very poor service,incomplete meals with items missing and not being told until table served,at least a third of the menu unavailable,staff not really caring about customers,eaten there in the past with good results ,not again,complete letdown,my parents drove 200 miles for this meal and I feel embarrassed. Chris

Helpful?
Thank cgreen2972
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

We can only apologise for such a bad experience on such a special occasion. We are reviewing our management and staff at the moment and taking the appropriate action to minimise this situation in the future. Thank you for your feedback. More 

ESSEX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2016

Our first visit and it'll probably be our last. The standard of food served was diabolical. We had an early sitting yet practically everything we ordered from the menu was not available, we were told that there had been a problem with some suppliers, but reading other similar reviews this has been happening on a regular basis recently. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank EssexJax
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that your experience here was not a good one, we are working hard with the kitchen team training and supporting them to ensure this experience is not repeated. I hope you will try us again in the future so we can show you what we can really do. More 

Travelers who viewed Duke of Wellington also viewed

Hatfield Peverel, Essex
Hatfield Peverel, Essex
 

Been to Duke of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, Hatfield Peverel CM3 2EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Hatfield Peverel
  • Phone Number: +44 1245 380246
Description
The Duke of Wellington is a busy pub in the heart of Hatfield Peverel. It is just 7 miles outside Chelmsford, and the perfect place for anything from a light lunch to a three course dinner. We have an exstensive wine menu with a range of world wines, and a cask marque for our real ale. Recently rated 4star by the food assosiation and environmental health.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Duke of Wellington and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Adelaide, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Duke of Wellington staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?