We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Duke of Wellington

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Street, Hatfield Peverel CM3 2EA, England
+44 1245 380246
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 274: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Go to this place on Sundays always have a good meal and good service. Sunday roast is good also the fish and chips,my husband recommends the beef pie. Good selection of puddings to.

Helpful?
Thank vivingram
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for coming to visit us on Sundays, we're glad you're enjoying your visits. If there is anything our team can ever do to make your visits more enjoyable please do not hesitate to let us know. Look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Valentines celebration in the Duke of Welligton Hatfield Peverel. Lovely meal, in cosy atmosphere with staff who could not have been more attentive and helpful. Definately will be eating there again soon. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments, we're glad you enjoyed your special evening and hope to see you again very soon. More 

Wickford
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Following a change of Location from a nearby pub we came across the Duke of Wellington. A very warm and Friendly reception by Donna & Jess on our arrival, we were made very welcome: There were about fifteen in our party and almost all of us ordered food, which came out timely and was of very good quality: We will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gazfran57
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

You and your band of merry riders are more than welcome here at The Duke, and thank you for the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you all again in the future. If there is anything we can do to make your visits more enjoyable please do not hesitate to contact one of the team to discuss any requirements you... More 

Witham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Sneaked our way in early Tuesday morning after our morning walk for a girly catch up, manager very kindly lit the fire for us as we were frozen to the bone, supplied us with coffees and teas, unfortunately no yaks milk! We ordered a selection of sandwiches and some well earned chips and we could have stayed all day. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank marydaniels1million
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Walk this way ladies, we're glad you enjoyed your visit and feel free to stay all day on your next visit. Thanks for the feedback and see you again very soon. More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here with my partner for lunch we had a sharing platter for start which was a selection of battered nibbles such as garlic mushrooms, chicken nuggets, chips etc was very nice and good price at just under £8. Probably would of done fine just having that as it filled us up quite quickly. There was a bit of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate W
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, apologies that you felt underwhelmed on your visit. We offer two levels of service within the pub, one is an informal pub style whereby you choose your table and when you are ready to order you place your order at the bar, should you wish to return for dinner we have a separate area where... More 

Hatfield Peverel, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

very good food,good overal selection of food. servicewas prompt & polite. great atmosphere, with friendly staff. Decent garden & good parking

Helpful?
Thank Ssnape
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Pop in some good beer and what more could you want from a pub? Thanks for letting us know, we're glad you enjoyed your visit, look forward to seeing you again More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Having had a bad experience here a few months back we were given a money off voucher, which I must say we were abit reluctant to use, but four of us went back & I'm pleased to say great improvement. ..no long wait , excellent customer service from Donna, & tasty food, no complaints this time...keep up the good work

Helpful?
Thank juliefell
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to restore your faith in us, sometimes things do go wrong and people need to let us know, but equally when things go right it's easy to forget. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know and we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit this time, we look forward... More 

Cm13da
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been to this pub many times. I find it a cosy pub with easy listening music in the background and good seating arrangements. I've always found that the vegetables are cooked well especially this time and the meals come out hot on a hot plate. Don't have to wait too long for meals as the team work really well. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Essexcurryman
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

The team at The Duke of Wellington thank you for your nice review and for taking the time to appreciate our efforts. We look forward to seeing you again very soon and we'll have a smile saved especially for you. More 

Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely service, great food with lots of taste. The last few times I've come here, they had offered table service and nice friendly staff, I've also liked and enjoyed there food, but found recently there is a lovely atmosphere and will definitely go again and would recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank laurakeddie2017
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review it's great to hear you're enjoying your visits, we can't wait to see you again very soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had lunch a few times here and always the service is good and the meal is lovely. The pub is always warm and welcoming.

Helpful?
1 Thank webb62014
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, we'll always have a warm welcome waiting for you, look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Duke of Wellington also viewed

Hatfield Peverel, Essex
Hatfield Peverel, Essex
 

Been to Duke of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, Hatfield Peverel CM3 2EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Hatfield Peverel
  • Phone Number: +44 1245 380246
Description
The Duke of Wellington is a busy pub in the heart of Hatfield Peverel. It is just 7 miles outside Chelmsford, and the perfect place for anything from a light lunch to a three course dinner. We have an exstensive wine menu with a range of world wines, and a cask marque for our real ale. Recently rated 4star by the food assosiation and environmental health.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Duke of Wellington and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Adelaide, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Duke of Wellington staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?