We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Acanteen

35 New London Road, Chelmsford CM2 0ND, England
+44 1245 205889
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good26%
  • Average9%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“brunch” (80 reviews)
“lamb burger” (19 reviews)
“salads” (27 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 am - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
35 New London Road, Chelmsford CM2 0ND, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Visited last Saturday for brunch. Really disappointed. Both the big breakfast and the avocado meals were luke warm. Avocado dish was not as stated on the menu. Came with no chilli flakes and freezing cold avocado on toast that had clearly been sitting on the...More

Thank jleew
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Healthy, nutritious and fresh - I love it here and think the food's reasonably priced considering the quality. The juices are amazing and the coffee is truly divine!More

Thank love-to-eat-out88
acanteen, communications assistant at Acanteen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for the lovely review - keeping all our ingredients fresh and nutritious is so important to us so that's great to hear that you've picked up on this! many thanks for taking the time to review us - we look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We went as a group to ACanteen to celebrate our geaduation. The atmosphere was lovely although fairly empty. I had the Vietnamese Chicken curry. I had to add loads of salt and pepper to add flavour to the sauce AND the chicken was not cooked...More

Thank AlexEGW
acanteen, communications assistant at Acanteen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

I'm so sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your visit to us. - I have passed on your comments to the kitchen regarding the chicken curry and we are investigating the flavour as we speak. - Many apologies that it wasn't up to...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Visited on a revcomendation from a friend for breakfast. Great menu and hard to choose. Good quality food with a great smile would return for any occasionMore

Thank casasufi
acanteen, communications assistant at Acanteen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are so pleased to hear that you like our menu and have enjoyed dining with us! Be sure to check out our evening menu too which is packed full of delicious summer dishes and tempting new British desserts! We look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Popped in here for a quick lunch with my daughter while shopping. Really disappointed that we waited over half an hour for our food and that tables who had ordered after us were getting their food while we were still waiting. We did speak to...More

Thank Tigger2517
acanteen, communications assistant at Acanteen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing trip and do apologise over the maple syrup incident. Rest assured that we will be carrying this matter forward and wondered if you could please pop us an email to accounts@acanteen.co.uk with the date...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the old site canteen, moved to the new one as a dry loyal customer. Food and service was always excellent. However, have noticed changes over the last few months,of the negative kinfolk I'm afraid to say. The food is still pretty good, when it...More

Thank EssexUKPixylee
acanteen, communications assistant at Acanteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and do apologise about what happened with your meal. - Please rest assured that we are investigating into what happened on this occasion and putting measures in place so that this doesn't happen again....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great atmosphere and good food reasonably priced. Lunch is my favourite time. Service is good too! Try the saladsMore

Thank dannyj0hns0n
acanteen, communications assistant at Acanteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for the lovely review! We are so pleased that you have enjoyed visiting us. - We've recently changed the salads and added some delicious new summery options so that's great to hear that you're a fan! - Thank you very much...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great brunch, good atmosphere and lots of choice on the menu. I had the Mexican egg benedict which were really good. I like that one of you can have breakfast and the other can have a burger! I would definitely go back.More

Thank Georgie L
acanteen, communications assistant at Acanteen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

That's great to hear! We are thrilled that you have enjoyed dining with us. We try to keep our all day menu as flexible and informal for that very reason! Look out for a brand new menu launching soon, packed full of tasty new dishes!...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We at regulars (have been for 12 years) but never been for dinner before. Relaxed informal atmosphere and the usual brilliant food. Desserts here are amazing. I had the strawberry cheesecake and my husband had the trifle. Lovely meal. Nowhere else like it.More

Thank jcross72
acanteen, communications assistant at Acanteen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our evening menu - we have been working hard on our desserts so that's great to hear! - The strawberry cheesecake is proving to be a real favourite! Thank you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited just before lunch, service was good, food was good, and will definitely return in the near future.

Thank Rachel C
acanteen, communications assistant at Acanteen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

That's great to hear! - We are so pleased that you have enjoyed dining with us. Many thanks for taking the time to review, always much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best wishes.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Olio Restaurant
1,216 reviews
.02 miles away
Pinchos
297 reviews
.08 miles away
Cafe Rouge - Chelmsford
331 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Chelmsford Cathedral
182 reviews
.21 miles away
Civic Theatre
38 reviews
.44 miles away
High Chelmer Shopping Centre
24 reviews
.12 miles away
Central Park, Bell Meadow and Sky Blue Pasture
18 reviews
.07 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sarahbr114
April 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from acanteen | Property representative |
Hi, our Kid's Afternoon teas are very popular. It includes finger sandwiches with a choice of cheese, ham or jam filling. Mini chocolate Brownie, Mini Scone & a choice of kids milkshake or glass of milk.
0
Votes
777Jeanette67
November 1, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from c0lm4ns | Reviewed this property |
They have a 3 course set menu with extras for £75. If you give them a call on 01245 205 889 I am sure they will be able to answer any question you might have.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$4 - $33
Meals
Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 35 New London Road, Chelmsford CM2 0ND, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Chelmsford
  • Phone Number: +44 1245 205889
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing