We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
35 New London Road, Chelmsford CM2 0ND, England
+44 1245 205889
Website
Today
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Mon 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tue - Sat 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

725 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 722: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Hadn't been to A canteen for a while ~ superb meal ~ 3 of us really enjoyed our food ~ Lamb burger was delicious ~ chips were cooked well & tasted like chips! I had a warm mince pie with vanilla gelato to follow ~ really delicious ~ others had Calamari ~ vegan burger ~ gluten free brownie ~ yogurt... More 

Helpful?
Thank ET05
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a great lunch. Spicy noodles (very spicy) mussels too. Drinks came quickly too. Scrummy food and good service.

Helpful?
Thank Computerwolfuk
acanteen, Guest Relations Manager at Acanteen, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit - we aim to please! Hope to see you again soon, thanks again! More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Have been using the Acanteen café/takeaway and have been really pleased with the quality, quantity and even the price of the food. The sandwich deal is better than over the road at M&S and much nicer too. My first choice for lunch now :-)

Helpful?
Thank haribosmum
acanteen, Guest Relations Manager at Acanteen, responded to this review

We are so pleased that we are your first choice for lunch! We appreciate your custom and support of our local family run business. Remember if you have a takeaway coffee from the Bakeshop - don't forget your free banana! (and loyalty coffee/juice card!) Thanks again, see you soon! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Popped in to this establishment on a Saturday morning. My wife and I had a breakfast. It was nicely cooked and presented. My son recommended this eaterie to my wife and my self. It's not particularly cheap. But the food is well worth those extra few pennies Try it you will like it

Helpful?
Thank Robert D
acanteen, Guest Relations Manager at Acanteen, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast experience, and hope you visit us again soon! Thanks again. More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited for my daughter's birthday. Various starters - baked Camembert was great and nice mezze and charcuterie sharers. Pizzas were great, and definitely a better choice than the Sunday roast which was rather disappointing. Mussels were decent. Good choice for the family.

Helpful?
Thank chelmersmudge
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited acantern for lunch and didn't want to eat in the restaurant part so grabbed a seat in the stools at the front in the deli section. It was a busy Monday lunchtime and the queue was big - they only had one member of staff behind the counter so everything was moving very slowly. As there were so... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Katie H
acanteen, Guest Relations Manager at Acanteen, responded to this review

Firstly, admittedly you did catch us on a bad day yesterday - we were understaffed, and had sold out of some produce in the Bakeshop faster than usual. However we are now ensuring that we have more of everything prepared and have an extra member of staff during the busy lunch time period. We can assure you, our Bakeshop girls... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

me & two friends popped in here for a late lunch, they were busy but more than happy to get us to a table. the food was top notch & came out very quick. there was a lovely christmassy feel to the restaurant and the staff were so friendly and helpful. we only planned to have dinner but stayed for... More 

Helpful?
Thank jetsetter54321
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Yesterday was my first visit to the new location and what a massive disappointment. Maybe I was just being naive thinking that A Canteen could transfer their unique, personable and accommodating ways that made it so special. In it's previous life A Canteen was homely and possessed a beating heart, the food was cooked with love featuring good quality ingredients.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James P
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Acanteen never fails to make me happy. Great atmosphere, pleasant and helpful staff, food always just right for the occasion. I sometimes have lunch on my own - appreciate the daily papers to read, but also visit with family and friends; every time a pleasant experience. This place has the good food and feel of a London cafe/bar - so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue297
acanteen, Guest Relations Manager at Acanteen, responded to this review

Thank you, and your custom never fails to make us happy! We appreciate all of your lovely compliments, and are happy that you 'get us' and what we are about. We have just added 'ALounge' to the front on the left as you walk in, for a more comfy, cozy, casual experience (with a Christmas tree!) where you can order... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there for a quick snack in between shopping. Took a long time to be seated some 7 minutes in fact the only reason I know the time length was wev were waiting for family to turn up and thought we would have been seated and kept looking at watch. Food ok,bill I thought for what we had was too... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BRIAN B
acanteen, Guest Relations Manager at Acanteen, responded to this review

During busy periods such as peak lunchtime there will sometimes be a little wait for a table (when there are no tables) especially large groups, we thank you for your patience. The price of the food reflects the quality of the produce we buy in, and that everything is made in house by our chefs - not bought in. We... More 

Travelers who viewed Acanteen also viewed

 

Been to Acanteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$4 - $32
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 35 New London Road, Chelmsford CM2 0ND, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Chelmsford
  • Phone Number: +44 1245 205889

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Acanteen and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Acanteen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?