We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Turtle Bay

22-24 Exchange Way | High Chelmer Shopping Centre, Chelmsford CM1 1XD, England
+44 1245 263444
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
“goat curry” (30 reviews)
“scotch bonnet” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Caribbean, Jamaican, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
22-24 Exchange Way | High Chelmer Shopping Centre, Chelmsford CM1 1XD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 471 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We always choose this place when meeting friends as relaxed evening, great drink selection and delicious food is always guaranteed! We visited this place again on Saturday and was very impressed with their new menu. Tapas Caribbean style? Oh yes please! Food was cooked to...More

Thank Carrie_S1987
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We chose TB for a venue to take friends too last night. The idea that we would go somewhere a bit more vibrant and different to the usual chains... Big mistake. Terribly slow service, poor quality and sized starters. Took ages to get served at...More

Thank Benjamin444
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Benjamin, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it's extremely important for us to know when we've failed to deliver our high standards so we can grow and move forward as a team. I'm very sorry to hear that we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been to this restaurant several times and just love the atmosphere. The staff are fantastic, cocktails are amazing and the food is delicious. Came here for a New Year and Valentines and a recent visit this summer. Looking forward to visiting again soon!More

Thank Sunseeker186356
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi there, Thank you very much for your kind words, it's great to hear that you have enjoyed several visits to us here at Turtle Bay, I'll pass on your comments to the team who are always thrilled to hear great feedback. Have you downloaded...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went there as a group of friends so we had a range of dishes to try. Nothing seemed to fit together as a theme or style. What we had was all fresh and hot but it all tasted a bit processed. Seems to us...More

Thank merlin03
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi There, And many thanks for your feedback, I'm sorry we didn't tick all the boxes for you on this occasion. We are always looking at ways we can improve our business, and welcome all comments on this. We have recently changed our menu and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’d had a recommendation from a colleague to try the Curried Goat. I turned up early and had a pink lemonade whilst I waited for my friend to arrive. Then a main (goat curry) plus three sides to share (Roti, curry dirty fries and Halloumi)....More

Thank c0lm4ns
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey There, Thank you so much for your kind words, and fab to hear you enjoyed our curry Goat, It's also one of my personal favs!! Have you downloaded our app yet? get way to keep up to date with all things going on at...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

An impromptu couple.of drinks turned out to be a really enjoyable evening and this is thanks to the bar staff. They were responsive to questions and polite and patient serving us and other customers, maintaining conversation, providing a happy, sociable service. It is lovely to...More

Thank Cindy Y
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Cindy, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit, I’m very pleased to hear you and your party enjoyed the service provided by our fantastic bar team, I will pass on your comments to the team. Don't forget...More

Reviewed August 10, 2018

Been in a couple of times recently for a Carib beer which they never seem to have although the place is covered in adverts for Carib beer. So, No Carib, I'll try a cocktail. Asked for a Tobago Tea which is supposed to have 4...More

Thank kingharold
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Hi there, Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, I like to respond to all feedback, both positive and negative as I find it an extremely useful training tool for the team here at Turtle Bay. Please accept my apologies...More

Reviewed August 10, 2018

Found the restaurant by accident and as an avid reggae fan, I had to try it. The music was excellent, the staff was very friendly and it had a great atmosphere. Unfortunately my meal was cold so I sent in back. They gave me some...More

Thank GlennCroc
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Hi Glen Many thanks for your comments, I'm pleased to hear your enjoyed the atmosphere and team here at Turtle Bay, but please accept my apologies for not ticking all the boxes for you on this occasion. Please let me know next time you are...More

Reviewed August 6, 2018

The food in turtle bay is really nice and cocktails are really nice. I would like to return to turtle bay again in future :-)

Thank Charlotte M
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Hey Charlotte, Many thanks for your kind words, we would love to have you back with us very soon. Be sure to download our app next time your in so you can collect Turtles everytime you visit to spend on food and drink. One Love!

Reviewed August 5, 2018

Went with a freind to have some beers (red stripe ) not food this visit and had a lovely Saturday afternoon relax. We sat at the bar and the staff were friendly and attentive especially the big bearded man who was lovely. The music is...More

Thank mickwanka
Anson B, General Manager at Turtle Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

Hi There, And many thanks for your kind words on here, glad you had a good relaxing time with us here at Turtle Bay, from the description it sounds as it was Olly our bartender that served you, I'll pass on your comments to him....More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Chelmsford
Saracens Head Hotel
225 reviews
.06 miles away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
457 reviews
.17 miles away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
451 reviews
.38 miles away
Chelmsford Serviced Apartments
65 reviews
.40 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Wine Cellar
265 reviews
.05 miles away
Cote Brasserie - Chelmsford
449 reviews
.02 miles away
Zen Noodle Bar
283 reviews
.05 miles away
Banana Tree
197 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Chelmsford Cathedral
224 reviews
.08 miles away
High Chelmer Shopping Centre
30 reviews
.00 miles away
Central Park, Bell Meadow and Sky Blue Pasture
22 reviews
.26 miles away
Bond Street
28 reviews
.16 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mandy B
September 11, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from skaro1503775 | Reviewed this property |
Hi there! There was quite a lively Caribbean vibe when we were there, but not intrusive and all part of the overall upbeat and positive atmosphere. We had a party of three and could all hear each other fine. Enjoy!
0
Votes
Ceebeegee
August 14, 2016|
Answer
Response from dinnerdiner2015 | Reviewed this property |
There's music and a relaxed atmosphere although I can't vouch for weekend evenings. For early evening cocktails or for a family lunch it hits the spot. That said, it's a chain restaurant in the shires, so if you're... More
0
Votes
Ellie14
August 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from nikki7042 | Reviewed this property |
We were there last night and there were just people at the bar drinking 👍
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
$7 - $21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 22-24 Exchange Way | High Chelmer Shopping Centre, Chelmsford CM1 1XD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Chelmsford
  • Phone Number: +44 1245 263444
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing