We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boars Head

$$ - $$$, British,
15 Billericay Road | Herongate, Brentwood CM13 3PS, England
+44 1277 810324
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good23%
  • Average9%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
Travelers talk about
“pulled pork” (8 reviews)
“fish and chips” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
15 Billericay Road | Herongate, Brentwood CM13 3PS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 694 reviews

Reviewed today

Had a lovely evening, service was good, food was excellent, loved the Friday offer on Prosecco and cocktails. Also used our discount voucher. Fantastic value. Shame the The Boars Head closes at 11pm on a Friday. Would love to have stayed longer.

Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 897lorraineh
Reviewed today

we arrived on a cold winters midweek evening to find the car park full! when able to park the interior is a cosy "english pub" with low beamed ceilings, so low that the friendly staff were forever ducking down to avoid hitting their heads! we...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank brian t
Reviewed yesterday

I booked a table at the boars head for a mid week evening meal to save me having to cook/washing up. The venue is lovely, the staff were friendly and the food was served quickly and was very tasty!!!

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Columbo42
Reviewed 5 days ago

Hadn't been here for years until last Sat. Lovely country pub with attentive staff and nice food (we only had starters but very good). Will definitely return here soon

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank TheSocialGolfer
srosemansworth, Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear TheSocialGolfer, Thank you for leaving us such a kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here with us! We hope you visit us again to try more of our menu. Kind regards, Sophie

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We visited on Sunday for lunch. We booked a table and arrived promptly to find our table not ready. We were asked to wait in the bar which was heaving so not best start to lunch. Our table was tucked away almost in the fireplace....More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Gina H
srosemansworth, Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Gina H, We apologise for the experience you had here with us. We do try our best to make sure every guest leaves here happy. We hope this doesn't defer you from coming again as so you can see us at our usual standards....More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Sunday Lunch with family, good tasting food. Excellent service would recommend this pub for a family meal at any time. Very good ambianceMore

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Date of visit: January 2019
Thank rwplatt
srosemansworth, Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear rwplatt, Thank you for taking your time to leave us such a kind review about your visit here with us. We are glad you enjoyed your meals along with your time here. I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was lovely and the service was brilliant but there was no toilet paper or soap in the ladies' toilets.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank anniehumphries7
srosemansworth, Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear anniehumphries7, We are glad you enjoyed your food here with us at The Boars Head. We do take pride in everything we do here, unfortunately this may have ran out during the very busy day we had and if the staff was informed they...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Second time of visiting this pub! I must say that’s it has not disappointed me, I had the seafood grill for main followed by the chocolate fudge cake which was delicious could not fault it. Well worth the money. The service was very lovely, didn’t...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Hcars16
srosemansworth, Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Hcars16, Thank you for leaving us such kind feedback regarding your visit here with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Sophie Assistant Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

My food was cold and over expensive at £16 considering my slow cooked eef rib and mustard mash arrived minus the mash, my mum paid £13 for a very disappointing and sorry looking burger and I never got to take the hot choc or desert...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Anna B
JSK92, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Anna B, I’m sorry to hear your visit with us was disappointing. We want to make sure all of our guests are valued and have a pleasant experience. I hope this has not deterred you from returning again as your custom is important to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the 2nd year running we have had our New Years Day lunch at the Boars Head. Very busy to be expected on this day. Pub is very welcoming, we were a party of 6 everyone enjoyed their meals, we are picky eaters &...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Gilly20
srosemansworth, Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Gilly20, Thank you for leaving us such a kind review about your visit here with us. We are glad you enjoyed your lunch here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Kind regards Sophie

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Brentwood
Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon
209 reviews
1.03 miles away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
935 reviews
2.72 miles away
De Rougemont Manor
907 reviews
2.80 miles away
Ye Olde Plough House
299 reviews
2.94 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Little Chef
10 reviews
1.03 miles away
La Bicicletta
524 reviews
1.88 miles away
Friern Manor
165 reviews
1.92 miles away
Dog and partridge
31 reviews
2.52 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Diverse Scuba
18 reviews
3.00 miles away
The Four Seasons Hungry Horse Pub
133 reviews
2.80 miles away
Langdon Visitor Centre
59 reviews
2.90 miles away
Warley Place Nature Reserve
58 reviews
2.98 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ricarda B
March 18, 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Rsm1992 | Property representative |
Hi, Apologies you feel the food quality wasn’t up to standard! As a few diners have said, any issues you have, please speak to us on the day as we would rather you leave happy and not hungry. If you need to discuss any... More
0
Votes
j0hnnyb0y55
November 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rsm1992 | Property representative |
Hi, In regards to this, I couldn't tell you the last time someone waited 40 minutes for food let alone one hour. If you could please pass on some further details, date, time, name etc I will look into this Regards
1
Vote
lilly4621
May 8, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rsm1992 | Property representative |
Hi Lilly, I'm afraid we couldn't cater for a party of 30 as this would be the whole resturant and due to regular guests each week that book weeks in advance it would prove near on impossible to find a day that clear. Thank... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 Billericay Road | Herongate, Brentwood CM13 3PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Borough of Brentwood  >  Brentwood
  • Phone Number: +44 1277 810324
  • E-mail
Description
Just three miles south of bustling Brentwood, yet surrounded by woodlands and fields in the unspoilt village of Herongate, The Boar's Head is a Grade II listed country pub overlooking the village pond close to Button Common. It started life as three Tudor cottages and first became licensed premises in the 18th century. Herongate is an attractive Essex village in a proposed conservation area, once part of the Heron Hall Estate owned by one of the county's most influential and ancient families, the Tyrells.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing