We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greyhound

$$ - $$$, British,
Magpie Lane | Little Warley, Brentwood CM13 3DZ, England
+44 1277 249911
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good26%
  • Average16%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible20%
Oct 8, 2017
“Disappointing... Has potential with a different kitchen crew”
Sep 28, 2017
“Harvester”
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Magpie Lane | Little Warley, Brentwood CM13 3DZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 90 of 410 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2017 via mobile

A group of friends and I visited The Greyhound for the first time for our Christmas get together. We had a fabulous time! The service was friendly and the food was really good! I'd definitely visit again!

1  Thank Amelia_Cooper
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2017

Thanks, Amelia! We look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

A very disappointing visit on Friday 30th December 2016. Lunch time. 6 family members , two of which were young children. very poor service. we waited an hour for our food. when we got it, it was luke warm. One of the orders was incorrect...More

Thank dcsemail2000
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review, perhaps you could drop me an Email on greyhoundlittlewarley@vintageinn.co.uk.I look forward to hearing from in due course,

Reviewed January 3, 2017

Once we were seated (which did take some time) we were served quickly. We had just some food to share and hot chocolates;. everything was piping hot and served thoughtfully. The waiter made sure the hot drinks were well out of the way of the...More

Thank Lynn M
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2017

Really nice to hear, Lynn, Thank you!

Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

Just disappointing. Booked a table in advance because there was a good size group of us. Friendly service. Range of food ordered. Carrot, courgette and chickpea burger was very greasy, chips were sparse, the meal gave me a bad stomach afterwards, other dishes ordered included...More

Thank phiewe
General Manager A, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would appreciate it if you could drop me an Email on greyhound@littlewarley.co.uk in order that I can look further into the matter.

Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

Late lunch for three of us on 18 December. Table not ready on arrival. Booked Festive Lunch, was not offered this menu until we asked for it. Couple of items not available. Shared a couple of starters between us. Had to ask for plates to...More

Thank Foxy_Lady999
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

Looking forward to a good lunch with family turned out to be really disappointing. The service was poor, long time to get our main course, we returned one meal as it was cold, reheated and returned? A second meal was returned as the mushroom and...More

Thank Peter George B
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

Lovely setting, comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. The menu is varied with something for everyone. A couple of items had been removed from the menu however it was busy and therefore understandable. Would recommend for lunch or evening meal if you like a traditional country pub...More

Thank iofford
Reviewed December 16, 2016

Four of us had previously been here for lunch several times and decided to go for our Christmas get together. Restaurant was very busy with some tables of 6 or more people. We ordered our starter and then waited nearly an hour before we go...More

Thank Elizabeth W
Reviewed December 14, 2016

Have visited this establishment for the past two years for a pre-Christmas midweek lunch with family and its been excellent each time; this time, really not up to much (in our opinion) and not sure if there has been a change of management. Firstly, the...More

Thank Mitchy1957
Reviewed December 9, 2016

Nice enough place,staff too busy,hence don't go if your in a hurry.Toilets clean Food somewhat overpriced ,but quality ok Staff very pleasant ,although not much time for a chat,go,go,go. Unsure if I'd return.

Thank wiggins44
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Masons Restaurant - Brentwood
804 reviews
1.54 miles away
Boars Head
517 reviews
1.66 miles away
Izumi - Oriental Buffet & Grill
466 reviews
1.00 miles away
The Fat Turk
413 reviews
1.28 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Thames Chase Forest Centre
124 reviews
2.99 miles away
Hopefield Animal Sanctuary
184 reviews
2.89 miles away
Warley Place Nature Reserve
44 reviews
1.35 miles away
King George's Playing Fields
85 reviews
1.96 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mooie1983
January 13, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Louisa N | Reviewed this property |
Yes. We had two boys in our group. One 6 other 9.
1
Vote
Kay B
March 25, 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Kevin Q | Property representative |
hi we have just changed our policy and dogs are welcome in the bar area of the pub. kevin gerneral manager
2
Votes
gemma r
June 4, 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from GTS_11 | Reviewed this property |
I'm sorry I don't know....but they do have a garden, that I do know.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$9 - $21
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Magpie Lane | Little Warley, Brentwood CM13 3DZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Borough of Brentwood  >  Brentwood
  • Phone Number: +44 1277 249911
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing