We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 11/29
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
About
Rocksalt-On-Sea is a family owned Bar and Restaurant offering a friendly warm atmosphere with locally sourced produce. Craft Beers, Local spirits and fine wines with plenty or beautiful food options, we also pride ourselves in offering a wide range of GF and Vegan/dairy free options. Bookings are recommended
PRICE RANGE
$7 - $53
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
French, American, British, Grill, Contemporary, Bar
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveler rating
277
124
30
15
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
277
124
30
15
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger ribs sunday roast halloumi salad fries rock salt great atmosphere quirky decor on tap de la warr pavillion booked a table bexhill sea pint brasserie vegan
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fist time around, being new to Bexhill we really liked the decor and general vibe. Lots of people had bookings so it seems to be very popular with locals. Service was super nice and attentive but the food was a little bit on the bland...side - maybe a bad day in the kitchen? We will be definitely coming back to give them a few more chances and hope they will do us proud.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Restaurant's Favorite
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely lunch with family. Waitress was really welcoming and super helpful. Will definitely return . Recommend the sharing platter

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really friendly, welcoming atmosphere - great place for drinks and a burger. Sadly main meals were disappointing, in taste, portion size and price😕

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Advertised as bottomless brunch between 12-3pm £40 with a 2 course meal, we booked. We arrived at 12 to be informed the bottomless brunch actually only lasted 90 minutes! For £40, we ended up with maybe 5 small preseccos and a starter and a meal....Definitely not as advertised and will not be returning. Why advertise as 3 hours of bottomless brunch only to arrive and be told it’s actually only 90 minutes (after we had paid deposit so no returns!)More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Sam C, Owner at Rocksalt On Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there Sarah, sorry you felt that way we’ve had nothing but amazing feedback. We wish you had of spoken to us rather than feeling the need to do it via trip advisor review. If you had spoken to a member of staff about this...More

Reviewed October 24, 2021 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel rooms upstairs. Nice clean room, with a sea view. reasonable price. Had a couple of drinks in the 'rustic' bar downstairs which had really friendly staff and a good vibe but we couldn't hear any bar noise in the bedroom. Inclusive...Breakfast was substantial and tasty. Very central, had a nice weekend break.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed October 9, 2021 via mobile

Best gluten free fish and chips I’ve eaten for a while. Seasoned perfectly, great chips and side salad. Good atmosphere and location to sea front and De La Warr Pavilion

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed September 26, 2021

Get there early and go for the breakfast, all cooked fresh and a choice on how you want your eggs, not only that, REAL sausages

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Sam C, Owner at Rocksalt On Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2021

Thank you Jack 😊 our sausages are from a local farm in Netherfield, so pleased you liked them!

Reviewed September 19, 2021

Firstly staff are excellent . Food tho is dire. Really small portions, expensive and tasted microwavedand the mushrooms with blue cheese were like rubber. The tables they say are trendy, yes if u like dirty rusty metal tables. Will not be returningMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Sam C, Owner at Rocksalt On Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2021

Really sorry you didn’t enjoy your time at Rocksalt ☹️ Though not quite sure what flavour a microwave actually puts on food but we can assure you the only thing we use them for is to heat through our hot deserts. The tables are antique...More

Reviewed September 18, 2021

Cannot fault this venue, great food, great service and a fantastic addition to Bexhill. Music nights are very good. No. I am not the manager posting my good review. I am a local who loves this place.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Sam C, Owner at Rocksalt On Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2021

Thanks so much for your lovely review ☺️

Reviewed September 15, 2021 via mobile

Always love Rocksalt, moved away 4 years ago but so pleased that it hasn’t changed. Friendly staff and a good atmosphere.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Sam C, Owner at Rocksalt On Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2021

Thanks Jenny ☺️

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Northern Hotel
57 reviews
.16 miles away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
1,595 reviews
2.04 miles away
Royal Victoria Hotel
1,135 reviews
3.66 miles away
Grand Hotel
82 reviews
3.88 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Sobremesa Restaurant
230 reviews
.16 miles away
Bentley's Smokehouse
176 reviews
.04 miles away
Thai Chava
175 reviews
.15 miles away
Hughie's Beach Cafe
113 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Egerton Park
297 reviews
.32 miles away
Bexhill Beach
606 reviews
.09 miles away
Bexhill Museum
208 reviews
.31 miles away
De La Warr Pavilion
932 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Michael F
July 11, 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from jamesdV2212BP | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do. Was in yesterday and saw Harvey’s and other beers and lagers
0
Votes
sandyEastSussex
June 20, 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from WebE21 | Property representative |
Hi, we love dogs, at rocksalt-on-sea, large or small, and you can sit outside or bring them inside. As long as they are well behaved they are welcome.
1
Vote
amanda2610
January 11, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from WebE21 | Property representative |
Hi, Chef prepares everything individually, so can change the ingredients on the very popular veg board, also he has introduced two new veg dishes on the lunch menu so can make those vegan specific. I'm sure you hear this... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rocksalt On Sea

Rocksalt On Sea is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4