We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull Inn

Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
27 High Street, Battle TN33 0EA, England
01424 775171
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 126: English reviews
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came for lunch before seeing the Abbey. They have their own Old Dairy Bitter as well as a couple of other guests which were all nice. Had a meze platter and spinach and ricotta parcels. All were excellent although were too much for both of us for lunch. Pricing was decent. Service was reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Busker999
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a few nights last week on a short break in east Sussex I have to say the pub has a great ambience about it and the owners are nothing but GREAT people nothing is too much trouble and they go out of there way to make you welcome .The food is very good and the place... More 

Helpful?
Thank james m
south east
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

Great food from a great local Pub Best onion ring ever.. The locals are very friendly .Gin and fever tree tonic water. With a selection of Gins. Hopefully will increase in time with different things to add in it, but overall a great drinking and eating Pub no chain in sight. Hope there success carries on.

Helpful?
Thank Green1066
West Wickham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016

We have been to the Bull a few times and it is always a favourite. The Old Dairy beer is great and the food is good, plentiful and well priced. Well worth a visit if you are in Battle.

Helpful?
Thank KeithPenning
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in battle for some weeks and used most nights for a drink and food both excellent especially the new strong bow cloudy cider. Food was plenty full and staff really nice 😀

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Kerri D, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou from all of us here at The Bull, it was a pleasure to have such a cheerful group of you here on the weekday nights, we know it must be hard working away from your homes and families all week so its good to hear that you enjoyed your evenings with us. The new cider is certainly going down... More 

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

A group of 8 of us had a lovely lunch at the Bull Inn. A couple had Fish and Chips which was cooked in a beer batter, I had Filo Parcel with tomatoe sauce, salad and chips which was absolutely delicious. The service was pretty quick and presentation was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Linda K
Kerri D, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon , we are glad to hear that you had a good experience here at The Bull. The two meals that you mentioned happen to be amongst our top sellers , the filo parcel being a favourite amongst non-vegetarians as well. We do hope to see you again The Bull Team More 

New Forest, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Good reasonably priced food and excellent draft beer. Staaf could have been a little more attentive,

Helpful?
Thank BirthdayBoy60
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

Lovely pub that is well used by all the locals and are very friendly. Serve a good choice of Ales and prosecco in mini bottles. My only wish is that the wine selection could be of a better with a good quality white rioja and a good pinot, and maybe fever tree tonic water and sip smith gin would be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 1066onmyway
bexhill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

Ordered meze, noticed the waitress who took our order went back and picked the dog up cuddling it, luckily she didnt bring our food. The smoked salmon was chopped up really small and looked abit discoloured.the olives were swimming in oil and were far to many.the bread and the humous were fine as was the salad.i mentioned to the waitressmy... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamull214
Kerri D, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello I remember your visit to us and I am sorry that you were less than satisfied . We had a busy morning with our overnight guests and my friend took my dog for a walk to help out, dropping him off a little while after pub opening hour. Unfortunately for you our waitress was busy with other customers so... More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

Maybe we went at the wrong time, but it was pretty empty for a Saturday afternoon so there wasn't a lot of atmosphere in there. But it was a nice, average pub, with a very friendly server at the bar. I'd happily go back, but it feels like a place you'd stop for a couple rather than make a thing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
Kerri D, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello , thankyou for your comments and we are sorry that we were having a quiet moment for you. Quiet times in pubs do happen especially during what was the traditional pub closing time, the long opening hours tend to spread the customers out over the day. On the silver lining note however it does give us a chance to... More 

Travelers who viewed The Bull Inn also viewed

Battle, East Sussex
Battle, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Westfield, East Sussex
Battle, East Sussex
 

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 High Street, Battle TN33 0EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Battle
  • Phone Number: 01424 775171

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bull Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Newquay, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bull Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?