We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Bull Inn

Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
27 High Street, Battle TN33 0EA, England
01424 775171
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A group of 8 of us had a lovely lunch at the Bull Inn. A couple had Fish and Chips which was cooked in a beer batter, I had Filo Parcel with tomatoe sauce, salad and chips which was absolutely delicious. The service was pretty quick and presentation was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Linda K
Kerri D, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon , we are glad to hear that you had a good experience here at The Bull. The two meals that you mentioned happen to be amongst our top sellers , the filo parcel being a favourite amongst non-vegetarians as well. We do hope to see you again The Bull Team More 

New Forest, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good reasonably priced food and excellent draft beer. Staaf could have been a little more attentive,

Helpful?
Thank BirthdayBoy60
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely pub that is well used by all the locals and are very friendly. Serve a good choice of Ales and prosecco in mini bottles. My only wish is that the wine selection could be of a better with a good quality white rioja and a good pinot, and maybe fever tree tonic water and sip smith gin would be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 1066onmyway
bexhill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ordered meze, noticed the waitress who took our order went back and picked the dog up cuddling it, luckily she didnt bring our food. The smoked salmon was chopped up really small and looked abit discoloured.the olives were swimming in oil and were far to many.the bread and the humous were fine as was the salad.i mentioned to the waitressmy... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamull214
Kerri D, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello I remember your visit to us and I am sorry that you were less than satisfied . We had a busy morning with our overnight guests and my friend took my dog for a walk to help out, dropping him off a little while after pub opening hour. Unfortunately for you our waitress was busy with other customers so... More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Maybe we went at the wrong time, but it was pretty empty for a Saturday afternoon so there wasn't a lot of atmosphere in there. But it was a nice, average pub, with a very friendly server at the bar. I'd happily go back, but it feels like a place you'd stop for a couple rather than make a thing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
Kerri D, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello , thankyou for your comments and we are sorry that we were having a quiet moment for you. Quiet times in pubs do happen especially during what was the traditional pub closing time, the long opening hours tend to spread the customers out over the day. On the silver lining note however it does give us a chance to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only popped in for a quick drink but they did have some really nice ales and a rare find in Britain, Estrella on tap, lovely and refreshing after a long bike ride.

Helpful?
Thank islandgirlcityboy
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for some drinks whilst staying at the George hotel. Chose this pub for our evening soirée due to its entry in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide; it did not disappoint. Very friendly customers and service and a nice interior with stone walls. Certainly would visit again if in Batlle. Good ale too of course.

Helpful?
Thank 4and20
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoy my visits to the Bull inn always welcomed with a smile and the food is top notch too if I had to be critical it's too bright inside

Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
Kerri D, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello Andrew, thankyou for taking the time to review us and we are very pleased that you enjoy your visits to us, we look forward to welcoming you again. Kerri, Alan and the team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

We first stopped here for drinks during a shopping trip. The service was splendid, and we decided to come back for a late lunch after we'd finished shopping. We had to chase the menu and there seemed to be a distinct lace of expediency to take our order and we had to go and get them. When the food came,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jules4701
Kerri D, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thankyou for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your food when it did arrive! We are sorry to hear that you experienced problems with a less experienced server, perhaps if reviewers could mention the date and time of day it would enable us to help our member of staff with some training and help so that... More 

Hailsham, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

Friendly pub, nice atmosphere and a lot of charm. Well worth a stop when your in battle. Have had a few good nights here!!!

Helpful?
Thank jobyjohnson
Kerri D, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hi there joby johnson, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoy your visits to us at The Bull, we all love the building, which certainly has a charm all of its own, but made all the better by people out enjoying themselves, this is what good old traditional pubs are best at. Thankyou for your lovely comments, see... More 

Travelers who viewed The Bull Inn also viewed

Battle, East Sussex
Battle, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Westfield, East Sussex
 

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 High Street, Battle TN33 0EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Battle
  • Phone Number: 01424 775171

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bull Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Newquay, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bull Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?