We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thatchers Needle

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
33 Park Road, Diss IP22 4AS, England
+44 1379 658905
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

526 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 525: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We come here now and again as love the deals you can get on food and the very good prices. We went for an early tea after school so was quiet. The guy who looked after us was fantastic very polite and nothing was no bother. The meals did take quite a while considering how quiet it was I've noticed... More 

Helpful?
Thank cccm22
Thatcher's N, General Manager at Thatchers Needle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Its a great boost to our team when they are personally mentioned with lovely commetns on tripadvisor. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Chris and Rachel More 

Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 811 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hi Folks, Popped in for a Sunday roast, earlyish the other Sunday, around 12.15p.m. The place was starting to get busy. Three quarters of the tables were reserved. We were taken to table 8, an area that failed to meet with the vacum cleaner that particular morning. The waitress was helpful and also took our drinks order, which arrived shortly... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ruddstar
Thatcher's N, General Manager at Thatchers Needle, responded to this review

Hi Gary, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our pork is roasted here at The Thatcher's Needle and hand carved by our chefs. We are proud of our vegetable offer on a Sunday as there are not many places that offer parsley buttered kale and leeks, braised red cabbage and cauliflower cheese as standard. Our Giant yorkshire... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The food was lovely but unfortunately took over an hour to actually recieve it and there was only 6 people at the bar drinking and 1 couple in the restraunt so it did turn what should of been a nice anniversairy dinner into a stress as my partner isn't exactly patient! :(

Helpful?
Thank Chelsea B
Thatcher's N, General Manager at Thatchers Needle, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you had a wait of this time. I have not been aware of any wait of this time. If you would like to disscuss this further then please contact us at thatchersneedle.diss@marstons.co.uk Chris and Rachel More 

Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been a few times and always had good service and good food , specials are worth a try , the venison stew and duck in ginger delicious ... And if you have room for dessert, the red velvet cheesecake is a must.

Helpful?
Thank suzanne41htc
Thatcher's N, General Manager at Thatchers Needle, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. The red velvet is also my favourite dessert! We look forward to seeing you next time. Chris and Rachel More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in town for a family gathering and pre booked a table, on arrival the party had been divided onto two adjacent tables which we didn't feel was helpful for a family group, this was resolved eventually but not helpful start to a family meal. orders taken efficiently and came together and tasty but bill was messed which again... More 

Helpful?
Thank David S
Thatcher's N, General Manager at Thatchers Needle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We will always try to put a large group on 1 big table. Sometimes due to the layout of the tables this isn't always possible and we find certain tables are better if there is a small gap between for which the party can get in and out of the table with ease. I'm glad... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying in the area and the Thatchers Needle has been recommended by a friend. We ate fairly early, 6.30 on a Saturday evening however this popular restaurant was very busy. We had booked and I would advise this. We found the menu delightful and were able to select additional items, nothing was too much trouble. The service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colleen F
Thatcher's N, General Manager at Thatchers Needle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review Colleen F. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area. Chris and Rachel More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This nice looking pub on the outside is very standard inside. Food is average and uninspiring. Always think I have made a second best choice the few times we have been. A welcome addition to Diss, but not a highlight.

Helpful?
Thank rory s
Thatcher's N, General Manager at Thatchers Needle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope we can change your mind one day! Chris and Rachel More 

Wolverhampton
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having made a selection of venison stew I had to wait 10 minutes before I could start eating it as it must have been fresh out of the microwave and was served piping hot. Then to be so disappointed with possibly the most tasteless dinner I've ever had! The stew had not been seasoned with anything therefore tasted of nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank elizabethjacobs
Thatcher's N, General Manager at Thatchers Needle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We cook our meals to our company standard which is a minimum of 82 degrees. The venison stew has been a very popular dish but I will pass your comments on to our menu development team. We would have happily replaced your meal should we have known that you were unhappy... More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were on holiday and we visited the restaurant 4 times. In general the food and service was good. We had Sunday roast which I would recommend as it was tasty, I had the chicken which was tender and my partner had the beef . It got quite busy and would suggest you book as we saw several people turned... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
Thatcher's N, General Manager at Thatchers Needle, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear this. This is something that we can do and have done before, i'm sorry to hear that you were told differently. If you would like to contact us thatchersneedle.diss@marstons.co.uk please do. Chris and Rachel More 

norfolk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came in here with friends for a few drinks and light lunch and found the experience disappointing. The building itself is very inviting. Spacious, clean and well decorated. However, the food was awful. We waited ages to receive our food despite it not being particularly busy and when it arrived it was cold and had obviously been left sitting... More 

Helpful?
Thank mich250
Thatcher's N, General Manager at Thatchers Needle, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear this. Please contact us thatchersneedle.diss@marstons.co.uk if you would like to discuss further. Chris and Rachel More 

Been to Thatchers Needle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$6 - $19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Park Road, Diss IP22 4AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Diss
  • Phone Number: +44 1379 658905

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Thatchers Needle and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Thatchers Needle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?