We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$25 - $50
CUISINES
American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveler rating
370
89
40
17
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
370
89
40
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fondue salad bread brownie steak potatoes cooking style chocolate covered strawberries our waiter main course restaurant week cheese dippers courses meats
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 31, 2020 via mobile

The staff was wonderful! The food was awesome. We love the one in Pittsburgh too and were pleasantly surprised that this one was open and serving the usual during the pandemic. Everyone in Columbus was wearing a mask so it was no shock that we...had to wear one on the way in and out. Our server Phil couldn't have been more pleasant and professional. I highly reccomend this place it is well worth the money!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 12, 2020 via mobile

I would like to address your mask policy at your Easton location in Columbus Ohio. My family and I had reservations for a party of 5. At no point during making our reservations were we made aware of your mask policy. Upon entering your establishment...the hosts ask us if we had face Coverings. We explained we did not but would be willing to use a napkin to cover our face if needed so we could be seated. They said they would get the manager. Once the manager arrived. We explained we had 1 person w a medical exemption and 1 person with a mask. She then ask to see the medical card ( which is illegal). She then went and got her manager Jason. We explained we are willing to use a napkin and 1 person in our group had a mask. He could seat us 1 at a time and we could all use the same mask. Also we informed him of our medical exemption for 1 of the family members. Instead of offering a solution or trying to remedy the situation he called the mall cops. We are a group of 50-60 year old adult. Seriously he calls the mall cop!! Instead of being helpful or offering any solution like providing a mask. He called the mall cop. In all my years I have never been so embarrassed and will never recommend your establishment to anyone.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 25, 2020

Great experience! Tried it out for Columbus Restaurant Week. Great experience. It is time consuming because you cook everything yourself at the table. Everything tasted amazing! I will say that I would not go regularly because it is even pricier after Restaurant week and you...could do fondue yourself at home.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 25, 2020 via mobile

The melting pot is such a fantastic place to eat at. Had such a great time with my fiancé and I. Made a reservation on resy ahead of time so we can get in and out and not have to wait. We were greeted immediately...and sat at a booth. Our server Joey P was super nice and fantastic. Always checking on us throughout the meal, and filling our drinks. We came for the restaurant week Columbus had. It was a fabulous deal for a three course meal for both of us. The cheese fondue was great, Joey made it extra cheesy for us because we love our cheese. The second course was the meats. It was delicious only complaint was one of meats in my fiancé’s food had a bone. Which sucked. But it wasn’t a big deal. Then we decided on dark chocolate for our last course which was amazing way to end the meal. The sweets were good. We definitely will be back. This was the third time I’ve personally been here. I keep coming back because the service and food is always great. I also got birthday chocolate covered strawberries tooMore

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

I love fondue but I don’t appreciate the rules of the restaurant. We often share meals because we don’t like wasting food nor do we care to bloat ourselves and feel uncomfortable. Even a 5 star restaurant experience can be tainted by stuffing yourself unnecessarily....I don’t want to feel gross when leaving the restaurant. We were forced to add items to our order bc we were sharing. Defeated the purpose of sharing. I feel Melting Pot takes it a step too far; I want fondue. I don’t want to cook my own food. That’s why I’m dining out. Why not utilize my fondue set at home if that’s the case. Which we will be doing from now on. We have a nice set and lots of places sell easy quality fondue kits. We wanted to give Melting Pot one last chance but rather enjoy an evening at home with similar quality from our own set. Also a great way to spice up a Saturday night at home - in more ways than one ;)More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 23, 2019

the waiter was the best thing about the restaurant. it was our 1st time and he was excellent explaining how it worked... don't care for beer so the cheese sauce was not to our liking. i kidded my hubby that he could claim he's a...chef since he cooked in a restaurant... seriously if i am going to pay over 100.00 for a meal i want a top chef to do the cooking... the dark chocolate was good but not enough of it... will b a 1 time experience 4 sure...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 25, 2019

If you've never dined at a Melting Pot, this will be a unique experience for you. We like the concept and have eaten at Melting Pots in various other cities. Here are some things that may be helpful for you to know here. First, there...are four primary courses (fondue, salad, entree, dessert), and you can have them bundled into a full meal (we always do) or just go for one, two or three of them. Be aware that eating at a MP takes a lot more time than at most other restaurants; if you go for the full four courses, you will likely be here a full two hours. This is because there is cleanup and setup required between the courses, and because the nature of the experience just takes time. If you are out for an evening of relaxed conversation and not in a rush, this is that kind of place. If you need to get off to a game or concert or show, and you have limited time, this might not be a good choice. If you go for the four course dinner, it will be a lot of food for one person. My wife and I always share one four course dinner, and just order an extra salad. At every MP we've ever been to, this is fine . . . except this MP seems to have a policy that we never heard of before. Our server absolutely insisted that if we share the entree we must order not only a second salad, but also a second fondue and a second dessert. This was way too much food and we left feeling that this was an unreasonable policy that forced us to spend more than we wanted to. This MP is in the basement of a building and the main entrance requires you to descend a flight of stairs. We found out later that you can get down there and back up again by an elevator that is not easy to find. If any of your party is handicapped or has problems with stairs, phone them when you arrive to ask that they send someone up to escort you to the elevator. The fondue course is simple enough, just use the long forks to dip the breads, veggies and apples into the hot melted cheese. Not much to say about that or the salad course. The main course is more complex, as you must manage the time you cook your meats in the pot. Your server will tell you how long to keep each item in the pot. We found it almost i possible to keep track of the time, since we wanted to converse over dinner and not focus on the pot with a stopwatch. But you'll find that the timing isn't a big deal; you can just check on the cooking progress visually and usually you'll know when something is done enough. One suggestion: You will be given some veggies to cook in the pot simultaneously with your meats. We have found it best just to dump them all in right from the beginning, since the potatoes will take a while before they are ready to eat. For food safety reasons, move meat off the cooking fork and onto your dish before eating with a regular fork. For what it's worth, we like the court bouillon for cooking our meats. The chocolate fondue for dessert is good, but in almost every MP we've been to, we had to wait for the chocolate to melt to a good temperature before dipping. Expect a minor delay for this. Service was a little slow at this MP, and we found that we were ready to move on to the next course a couple of times but it took too long for our server to reappear. This tended to prolong an already lengthy dinner. As I said, expect a longer than usual, and somewhat expensive dining experience. However, we find it's also a unique and fun way to have dinner, and certainly worth a try if you have never done it before. Important: This is not an ideal place to bring young children. The hot burners and pots are a hazard if the tots get fidgety, and the length of the meal will get them bored. My son and his family ate at a different MP, and his little boy accidentally touched the burner and got a nasty burn. This was not the restaurant's fault or the parents'; it is just hard to keep little ones safe at a MP.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed August 21, 2019

I have been to 28 Melting Pots nationwide. Food is decent Service was horrendous and inattentive Tried bringing my experience convenes was management and all I got was a song and dance about the restaurant being busy. The service that we received was inexcusable. Even...on busy evenings servers, server assistants, and managers should walk around, engage their customers, and ensure a positive experience. The franchise prides itself on offering the perfect night out and this location has a lot to learn about customer service and experience.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?5  
gchaposky, Owner at The Melting Pot, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Hello Eli, This is now the 5th platform you have used to express your concerns. In fact for TripAdvisor you made a new account just to again express your disapproval. Over the past month I have replied to every written complaint and dialogued with you...More

Reviewed August 11, 2019

my favorite restaurant have been going here since I was a little kid and it has always been my favorite place to go

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
gchaposky, Owner at The Melting Pot, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Thanks for your review. Love hearing that you have loved the restaurant since you were a kid. We hope to see you for many years to come!

Reviewed July 23, 2019

We come here about once a year. We love the food and the experience, but we have not had great service the last few years. This year might have been the worst. Maybe they don't love that we only get the cheese and chocolate, and...skip an entrée, but we were definitely not a priority table on our last visit. The waiter took our drink order. I wanted a mixed drink special they were advertising, but they were out of one of the ingredients. I opted for just water, despite his insistence that I'd like another option just as much (the other option wasn't anything like what I tried to order). He returned with our drinks, and took our cheese order. He turned on the burner and left. Before long, the burner was smoking and blowing the smoke right into our faces. We had to move away. Our cheese came and was delicious. He brought out extra dippers, which was appreciated. When we were done with the cheese, he took our chocolate order and then left. Another person came by and noticed our empty drinks and offered to refill them. We waited 10 minutes. Our waiter finally showed up with our chocolate and our drinks. The chocolate was also great; however, when the chocolate was gone the burner started to burn again - no smoke, but an awful smell. He left the check and it sat for a long time before someone else again offered to take it for us. Another 10 minutes later the waiter showed up with the check. The food is good. We used to always have great friendly service there. But we just haven't been impressed with the service our last few visits.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
gchaposky, General Manager at The Melting Pot, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2019

Hello 6MA6, I am sorry to hear the service you recently received was not excellent. I would love to address your concerns with my team. Can you please reach out to me at ColumbusOH@meltingpotfranchise.com so I can get some more information about your recent experience....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Residence Inn Columbus University Area
136 reviews
6.10 miles away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus/University Area
738 reviews
6.05 miles away
Motel 6 Columbus OSU
103 reviews
6.05 miles away
Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St
248 reviews
5.11 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mitchell's Ocean Club
674 reviews
.05 miles away
Northstar Cafe
284 reviews
.02 miles away
Flip Side
243 reviews
.09 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Easton Town Center
3,257 reviews
.12 miles away
LEGOLAND Discovery Center Columbus
86 reviews
.13 miles away
Funny Bone Comedy Club
97 reviews
.05 miles away
Adobe Gilas Easton
8 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
honeybear63043
March 26, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Vernon D | Property representative |
Typical Dining times for parties of up to four are 1 hour and 30 minutes to two hours.
1
Vote
wlc782017
February 11, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Vernon D | Property representative |
Entrees arrive already cut into bite size portions for easy fondueing and do split readily. However, Cheese fondue, salad and Chocolate Fondues for one, then split tend to be very small. (Cheese for one is actually difficult... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing