We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Road, Brancaster Staithe PE31 8BY, England
441485210262
Website
Today
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

703 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 701: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It's very very good and well priced. I've been a few times and always enjoyed it. Super view from terrace. One very annoying point which lets it down badly is this - there's no waiter service on the terrace, although there are many waiters, they only deliver and clear. So you have to queue up at the waiter station inside... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeBert
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take all feedback seriously and address any issues in house. Table service on our terrace is something that we have contemplated before and it has never really quite worked. However we do provide full table service in our 2 AA rosette a la carte restaurant. The offering on the... More 

Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I love to go to the coast on my birthday, and this year was no exception. We like to come to this wonderful venue, sometimes we book, sometimes not. To have lunch on the balcony, it is on a first come basis, so be early! The food never disappoints and is always served in a beautiful, imaginative way. It is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jaxdoyle
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

I am delighted that we welcomed you back and you enjoyed your birthday celebration once again. I am glad that you enjoyed the restaurant and the food. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back sooner than your next birthday. Kind Regards Christina More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Restaurant has a lovely atmosphere which includes a conservatory are and a terrace. Our food was well cooked and delicious. The staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Christina More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

A sign of a good restaurant is often how they deal with a problem. The White Horse was faultless and brilliant in this respect. Our American son-in -law had a wonderful champagne breakfast on his birthday. Thank you. We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank zeizeih
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We strive for perfection here at the White Horse. Sometimes this does not always happen, where possible we try to put things right. I am delighted that your son-in-law had a wonderful birthday breakfast. I look forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards Christina More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Spectacular views. The food was over-priced. The menu was average and far too fussy. Two if our party just had the main course and no dessert. One person had a starter and mains with a glass of wine. The bill came to £91 which was a rip-off.

Helpful?
1 Thank 253julian
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always disappointing to read negative comments as we strive to please all of our guests. Unfortunately on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, which I sincerely apologise about. Kind Regards Christina More 

Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at The White Horse for two nights. We had I dinner and two breakfasts. Dinner on the Friday evening was a great joy. The menu was extensive and interesting, mouth watering as well. One of those menus that you dither about because you cannot choose between all the choices. We certainly made the right choices and cannot wait... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pamgezzelegale
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a fabulous review! It is always a pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed themselves. I will pass your feedback on to my team who will all be over the moon. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Christina More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a wonderful restaurant and pub this place is, set in a fabulous location, with stunning views over salt marshes. But when I thought that nothing could top this, we tried the food, it was delicious. In particular, the Fish and chips are phenomenal. Dinner was so good, that the next morning we returned for our breakfast, and that to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are blessed to have such an amazing backdrop for our guests to enjoy. I am so pleased that the food exceeded you expectations and you returned for breakfast which you also enjoyed. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Christina More 

East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
220 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Choose a good sunny warm day anytime before it gets dark, grab a table on the elevated terrace outside, and enjoy amazing views over the mud flats to the sea. Go get some food to enjoy (order from the bar inside): a pretty good selection. The rump steak was great, the 3 samplers were more than sufficient for a lighter... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tlwmd
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed yourself, during the busier seasons we do service the terrace where possible. we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Christina More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've been to the White Horse a number of times over the years. The setting is stunning, the service v good and the food also very good.

Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownRunner
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing us a great review. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to The White Horse soon, Kind regards Christina More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice place indeed, only had a drink and a few outstanding oysters, They get them from the bottom of the carpark I'm told! Will be back to try restaurant if I can find a shirt lol

Helpful?
Thank John B
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to award us five stars! I'm so pleased you enjoyed our local oysters, I agree they are outstanding. The good news is you don't need a shirt to eat in the restaurant. There is no dress code, as long as you have a top on!! Looking forward to seeing you soon, Kind regards Christina More 

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Restaurant also viewed

Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
 
Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
Blakeney, Norfolk
 

Been to The White Horse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Seafood, British, Pub, Soups, Gluten Free
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Brancaster Staithe PE31 8BY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Brancaster Staithe
  • Phone Number: 441485210262

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?