We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Granary

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2017 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$4 - $13
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Improve this listing
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
50
20
9
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
50
20
9
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones cake cheese and bacon sunday roast soup sandwich jacket potato pudding cream tea small pieces honest food table service afternoon tea fresh veg great coffee piping hot lovely food
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

like going here the food is excellent and the service is always excellent the staff are so helpful everyone enjoy their meals the Granary is a lovely building.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank christinasmith668
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love popping in here when staying in Norfolk ,last visited 6 months ago when in Heacham. Today came from Holt. Great food & service, Had a lovely fried egg sandwich - bread soft , eggs very tasty. Mum had cheese scone - she said soft...More

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank MrandMrsJB
Reviewed December 5, 2019

Having been going fairly regularly we now won't return Serving a lukewarm bowl of white rice with a "splash" of dull, grey and tasteless mince and calling it chiili and also serving it with a naan bread (which was borderline stale) is not fair. My...More

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank DubaiFatman
Reviewed November 1, 2019

This is one of those cafés that you need to be careful when ordering, somethings are lovely but other things can be unpleasant. We visited twice, on our first visit I had sweet potato and butternut squash soup, which was gluppy and had a strange...More

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank sue_upon_soar
Angie R, Owner at The Granary, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2019

I'm sorry you had issues with the food. There isn't sage in the soup so can't really say what the problem was. We have a lot of good comments about the soup normally. The bacon certainly isn't boiled and fresh daily. It is oven cooked...More

Reviewed October 6, 2019 via mobile

Have visited here before a few times allways been lovely But today the place was cold and was pouring with rain outside so did need heat on . The plates and the food were not hot at all not Enough Veg for two people I...More

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Lynneelizabetholiver
Angie R, Owner at The Granary, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2019

I'm sorry you weren't happy with your visit this time. If you were cold you could have asked for the heating to be put on and we would have happily done so. I can't understand the food not being hot as the plates are put...More

Reviewed September 27, 2019 via mobile

Excellent shop with very individual gifts. Very different to all the other gift shops in the area at reasonable prices

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Lillypol123
Angie R, Owner at The Granary, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2019

Thank you for your kind words. We try to be different but not out price ourselves. We hope to see you again

Reviewed September 10, 2019 via mobile

After an enjoyable visit last year we returned only to be bitterly disappointed. Arriving just after 2pm we were told sandwiches and cake only or a slice if quiche but no salad. We opted for home cooked ham which was tough dry and tasteless along...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Polly03223
Angie R, Owner at The Granary, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit this time. We have had to change our serving hours slightly and there is a large blackboard at the entrance stating there is only drinks and cake after 2pm but as the staff obviously had quiche and sandwich...More

Reviewed September 9, 2019

We live local and after a beach walk in Hunstanton the Granary is our goto cafe because its down to earth, quaint, allows dogs, serves great food at a reasonable price (a decent breakfast at £3.50 is our usual), has wonderfull cakes and scones. Then...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Odyssey19255580071
Angie R, Owner at The Granary, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Oh thank you for your lovely review. Sounds perfect to me. Just what we've tried to achieve. See you soon I hope

Reviewed August 28, 2019

Simple breakfast, no crushed avocado, well served and tasty food with plenty of options at a very reasonable cost

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank R4tty
Angie R, Owner at The Granary, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Thank you for you great review. Basic down to earth is what we are about. We hope to see you again

Reviewed August 12, 2019 via mobile

We both enjoyed fantastic scones here; one cheese and bacon and one cream tea. The fruit scone was full of fruit with an ample portion of clotted cream and a jar of jam. Pot of tea was lovely, friendly service and quirky venue. Excellent value...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Wayne S
Angie R, Owner at The Granary, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Thank you for your lovely response. It's always great to hear we are doing it right. We do have a good reputation for our scones. We hope to see you again

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Rose and Crown
640 reviews
1.91 miles away
Park House Hotel
30 reviews
3.73 miles away
The Richmond B&B and Restaurant
179 reviews
4.56 miles away
The Golden Lion Hotel
612 reviews
4.76 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 7 nearby restaurants
The Old Bank
425 reviews
1.83 miles away
The West Norfolk
514 reviews
2.57 miles away
Petals Tearoom
111 reviews
3.15 miles away
The Rose and Crown
718 reviews
1.91 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
RSPB Snettisham
73 reviews
.05 miles away
Norfolk Lavender
934 reviews
3.00 miles away
The Coach & Horses
80 reviews
3.12 miles away
The Royal Station Wolferton
270 reviews
3.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
christinamay2013
November 3, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Angie R | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. Yes we are dog friendly as long as they are on a lead and on the floor at the table. We look forward to seeing you. Do let us know when you are in so we can say hi.
0
Votes
ninja1102017
June 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Angie R | Property representative |
I'm so sorry I have only just seen this. I normally get an alert but not recievd one. I do cakes to order but only do individual or sponge cakes now as we are so busy. Please ring 07760 115888 to speak to me if still... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing