We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rose and Crown

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Old Church Road, Snettisham PE31 7LX, England
01485541382
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 379: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Staff extremely attentive, nothing was too much for them. Chocolate truffle desert is astonishingly good, and local ales good too.

Helpful?
Thank andy4115
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Ate here on a Friday night. Overall feeling by our group was distinctly average food and overpriced for what's on offer. The service wasn't great either, with the staff seemingly losing interest in us once our mains were out. (We sat with dirty plates in front of us for 45 mins.) We were visiting the area so I'm not sure... More 

Helpful?
Thank catswhizkers
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to The Rose & Crown. We are always grateful to customers who take the time to give us their thoughts, but I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. As owners we work very hard, as do our excellent staff, to ensure that each customer's visit is a... More 

peterborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Having booked in advance for Sunday lunch for three to include one vegetarian I had high expectations of the meal; no excuse to be unable to provide a sound meal but the reality was we were totally disappointed by the "vegetarian meal "and totally appaled by the reaction of staff. The Rose and Crown charged £14.95 for a large Yorkshire... More 

Helpful?
Thank colin l
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to The Rose & Crown. We are always grateful to customers who take the time to share their thoughts with us. I am very sorry, however, to hear that you were disappointed with the vegetarian options. We have never offered a "Vegetarian roast" , on the basis that vegetarians would prefer... More 

Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited as a couple last night (Sunday), we had pre booked and was hoping to dine in the main Restaurant as we have before. This time we were taken to the front dining room which has no character or atmosphere. A very nice waitress came to us and took our drinks order and left us to look at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan M
kings lynn norfolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I don't get many chances to go out on our own but as our son was away we thought we would try the rose and crown the first time I had been in for over 20 years , we ate in the restaurant a pleasant table by the window , a good selection of food which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim J
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was the first time the six of us have been away and we were looking forward to our meal as the standard and service has always been good in the past . Unfortunately it was not the case this time as the service for the mains was a little slow and the desert very slow so I inquired and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave D
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to The Rose & Crown. We are always grateful to customers who take the time to give us their thoughts, but I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. As owners we work very hard, as do our excellent staff, to ensure that each customer's visit is a... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to eat and stay, the food is really great and the staff very helpful and friendly, I would recommend this pub to anyone, lovely garden to sit in during the summer, good for families as well as couples.

Helpful?
Thank braxter14
norfolk
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in for lunch with a group of friends, the food was delicious and filling, no complaints from anyone, all agreed it was a good choice.

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As suggested, we had booked and a table was reserved and laid up specifically for us (a party of three). I have no complaint about either the food or the service. And was delighted to find mini puds as I can never eat a whole one!! In fact I wish I could have eaten a full sized portion of Lavender... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sally20
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We ate for 3 consecutive nights at the Rose & Crown and can thoroughly recommend it to visitors to the area. Do not be put off by the locals smoking outside or the tiny bar area upon entry. This pub is massive inside, like The Tardis, and has 3 dining rooms set out beautifuly to provide about 70 or so... More 

Helpful?
Thank John S

Travelers who viewed The Rose and Crown also viewed

Snettisham, Norfolk
Snettisham, Norfolk
 

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$47
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free, Contemporary
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Church Road, Snettisham PE31 7LX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Snettisham
  • Phone Number: 01485541382
  • This restaurant is at The Rose and Crown

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Rose and Crown and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
kings lynn

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Rose and Crown staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?