We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Loft

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Food and ambience

Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
CUISINES
European, British
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Highchairs Available
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
112
33
12
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
112
33
12
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sticky toffee pudding vegetable crisps olive bread mushroom risotto beef mains and desserts three course meal beautifully presented and very by the glass course option beautiful presentation an early dinner taster menu dark chocolate lovely atmosphere service was friendly and efficient pre cinema meal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited midweek before attending the Ritz cinema next door. We enjoyed every course and the complementary soup taster and delicious home made bread. The set menu is particularly good value and we went for the three courses at £19. Portion size was just adequate,...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Y5410IFmikep
CraigTyrrell, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So we went to the Loft in Belper for a meal and had heard how good the food was. So we ordered off the two courses for £25 menu. I ordered the Crab Ravioli and the Rump of Lamb. Firstly they brought out the wrong...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank LordAshStanley
CraigTyrrell, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you have marked us so low, I had a discussion with the front of house team about the mistake on the starter and I can only apologise that they made you feel that it was your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ate at The Loft on Wednesday evening and we really enjoyed it. The food was delicious and the service was also very good. We particularly enjoyed our main courses of salmon and beef. It is quite pricey but I don’t mind paying for a...More

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank JenniferK7613
CraigTyrrell, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind and honest review, we are always pleased to hear that our customers have enjoyed their experience with us and look forward to seeing you at The Loft again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Expensive food, ridiculously small portions of vegetables and to be honest- some of it was bland and boring. I will say presentation was good, and the staff polite but perhaps not quite as attentive as they ought to be.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Andrea G
CraigTyrrell, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied. I haven't received any feedback from the evening you dined, however, if you would like to contact me further so that I may be able to investigate further please do not...More

Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

Food was boring and very bland if you’re a vegetarian 3 choices thank goodness for nice pud to fill you upMore

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank lynnepen
CraigTyrrell, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed that you were not satisfied with your experience with us, we offer a varied vegetarian menu and normally are highly praised for the amount of choice available compared to other restaurants. As I haven’t received any feedback...More

Reviewed March 7, 2019 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable meal. The duck was cooked to perfection. Prices are reasonable for the quality of the food. Service is attentive without being intrusive.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank DeniseBelper
CraigTyrrell, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2019

Thank you for your kind review, the team and I are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the Loft and look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed February 28, 2019 via mobile

I can’t argue that the price at this place is great value for money, particularly the set menu, however on every dish I felt it fell a little short of something! The mushroom risotto was not well cooked as the rice had a little too...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 849bellal
CraigTyrrell, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2019

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed that you didn’t completely enjoy your experience with us this time. As you pointed out our set price menu offered every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evening is of very good value for money. We hope that you...More

Reviewed February 19, 2019

excellent food quality from the Tues-Thurs set dinner menu, excellent value at 16 for courses, or 19 for 3 but latter unnecessary as we enjoyed the complementary appetiser/sstaerter of a small glass of flavoursome parsnip soup with outstanding home-made pumpkin bread. Limited choice of 3...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Julie O
CraigTyrrell, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2019

Thank you for your kind and detailed review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon

Reviewed February 14, 2019

The restaurant is very small but the service and the quality of the food are excellent. The menu has some unusual options and everything is beautifully presented. We have been three times so far and will definitely return.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Laura R
CraigTyrrell, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2019

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your repeated visits to The Loft and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed February 10, 2019 via mobile

Had a really excellent early dinner before going next door to the Ritz Cinema (also a must!). Creative and tasty food, beautifully presented and served by a very attentive and friendly team. The highlight for me was an exceptional piece of duck, really tender and...More

Date of visit: February 2019
2  Thank Tonykedwards
CraigTyrrell, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2019

Thank you for your kind review. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your experience whilst dining with us and hope to see you again soon

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
The Lion Hotel
511 reviews
.22 miles away
Makeney Hall Hotel
1,239 reviews
1.78 miles away
Horsley Lodge
458 reviews
3.38 miles away
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
806 reviews
4.03 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 89 nearby restaurants
Beaurepaire Patisserie
176 reviews
.08 miles away
Nonno's Restaurant
597 reviews
.06 miles away
King Street Fish Bar
158 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 30 nearby attractions
Strutt's North Mill
124 reviews
.50 miles away
Belper River Gardens
242 reviews
.52 miles away
Chucklebutties Play and Party Centre
203 reviews
.46 miles away
Belper Park Local Nature Reserve
14 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
bigfozbelper_England
March 4, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from graham_swift1 | Reviewed this property |
Yes and they offer some nice wines
1
Vote
vwilc0x
October 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 157Benjy | Reviewed this property |
Remembered risotto and vegetable options were offered the day we visited..however as others have said, talk to their helpful staff on the telephone or call in, I am sure they will accommodate your requirements.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing