We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Galloping Horse

95 Main Road | High Harrington, Workington CA14 4NQ, England
+44 1946 328203
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good21%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“burger” (13 reviews)
“pudding” (12 reviews)
“homemade chips” (10 reviews)
Open Now
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
95 Main Road | High Harrington, Workington CA14 4NQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 238 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We called in here on speck when passing between whitehaven and workington. We hadn’t been in since the refurbishment. We were really surprised at how nice it was. Lovely atmosphere and tastefully decorated. The staff were all really friendly, helpful and attentive. The menu good...More

Thank FM100
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Been a few times but never reviewed it. Booking at a weekend is a msut as it is always busy which is a good sign. The food is lovely, the menu isn’t vast but that helps kee the food up to a high standard. Prices...More

Thank Jonny W
Colette M, Manager at Galloping Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Good Morning and Thank you for the review, I will pass your lovely comments onto our team and we do hope to see you again in the future. Regards Colette

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, fantastic food, massive portions, very reasonably priced. Also friendly staff, special mention for Sian a lovely friendly lady. Would highly recommend.

Thank kerrie h
Colette M, Manager at Galloping Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Good Morning and Thank you for the lovely review. I will pass all comments onto our team and we do hope to see you again in the future. Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Quite simply the best atmosphere of any pub , staff are fantastic and the pulled pork nachos are to die for and not forgetting the famous toffee vodka mmmmm 10 out of ten 👍👍👍👍👍

Thank Paul R
craig l, General Manager at Galloping Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thank you for your fantastic review. You have made our teams day. Thank you

Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

As well as the lovely food available here, I just feel the staff need a mention...they’re all so friendly and helpful! Nothings too much trouble. Definitely worth a visit - lots of choice at reasonable prices.

Thank Lanav79
craig l, General Manager at Galloping Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the lovely review, we are so pleased to hear this. Look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed September 8, 2018

Ate with 2 other people recently choices on the menu were varied and those we had tasted very good. We asked for one dish to be served with a different accompaniment (sauce) and they changed readily. Large portions - couldn't finish it all.

Thank Diane M
craig l, General Manager at Galloping Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thank you so much for your lovely review.

Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

We visited for a birthday meal but what a disappointment. The steak pie had seemingly been heated in a microwave as the pastry was tough as shoe leather but soggy. Also why is it that everyone receives a corner slice of pie? How many corners...More

Thank Pandapie1220
craig l, General Manager at Galloping Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

sorry to hear you didn't enjoy certain aspects of your visit. We will listen to your comments and try our very best to improve. We hope to see you again

Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Came here yesterday for a meal and I really enjoyed it. We were served by a young lady who was very pleasant and friendly I think she was called Kirsty. It was great that it was wheelchair friendly, managed with just my crutches but easy...More

Thank tastetheworld99
craig l, General Manager at Galloping Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thank you so much for your lovely review. We will also pass on your special prise to Kirsty. Thank you again

Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I called in for lunch on Saturday. The place was quite busy, and the atmosphere was good. We had intended to have salad, but the only option we were given was ham, which neither of us fancied. This might seem strange, but...More

Thank Chris W
craig l, General Manager at Galloping Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for the review, our pies are in actual fact made here every day. We are pleased that they are comparable to harrisons because they do make great pies also. We note your comments regarding service and we will look into this, take...More

Reviewed September 2, 2018

Just had a family Sunday lunch at the Galloper 4 generations enjoyed fantastic food and service. Many Thanks!

Thank TOM W
craig l, General Manager at Galloping Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

wow, thats a get review, thank you very much indeed

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Workington
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
734 reviews
1.48 miles away
The Sleepwell Inn
22 reviews
1.89 miles away
Hall Park Hotel
137 reviews
1.94 miles away
The Green Dragon Hotel
30 reviews
1.95 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel Restaurant
183 reviews
1.48 miles away
Oily's
531 reviews
1.69 miles away
Brewery House
355 reviews
.39 miles away
The Travellers Rest
474 reviews
1.55 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Planet Play
50 reviews
1.04 miles away
Workington Comets Speedway
23 reviews
2.54 miles away
Helena Thompson Museum
29 reviews
1.98 miles away
Gaiety Cinema
36 reviews
4.75 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Audrey J
November 3, 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Thomas B |
Yes dogs are allowed, but only in the Shannen's Bar side. To gain access please use the entrance on the northern side, not from the carpark.
0
Votes
chippymonger
December 13, 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Betsymay123 |
Hi, Sunday lunch is £7.95 pp and a sweet is £2.00 Always best to book as well!😊
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 95 Main Road | High Harrington, Workington CA14 4NQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Workington
  • Phone Number: +44 1946 328203
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing