We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Hale Village, Milnthorpe LA7 7BH, England
+44 15395 63203
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited recently on a weekend break nearby. We got a warm, friendly welcome & were directed to a table in the Bar area [they do also have a dining room], we hadn't booked but we were lucky it wasn't too busy it being early Thursday evening. The waitress took our drinks order & left us the Menus, after choosing, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnitaH123
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Got great welcome our border terrier is made more than welcome decided to try new menu my husband had gammon chop from menu i had stuffed chicken from the specials once again the food was really good cant believe the change from having a hand full of people in to being so busy keep up the good work

Helpful?
1 Thank Gill S
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for the second time since the pub has come under new management. The pub has a warm welcoming atmosphere and was busy even though it is a more transient type pub. There were a good selection of beers and wine was reasonably priced. Our disappointment was in the very limited food menu and the price as compared to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Oldhamman
Sam J, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review. Unfortunately we have to have a smaller menu than we would like due to the small kitchen we work out of. Also £7-£8 in our area is very cheap for a meal! we know of lots of pubs in the area with prices of over £12 per main meal. We have just updated the... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On our way back from Scotland travelling home, we decided to pull off the M6 at junction 36 and head down the A6 to look for somewhere to eat, and the first place we saw suitable was The Kings Arms. It's a fairly typical and traditional roadside pub, probably In need of a facelift but who cares if the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim K
Sam J, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the review. We really appreciate it. :) More 

Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in with kids for Sunday lunch. The kids went for the roast beef and I choose the sirloin. The kiddy size dinner was more than generous with spot on yorkshire and interesting veg. My steak was cooked right and was tender and tasty with a nice pepper sauce. The menu is a little limited but there are specials available.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Dinnergong
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Happened to come across this pub whilst staying at a local caravan park. The food is very nice. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
Over Kellet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Go in the Kings quite often to meet friends,socialize and have a few drinks.Have eaten there in the past and it has ranged from excellent(a few years ago )to horrid last year.However since Sam and Bryn have taken over it has completely transformed.On the spur of the moment on our last visit we decided to try the Sunday lunch.What a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great to get real chips and a whale of a fish. Sorry to see the reports of a loose dog in the bar but suspect this was a dog being given a treat from the friendly bar staff. I understand dogs are not allowed in the dining room and we certainly didn't have a problem.

Helpful?
3 Thank Claire S
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here one Sunday and really anted the new picnic tables they do... Unfortunately I was told that they don't do those at weekends, and especially not on a Sunday. Shame, as the Facebook advert doesn't state that. Alas, we stayed anyway. The pub itself is a bit tired and could do with a bit of a spruce up. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bay-Pixie
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Some of the girls and I from Bridge club passed through here on our way to watch Mamma Mia in Manchester, which was very good (trip advisor for the Palace Theatre going up very soon)! This little pub was our pit stop on our grand tour and it was just what we needed! The ladies and I enjoyed fish and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret_Gould

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hale Village, Milnthorpe LA7 7BH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Milnthorpe
  • Phone Number: +44 15395 63203
Description
The Kings Arms went under new management on the 26th February 2016 under the Jones family, we are slowly building up the reputation of the pub to ensure we can get it to the N0.1 in the area again.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Kings Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?