We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cu Restaurant

Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
75 Cronton Lane, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
0844 7368610
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 36: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

The food was great and the service was excellent While the menu isn't extensive, the meals were well cooked. The copper decor is eye catching and very impressive

Thank Joolz B
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

I've been here and seen the wires hanging from the ceiling cupboards upstairs. Food for functions obviously kept warm for a while. Not impressed.

Thank Heather H
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile

I'm a bit late writing this but better late than never. This was the second Christmas Day in succession for us. We chose it because it's local and very cheap (£49 per head for adults). The food was perfectly acceptable and we really enjoyed it. The service was great and the children received chocolate too. I have had better food... More 

Thank Fabitziana
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2016

Went there for a Christmas Dinner Carvery, paid £20 and ended up being served with a plated meal of appalling quality, meat disgraceful, vegetables awful, everything piled high on the plate, turkey accompaniments served with the leathery over cooked beef. Tried to complain and claim refund but turned down. Would never go there again and would strongly recommend others to... More 

2 Thank Bryan D
gmhillcrest, General Manager at Cu Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, however, I feel that you have missed some key facts. It is true that the planned carvery had to be changed to plated service on the day but this was advised to the organiser of your event and to compensate for this change we provided a complimentary round of drinks for your party... More 

Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

We went for works Christmas meal. The waitress was fantastic, no complaints there. The food was dreadful, the meat was so tough, the potatoes were anemic, the Yorkshire pud, you could smash a window with it and the gravy was like p**s water, one word 'awful' . The drinks are really really expensive.

Thank Collette2013
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

It was a very disappointing experience booked for a family celebration and it failed as soon as we arrived they weren't ready for us the service extremely slow and the food was extremely lacking one main had items missing one main was completely returned the side order of mixed veg was someone missing the mixed veg and even on the... More 

1 Thank Kay P
Uttoxeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015 via mobile

Well I had something to eat while staying at the hotel. Gammon, simple yes? No pineapple, fried egg instead. £8.95 seemed ok. So ariverd a small piece of gammon, egg yolk burst and cooked though, folded onto the plate as it had spread to much in the pan and frozen chips, not great ones, no peas tomato mushrooms nothing, English... More 

Thank Atardvark
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

All i have to say is the food was good it was affordable friendly staff and really good atmosphere in the bar you have darts or pool if you want to have a quick match before dinner but overall its a really good place to eat and sleep.

Thank Supersonicradio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

As the title says, simpe choices, good honest food. Reasonably priced too. Nice friendly relaxing atmosphere.

Thank HoofheartedWiltshire
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Lovely ambiance in the restaurant. The hotel restaurant is very comfortable and the service fantastic.

1 Thank Nicola628

Travelers who viewed Cu Restaurant also viewed

Widnes, Cheshire
Widnes, Cheshire

Been to Cu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$21 - $30
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Large groups, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75 Cronton Lane, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Widnes
  • Phone Number: 0844 7368610

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cu Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?