We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

About
The Vicarage; Freehouse & Rooms is a 17th Century Grade II listed country pub & hotel - essentially a restaurant with rooms. We are foodie-hub with a locally sourced menu - everything is driven by the gardeners, foragers, farmers and suppliers of Cheshire. The Vicarage takes its inspiration from the Cheshire countryside, utilising British produce and resources while championing eco-sustainability. The menus change depending on the seasons and what can be sourced locally. All our rooms echo our own country-boutique style ... but not overdone. We strip out any unnecessary nonsense and focus on everything that matters for a quality stay. A comfy bed, all have en-suite facilities, great decor, quality
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
924 results
Traveler rating
536
182
77
61
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
536
182
77
61
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones burger pudding chicken afternoon tea stayed here full english on arrival evening meal sunday lunch lovely place food was lovely from start to finish second to none conservatory abi reception
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice place and the staff are friendly. But not the place to stay if you want a decent night sleep. Unless you like peacocks outside your window squaking all night long. When we told the staff the response we got was ' nothing we can...do, they are our neighbours animals.'More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicarage Team, General Manager at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We're so sorry to hear you didn't have the greatest nights' sleep with us! Unfortunately our lovely country location does have some downsides and we're so sorry to hear our neighbours peacocks interrupted your sleep. We are stuck with our peacock neighbours but will certainly...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for one night to break up a long journey. Check in was quick and our room seemed to be perfectly fine. We then sat in the bed and the mattress was awful. Could feel the base of the bed as the mattress was...clearly old and totally done. We spoke to Nicola who had checked us in and asked if she could check the mattress herself and if there were any other rooms available. She was fab and moved us without fuss to another room which was comfortable. We ate in the bar and food was tasty.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicarage Team, General Manager at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us and that Nicola was able to assist in finding you a more comfortable room for the night. We will make sure she see's your kind words. We look forward...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my partner stayed at The Vicarage for the bank holiday weekend. We dined in the restaurant on the Friday night and it was fab! Such a great atmosphere, 241 drinks for happy hour was a bonus. We shared some small plates and pizza...and the food was delish. The team are so friendly and looked after us despite being obviously busy. A shout out to our server Fran who is so lovely! We'll definitely be back to stay again.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicarage Team, General Manager at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for such a wonderful review. The team are always grateful for a positive mention on TripAdvisor and I've sent your review onto Fran.We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed at the Vicarage and thoroughly enjoyed everything about it. We had an effortless check in with the lovely girl on the front desk and were then shown to our room. The room was nicely lit and lovely and warm. They had provided...us with some snacks and waters in the room which we thought was a nice touch. The bed was comfy and overall the room was perfect for what we wanted.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Cooper, Other at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it is fantastic to hear that you loved your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you soon to our rural escape!

Reviewed April 3, 2024 via mobile

We stayed in rooms 22 and 23 so can’t comment on the other rooms, but if you book one of these then you won’t be disappointed. It is dog friendly and the staff are friendly. We all enjoyed dinner and ordered Broccoli and Stilton Soup,...Nachos, Steak Pie, and Fish & Chips. All four of us enjoyed dinner and the service was good. Again we all enjoyed breakfast the next day. I was really concerned due to the negative reviews previously posted, but the manager ensured that we all enjoyed our stay. They also brought out a little cake for my dad’s birthday. I read that someone enjoyed the steak pie, so ordered this and it was nice. I am a travel agent so know how important reviews are. The staff really went above and beyond to look after us.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Cooper, Other at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, our team here at The Vicarage do truly love to go above and beyond to look after our loyal customers, We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your food and service and look forward to welcoming you soon!

Reviewed March 29, 2024

Me and my husband were celebrating our wedding Anniversary , we were staying three nights near by..The Vicarage looked nice so we thought e would try it. Nice decor. Starter poor , pate no taste, bread very crumbly no butter with it. My husband had...sausage and mash not upto standard, watery gravy, mash sloppy, sausage tuff. I had fish and chips that was nice no complaints about that. Will not return.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Cooper, Other at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Patricia for your feedback, we're saddened to hear this and would love to discuss this further if you could email enquiries@vicaragecheshire.co.uk we would love to hear from you.

Reviewed March 1, 2024

We were gifted an Afternoon Tea for Christmas, we arrived early, but we were seated instantly, the lovely decor was a delight. The staff where really lovely and helpful. The afternoon was brought out served on a lovely cake stand. The sandwiches were delicious, and...fresh. The scones were warm and again delicious. The selection of small cakes was just right. Cannot fault any part of it, just wish we lived nearer so we could visit more regularly, but we shall come again for lunch in the future.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Cooper, Other at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2024

Dear Heather Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Your kind words about your afternoon tea mean a lot. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards,

Reviewed February 24, 2024

I wanted to have a night off from cooking. My husband and I decided to go out for dinner and booked a table at the ‘Vicarage’ Holmes Chapel. We were greeted and shown to our table by a very pleasant and well mannered member of...staff (Lottie). Although it was ‘happy hour’ at the time of our arrival, we opted for a glass of Malbec from the wine list, For our main course we both chose the steak and ale pie with mash, mixed seasonal veg and gravy. Although the pies appeared to be a little ‘small’ they were really tasty and along with the perfectly cooked mixture of veg, the meal was very satisfying. So good we both cleared our plates!! Couldn’t resist one of the delicious desserts to share (as couldn’t have managed a whole one each!). So ordered the classic apple crumble (lovely)! Overall the service was excellent with such friendly staff! Lottie, our server was super. She was so pleasant, attentive and helpful with the items on the menu and wine list, The other member of staff to mention is ‘Cat’, also very pleasant, well mannered and efficient in serving our drinks.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Cooper, Other at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2024

Dear Christine Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Your kind words about your server and food mean a lot and we've shared to our wonderful team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best...More

Reviewed February 16, 2024

Dreary and cold like the food - never again. I read the restaurant is in financial difficulty and you can tell. Someone put them out of their misery as the experience was awful - food bang average and staff disinterestedMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Cooper, Other at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience, and we would like the opportunity to address your concerns directly. Could you please contact us on enquiries@vicaragecheshire.co.uk, so that we can discuss your experience further? Your input...More

Reviewed February 15, 2024 via mobile

The hotel and room itself was clean well decorated and all we needed for one night’s stay. They did offer room service which unfortunately I didn’t use but would have come in handy if we had stayed longer. All the staff we encountered were super...friendly and helpful which made me and my partner feel at ease. The decor around the hotel was beautiful and unique The hotel allows dogs in the bar and restaurant area which wasn’t a problem for us we actually met a lovely puppy 🥰 but this is to be mindful of if you don’t like dogs. We had a lovely nights sleep no noise and very peaceful. I was happy with the 11am check out usually it’s earlier at other hotels! Breakfast which was included in our stay was great it included a continental selection and one item each off the breakfast menu. Food was good we were happy with it. Want to give a special mention to the waitress we had for our evening meal which was a young blonde lady (forgot her name!). She was incredible, kind, bubbly and the establishment are lucky to have her. Also the night manager a man probably in his 30s he was very accommodating and we sparked a conversation with him again added to our lovely experience. We will be returning !!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Cooper, Other at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2024

Dear Judy, Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Your kind words about your server mean a lot and we've shared to our wonderful team. We're extremely dog friendly and we truly want all of our...More

Reviewed February 15, 2024

We were Looking forward to going however The meal was hugely disappointing and was overpriced and overrated. Poor vegetarian selection, puddingsMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Cooper, Other at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2024

Dear Darcey Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience, and we would like the opportunity to address your concerns directly. Could you please contact us on enquiries@vicaragecheshire.co.uk, so that we can discuss your experience further?...More

Reviewed January 29, 2024

Extremely disappointing after-noon tea experience, sandwiches excepted which were acceptable though minimal, despite appearances in this attached photo the scones were not pleasant to eat, the jam was more like cheap runny jelly & of poor quality the cream was not the usual traditional clotted...cream served with scones and the mini tarts were burnt on top accompanied by quite bitter and dry mini chocolate eclairs. The mini Eaton Mess was by the time eaten a sloppy disaster. No pot of tea was served or offered. At £21.50 per head this afternoon tea falls well below the standard expected and provided by many other establishments I have visited. Our party was originally booked for 9 adults and one child unfortunately only 8 adults and one child attended due to last-minute illness. No adjustment was made or offered by the establishment as a result 9 Afternoon Teas were served and charged for. They did not check the headcount or enquire about the missing guest. As a result of splitting the family bill, one guest ended up paying £43 for their afternoon tea as their partner did not attend. Service was also slow and felt rushed overstretched and not well managed. The bill was queried at the point of payment but not given any response comment by the staff member. Very disappointing lack of care and attention poor hospitality.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Cooper, Other at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience, and we would like the opportunity to address your concerns directly. Could you please contact us on enquiries@vicaragecheshire.co.uk, so that we can discuss your experience further? Your input...More

Reviewed January 27, 2024

I went with a small group of friends for lunch, we were all very disappointed with the small size of meals. We ordered from the large plates section of the menu, the hake £21 and the duck £22, the duck was 3 small slices, one...mushroom, 2 potato type wedges with sauce, the hake was small and very little potatoes or veg... The others ordered fish and chips from the classic menu at £17, again the fish was small with little pot of chips and tiny spoon of mushy peas. We use to come to the Vicarage before covid and the meals were better then, now the meals have shrunk and the prices have increased. There is an offer of 40% off on mains in January (except Saturday) but even though we went mid week for lunch we were at first refused to be given the offer. I know food prices have gone up especially post covid, but there are lots of other lovely pubs in the area that are more reasonably priced with much more nice tasting food.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Cooper, Other at The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience, and we would like the opportunity to address your concerns directly. Could you please contact us on enquiries@vicaragecheshire.co.uk, so that we can discuss your experience further? Your input...More

Reviewed January 27, 2024

Spur of the moment decision to go out for food, not a big eater but thoroughly the chicken burger, not to busy when arrived and serviced fairly quickly (bonus)

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 24, 2024 via mobile

Visited today with friends. The dining room staff were extremely nice and helpful it was the food that was very disappointing. First course three French Onion Soup tasted more like gravy swimming in fat in the top the small piece of bread with cheese on...top was swimming in the soup but burnt around the edges. It was awful. Now for the main course the burger was average but not hot French fries nearly cold. The fish and chips were awful a teaspoonful of mushy peas with fish and chips luke warm and the batter looked as if it had been cooked twice taste was awful. The pork was hard no real sauce sides were extra mash was not mashed properly hard bits the first delivery of chips was burnt the next was ok But arrived ten minutes after the pork We told the staff about all these complaints they apologised and took a small amount off the bill as a gesture which we appreciated We did not want a reduction in the bill we wanted a decent hot meal this certainly was not. We will never set foot in this place again and would not recommend it to anyone. I have given a 3 score because the restaurant staff were nice and helpful. If the score were just for the food it would be 1More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
449 reviews
.03 miles away
De Vere Cranage Estate
1,786 reviews
.57 miles away
Travelodge Middlewich
353 reviews
2.87 miles away
Chimney House Hotel
875 reviews
3.86 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
De Vere Cranage Estate
204 reviews
.56 miles away
Don Alberto
402 reviews
.41 miles away
The George & Dragon
678 reviews
.37 miles away
The Old Red Lion
426 reviews
.65 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Beer Emporium Bottle Bank
49 reviews
.43 miles away
Woodside Golf Club
14 reviews
1.35 miles away
Delta Force Paintball Holmes Chapel
146 reviews
1.87 miles away
Lovell Quinta Arboretum
26 reviews
2.73 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
janetfal
July 21, 2020|
Answer
Response from 577RichardF577 | Reviewed this property |
Yes.
1
Vote
johnburtonactor
June 23, 2019|
Answer
Response from | Property representative |
Hi Thanks for your enquiry. Checkin is from 2pm.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE VICARAGE FREEHOUSE & ROOMS, Holmes Chapel - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms

Yes, The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5