We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wheatsheaf

$
Bar, British, Pub, International
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
53 High Street | Only 6 miles from Alton Towers, Cheadle ST10 1AR, England
+44 1538 758310
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

ordered food from here recently and I found more than one frozen chips on my plate, they were clearly undercooked or not even cooked at all. I complained about it but the Waiter did nothing I won't be visiting here again.

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food and service has been very good since opening, unfortunately things now appear to be on the slide. Ordered the fish and chips. The fish was chewy and either poorly prepared or not fresh. There were hardly any peas and let's face it they don't cost a fortune. No slice of lemon was provided and to cap it all off... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank fireyfred
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We recently worked in Cheadle and visited this place on a daily basis. The staff were excellent allowing us to park the vans there all day. In return we had breakfast there on most mornings and had a drink after work Great value, great beer choice

Helpful?
Thank thefishersatlarge
CamillaGibson, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review

your great write-up is much appreciated cheers Steve More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2017

Called in for "Fish Friday" , food was very good. Drinks are excellent and very competitively priced. A year after my first review its good to see that the service remains really good, the place is always bustling a reflection of its popularity and great value for money.

Helpful?
2 Thank fireyfred
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2017 via mobile

Stopped off for lunch with friends during a weekend away, the staff were really accommodating getting us a table of 10, and the service was great. Facilities (outside area and toilets really clean and modern) Missed out on a rating of 5 as the tables weren't wiped down.

Helpful?
Thank Frequenthotelstayer1
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2017

You know exactly what you are going to get at Wetherspoons. The food is cheap and cheerful and often come with a free drink. Two main meals for about a tenner or less. I always enjoy the Steak pudding with chips and peas and the ham, eggs and chips. The breakfast takes some beating for the price. Could do with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon L
Draycott
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2017 via mobile

We just fancied a cheap and cheerful dinner and decided to call in the wheatsheaf in cheadle to sample the Thursday curry club, the pub was very busy but we found a spare table and I set off to the bar to order. I had the chicken vindaloo and my wife had the chicken balti, I had just returned to... More 

Helpful?
Thank John S
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2017 via mobile

We popped in here for a quick bite to eat when we were staying in the area. Actually really impressed with the food here. Lovely outside area too.

Helpful?
Thank Kira S
WheatsheafJ, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review

Hi thanks for taking the time to leave such a positive revue, its appreciated regards Steve More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2017

Drove over to the Wheatsheaf this evening from Stoke, Have been going there for nearly three years and generally have had an excellent experience, not so tonight. Steak so chewy that it was inedible, chicken melt congealed and salad limp and dry. Passed our complaint to a very pleasant if somewhat shy server and asked her to speak to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne C
WheatsheafJ, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review

Hi sorry you were disappointed with your meals, we had the usual kitchen team ( very experienced) on so no excuses on our part, although only you can tell us if a steak is not to your liking so the member of staff should have replaced your meals at the time, so I am sorry if this didn't happen. again... More 

England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

Welcoming and friendly pub with a great atmosphere. There is a small charge for parking but plenty of spaces.

Helpful?
Thank josiegrosie
WheatsheafJ, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to post the positive review, much appreciated, hope to see you again Steve More 

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

Cheadle, Staffordshire
Cheadle, Staffordshire
 
Cheadle, Staffordshire
 
Cheadle, Staffordshire
Cheadle, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$5 - $19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 53 High Street | Only 6 miles from Alton Towers, Cheadle ST10 1AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Cheadle
  • Phone Number: +44 1538 758310

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Wheatsheaf and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Wheatsheaf staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?