We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant @ Poplars

Harlington Road | Toddington, Poplars Nursery Garden Centre, Dunstable LU5 6HE, England
+44 1525 872017
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good25%
  • Average14%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
“sandwiches” (9 reviews)
“roast beef” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Seafood, International, Healthy, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Harlington Road | Toddington, Poplars Nursery Garden Centre, Dunstable LU5 6HE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I come to Poplars more and more often... nowadays I come at the start of each month to see what the monthly scone flavour is. This month's strawberries & Cream is second only to the cherry Bakewell scone in April. Where do you come up...More

Thank Williamschmidt
Reviewed June 17, 2018

After wandering around the Garden Centre and spending too much money on plants, we decided to have a Sunday Roast in the Restaurant at Poplars. I had Roast Beef, Yorkshire Pudding, Roast Potatoes, Peas and Carrots and also two large dolops of Horseradish sauce. I...More

Thank mark_hogan
Paul W, Manager at Restaurant @ Poplars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mark, sorry I didn't get to see you this time. I am glad the standards are as good in June as when I met you in December 2017. Take care and see you soon. Paul

Reviewed June 10, 2018

A very well laid out garden center with a very extensive choice of plants and gifts plus more. Excellent restaurant serving a wide range of foods and drinks.

1  Thank Seasonedtravellers99
Paul W, Manager at Restaurant @ Poplars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

dear Seasoned Traveller, as per your name you must be an expert so your opinion is very well received. Many thanks!

Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

Awful food rude staff too expensive. Teapot was dirty and chipped. Teabag cheap and nasty. I will never eat here again.More

Thank Andrea M
Paul W, Manager at Restaurant @ Poplars, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Andrea, I was very surprised to read your review today. I was here personally and was not made aware of any complaint. I would really like to understand what you didn't like about the food and any details of rude staff so that I can...More

Reviewed June 4, 2018

I went to Poplars for lunch on my Birthday last week. When I got there the staff at the restaurant had reserved and decorated a table for me, we were given a lovely bottle of non alcoholic bubbly and a slice of Birthday cake ....More

Thank emmajean2018
Paul W, Manager at Restaurant @ Poplars, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thank you so much for the kind review and so glad you had a great time too.

Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

We took my mum for afternoon tea this afternoon, and it was really lovely. A good variety of sandwiches and cakes, and excellent scones. The quality was very high, and the other cakes and pastries on display also looked delicious. What really made it special...More

Thank Ilovebunting
Paul W, Manager at Restaurant @ Poplars, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thanks for the review, I will pass on your lovely words to Alison. Regards

Reviewed May 17, 2018

Having become slightly jaded with the 'pensioners' lunches' at our usual garden centre eatery, we thought we'd try here instead. I had the roast beef carvery and I couldn't believe how tender the meat was – it almost melted in the mouth. It was a...More

Thank BrianGofLB
Paul W, Manager at Restaurant @ Poplars, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thanks Brian, its good to know that great quality is appreciated but we will get your next review up to 5 stars

Reviewed May 3, 2018 via mobile

This place is so good it's scary. Been getting better n better and now new adventure garden I just can't believe it

Thank Williamschmidt
Paul W, Manager at Restaurant @ Poplars, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

thanks William, no more to be said!

Reviewed April 20, 2018

Dropped in for breakfast- BIG selection and I really struggled to finish (eyes to big for my stomach- as usual). Service attentive, place clean, food honest without pretension; fried eggs nice and runny but not greasy, sausages big and very meaty & tasty, bacon so-so,...More

Thank NigelG4
Reviewed April 9, 2018

From the minute i spoke to staff at the restaurant i knew this was going to be a special afternoon tea!! This was a surprise for my daughter 21st birthday and what a lovely surprise it was. My daughter is fussy with her sandwiches but...More

Thank Lesley L
Paul W, Manager at Restaurant @ Poplars, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Lesley, we are so glad your daughter enjoyed it. We really love to go that extra mile and make special memories here. Alison Hill was the young lady who looked after you during your visit and organised the balloons etc whilst I delivered the take...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Dunstable
Travelodge Toddington M1 Southbound
277 reviews
1.00 miles away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
771 reviews
2.52 miles away
Redwings Lodge Dunstable
225 reviews
3.72 miles away
Dunstable Hockliffe
11 reviews
3.90 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Carpenters Arms
98 reviews
.87 miles away
The Fancott
468 reviews
1.47 miles away
The Chequers Pub & Kitchen
532 reviews
1.58 miles away
Star
484 reviews
2.33 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Old Sun Harlington
18 reviews
.86 miles away
Eversholt Swimming Pool
7 reviews
3.26 miles away
Barton Springs
27 reviews
3.84 miles away
Aqua Sana Woburn Forest
856 reviews
4.38 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chewitt0312
March 8, 2018|
Answer
Response from Paul W | Property representative |
Hi, I am not sure what you mean by your question. We offer a range of hot and cold meals from healthy and nutritional to sweet treats, from that it is a parental choice.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$5 - $15
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Harlington Road | Toddington, Poplars Nursery Garden Centre, Dunstable LU5 6HE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Dunstable
  • Phone Number: +44 1525 872017
  • E-mail
Description
Locally sourced, freshly cooked, home baked and fantastically served wonderful food within friendly and bright environment. From our daily Roast dinners to homemade soups, freshly rolled pizza to healthy salad bar, baguette to panini, cheesecake to carrot cake, scone to pavlova and jacket potato to milkshake you are guaranteed to find something to tantalize your taste buds.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing