We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$5 - $15
CUISINES
Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (960)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveler rating
270
41
10
5
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
270
41
10
5
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nachos free wifi beach club water port sand ship loungers
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed December 29, 2022

We booked an excursion months in advance. They are not in the port. You have to walk through a sketchy part of town to get to where it starts. From the beginning they told us we didn't pay and asked us to pay again multiple...times, threatening to abandon us on various parts of our excursion. Each employee had been prepped to lie about this until I showed them proof of payment. Then they tried to tell me the price had gone up. Then they told me they didn't have a boat for us even though they knew for months we were coming. The snorkel company was 2 guys. Phenomenal, safe, professional. The transportation and facilitation provided by ibiza would be illegal where we live based on the scams they tried to pull. The beach club was horrendous. You couldn't even see the sand. It was just shacks. Nothing like the pictures. We felt completely taken advantage of and were lied to the entire time. I would not ever book with them again.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IbIza S, Owner at Ibiza Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2023

We are a small town, not a city, we are not in the port, because this is the only private port in Mexico. I am very sorry for your paranoia of believing that in Mexico you are in danger. I am in charge of receiving...More

Reviewed October 1, 2022 via mobile

We took this excursion last week. First issue was that the directions of where to meet for this excursion were horrible. It just gave an address and we must have asked 15 people because we don't speak Spanish. We finally found this restaurant but it...was a different name than we were told. It's was also closed. After asking a cab driver sitting outside of this place he made a few calls and told the employee of the place we were already there. The excursion said to meet 45 min after ship debarks which would have been 9 ship time but also they were an hour behind ship time so we had to wait. When we finally arrived Ibiza Sunset, the staff there were very nice and attentive, however the "beach" consisted of about 30 ft wide, crammed with loungers with old pads. And each establishment had their own 30 ft of shore sectioned off with falling down nets into the water. Not a very good look!! The water Mas not clear and nice either. A lg group with reservations arrived and were grossed out, complaining loudly and refused to stay. I will give them credit where credit is due. They kept it clean and seemed to care though where upset the large group left. The nachos were OK and the drinks were large and pretty decent. The snorkeling tour: 2 locals in an older fishing boat came and took us out for about an hour. We had to wear lifejackwts though we are both excellent swimmers and snorkelers. We swam along the grassy areas for a long time with very little to see. Thinking he may have been looking for turtles but we saw none. He picked up a Conch shell from the bottom and pointed out a stingray. Then I noticed the start of the reef over to my left and thought, "yay@!finally a reef and hopefully something to see. 5 minutes later it was time to head back. The worst snorkel trip ever. Nothing to see. He should have taken us straight to the reef. Do not go on this trip for snorkeling, do not go for a pretty, scenic, or nice water. Do not go to relax, because a lot of locals pestering you to buy stuff. We ate our nachos and had a few drinks and left.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IbIza S, Guest Relations Manager at Ibiza Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2022

We are very sorry that your experience was not as you expected. The beach and its size is a natural cause. the net that is used is to avoid the great problem of sargassum. The snorkel tour should always use a life jacket, since it...More

Reviewed July 3, 2022

We took a large group here, while it was supposed to be all inclusive and you paid a hefty price for it, they hardly brought you anything so you burned a ton of time with getting very little for your money. They had nets up,...so you couldn't get past waist high hot gross water. The area of the beach is tiny that you have, seating is super uncomfortable and is just pallets with like an inch of foam on them. Then there are really uncomfortable wooden box type seats that are hot because they let no air in. There wasn't near enough loungers for how many people were there. The food was gross. The peddlers came up every couple of minutes and just kept circling around so you had no peace on this smelly beach anyway. The area is dirty. There is only free wifi if you are standing in their gross restaurant area and don't get me started on the foul bathrooms that don't have seats on the toilets even. This is a massive waste of money for what you get. Terribly tiny area of the beach, jam packed with uncomfortable seating, bad service, gross food, and disgusting smell.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IbIza S, Guest Relations Manager at Ibiza Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2022

Hello, apparently everything was disgusting on your visit, I'm so sorry that life seems that way to you. We wish you a good life and better trips

Reviewed December 19, 2020 via mobile

Amazing Siamese cat. Jamaica shrimp was fabulous. Rolls are unique and flavorful. Enjoyed our drinks. Steak was ok potatoes were better. Scenery was nice very quite. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 21, 2020

The night we visited this restaurant, there was a bonfire on the beach making an exceptional ambiance. The service of the waiter Dani was incredible and the recommendations of the chef Jackie, make this place something special

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 1, 2020

Pre booked this before we went. 2 adults and 2 teens. As the rules on the boat for drinking were over 21, we booked a couple of beach all inc for our stops. Got here via Taxi, paid $20 - which was clearly way over...the top, as the return journey was $8. Was lovely and quiet, got a great spot on the beach and enjoyed a few hours of cocktails and yummy food. Guacamole was the best I have ever had and was worth paying a bit extra. Some Wifi, up near the bar/hut. Was good, and would go again.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 14, 2020

We were charmed to eat here by the lovely chef, who came out to give us recommendations. We were seated at a table outside but there are maaaany options, you can get comfortable in one of their chairs or hammocks or sit inside the restaurant....The kids were entertained by the hammocks and watching the dogs play. The staff made us feel so welcome and cared for throughout our stay. And of course, the food was DELICIOUS and beautifully served. All and all, this is the number one choice for dining in Mahahual!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 12, 2020 via mobile

The food was extremely good and prepared well. Try the shrimp rolls! Our server Manuel was great! We actually ate here twice on our 10 day trip, it was that good.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 11, 2020 via mobile

We have been around Mahahual for 14 years now and I had never eaten at this restaurant. We get into such a rut! Tonight our friends and m husband and I did a restaurant “crawl.” We went to three places that we had never eaten...and asked for their one favorite dish. Well, the Seafood Stuffed Pineapple was DELISH! Service was excellent and it is right on the ocean. Beautiful evening. I will add pictures of the menu and the pineapple dish. You cannot go wrong here!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 11, 2020 via mobile

Best fish tacos I ever had! Super friendly service too, the most welcoming on the beachside strip. QThanks so much you guys!

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 11, 2020

“Fantastic Cruise excursion, Great Mexican food. Fun atmosphere. Reasonable prices. we paid $49 for all you can drink the best mango margarita ever!

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 10, 2020

I would like to talk to you about my experience at ibiza sunset costa maya was pleasant for the treatment of the waiters but the package they offer in the confirmation they give you is one in which they offer you like 10 different dishes...when you arrive at the restaurant they only offer you 3 dishes and we ask Guacamole for the typical of eating a guacamole here and it is not avocado is mass the truth I do not recommend or hire activities or eat there the town is beautiful but Ibiza and its packages are fatalMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 26, 2020

good food and good drinks great view of the beach Daniel Javier was very helpful right next to the beach

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 18, 2020

I love the service here! Manuel was my waiter and he was really positive and helpful. Even gave me a free shot! I would 10 outta 10 recommend this spot. I had a great time.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 15, 2020

Good tequila passing by for drinks and Manuel took us in and gave us good tequila. Would definetly recommend this place

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel El Caballo Blanco
258 reviews
.03 miles away
Hotel Boutique Pachamama
235 reviews
.03 miles away
Matan Kaan by GuruHotel
466 reviews
.06 miles away
Hotel Machos Mahahual
6 reviews
.17 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
La Chilangaloense Beach Club
410 reviews
.03 miles away
Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill
762 reviews
.11 miles away
Maramao
324 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Pez Quadro Beach Club
450 reviews
.14 miles away
Playa Mahahual
1,609 reviews
.05 miles away
Yaya Beach
371 reviews
.02 miles away
Malecon
154 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Camper156112
January 2, 2020|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from chrisjonesatty26 | Reviewed this property |
No. But they kept our backpack behind the bar for safekeeping. We did not have any problems. Everything was there when we got back.
0
Votes
MisterBill99
December 29, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from jackikingery | Reviewed this property |
They take credit cards. Your credit card company will do the conversion so you don't need to worry about that. When you get off the cruise ship you need to walk thru the port shops and watch for signs that say taxi, then you... More
2
Votes
640donnaj
February 2, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 960donnad | Reviewed this property |
You don’t need a beach pass on this strip. All the restaurants offer free beach access
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

IBIZA SUNSET, Mahahual - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ibiza Sunset

Yes, Ibiza Sunset offers takeout services.

Ibiza Sunset is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5