We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

La Maison du Bootlegger

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
110, Rang du Ruisseau-des-Frenes, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2C8, Canada
+1 418-439-3711
Website
Today
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

Key facts about my night last night: -Amazing live show, playing all the classics -Great company and fellow guest who were all there to have a good time. I was solo (free night on a business trip) and they put me at a table with super fun and welcoming people. -THE BEST STEAK OF MY LIFE, and I eat lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank John Joseph G
Nicolas B, General Manager at La Maison du Bootlegger, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your kind words. Joey is always having a blast playing the rock & roll classics. It's like his voice is made for this kind of music. The owner will be pleased to hear your comment on the steak because she cares a lot about the quality of the meat we serve. See you next time !... More 

Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

Drive to this fantastic quirky restaurant .... It was one of the best nights of our holiday. Expect to be one of the few non-French speaking people but sharing a table, eating great food, touring the hidden bootlegger house and having the best laugh with dancing ... And other events that I wouldn't tell you in advance because it would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liney1966
Nicolas B, General Manager at La Maison du Bootlegger, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. With the Canadian dollar currently going down, we're starting to have a lot more non-French speaking people from other countries, so maybe next time you'll have more people to talk to in English ! :) More 

Bathurst, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

It's my second time around at this place and what can I say....the staff is just amazing. They will go out of their way to please you and entertain you. The atmosphere is just perfect....from a great supper...to staff that takes the time to talk to you an explain every detail about this amazing house of bootleggers. I will definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank GOWINE
Nicolas B, General Manager at La Maison du Bootlegger, responded to this review

Hi Sylvie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your first time with us ! You know what they say, one night is never enough :) More 

Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015 via mobile

I found this joint on trip advisor and decided to surprise my boyfriend who knew nothing about it before we arrived. We stayed at their accommodations, in a room with a beautiful bathtub in the center,( the 2 ladies working the next morning were absolute sweethearts) and got shuttle to the resto by this awesome dude with a lots of... More 

Helpful?
Thank CharleyMontreal
Nicolas B, General Manager at La Maison du Bootlegger, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. This awesome dude with a lot of character is Johnny, our very own sheriff ! As you say, when the crowd is not the best, the staff always take it as an opportunity to enjoy themselves and the guests even more :) More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 via mobile

Great food great service!! Thx for the night bootleggers! A unique expérience of rock and roll and grill ! ............

Helpful?
Thank michaellK2949PD
nikola6977, General Manager at La Maison du Bootlegger, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for an awesome review!! Our clientele makes the difference so thanks for being there!! Cheers, Nick Bouchard More 

Repentigny, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015 via mobile

Went for dinner, without reservations or expectations. We were pleasantly suprised. The food was perfect. The service was excellent. The ambiance and music was rock'n & roll'n all night long! The kids had a blast (14 and 16) and were surprised to know every tune! We had a great time too and were energized from the great atmosphere. The cheesecake... More 

Helpful?
Thank NatashaTHamel
nikola6977, General Manager at La Maison du Bootlegger, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you and the entire family enjoyed themselves. The cheesecake is to die for. :) Cheers, Nick Bouchard More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

Our family of 4 adults found this place on Trip Advisor and decided to give it go! It was absolutely brilliant! We were given a great welcome by the staff and although on that night we were the only English speaking family , it didn't matter a jot, as they made it so easy to mix in with e everyone!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mick B
nikola6977, General Manager at La Maison du Bootlegger, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for a great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our very unique building and concept. Rock On!! Cheers, Nick Bouchard More 

Montreal,QC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015 via mobile

We went there on a rainy day, and apparently, we took them by surprise! It was unfortunately understaffed for the amount of people who showed up. We were there for over 2h30 with 4 young children who behaved themselves, thank goodness! The problem was more with our waitress who seemed annoyed by the attendance. She was not very quick at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rolipop
JoBras, Owner at La Maison du Bootlegger, responded to this review

All I can answer to your comment is that I am so very sorry . . . yes we were understaffed . . . but as you say it is not an excuse for a bad service . . . we did have a longer delay than normal but if the waitress would of been attentive and smiling (which is... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

We sent an email to see if we could book dinner and a guided tour however it was out of season and closed (opened a week later). However we were pleasantly surprised to receive an email from Nikola (the Manager) who invited us to come out and he would open and give us a personal tour. We arrived and were... More 

Helpful?
Thank THEWOODIES
nikola6977, General Manager at La Maison du Bootlegger, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It was a great pleasure to meet you and explain a bit of our history. Anytime you are back in the area please give me a call. Cheers, Nikola Bouchard More 

North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015 via mobile

Previous reviews say pretty much everything you need to know about this place, (except for the negative ones), I would just like to reiterate, that what was said, was true. Go with the intention to party! It is a totally unique, memorable, ruckus, good time. Lynn our server was excellent and patient with us even though we had a language... More 

Helpful?
Thank I-go-out
JoBras, Front Office Manager at La Maison du Bootlegger, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Hope to see you again at La Maison du Bootlegger Thank you costumer.. YOU ROCK!!! Olivier - Front Office Manager More 

Travelers who viewed La Maison du Bootlegger also viewed

 

Been to La Maison du Bootlegger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Steakhouse
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 110, Rang du Ruisseau-des-Frenes, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2C8, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Quebec  >  La Malbaie
  • Phone Number: +1 418-439-3711

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of La Maison du Bootlegger and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
Montreal, Canada

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from La Maison du Bootlegger staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?