We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room

146 Caribou Road, Port aux Basques, Newfoundland and Labrador A0M 1C0, Canada
+1 800-563-4779
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good23%
  • Average30%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible10%
Travelers talk about
“cod tongues” (6 reviews)
“omelet” (2 reviews)
“coleslaw” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Canadian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
146 Caribou Road, Port aux Basques, Newfoundland and Labrador A0M 1C0, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

When one arrives at Port aux Basques and needs to spend a night in a hotel, there is none better than the St Christopher and it's restaurant "The Captain." The breakfast was great as so was the service.

Thank virgbrown
Stella P, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for staying with us and eating at "The Captain's Dining Room". We appreciate the review!!

Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

Just finished a Cod au Gratin at the hotel’s restaurant. Delicious! Lots of cod in this dish and the serving size is perfect. I’m a Newfoundlander born and bred and I am fussy about my cod fish. Cheese was bubbling hot on top, the white...More

Thank Mandy R
Chris1027, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Thank you for eating at The Captain's Room, St. Christopher's Hotel. Glad you enjoyed the Cod au Gratin, we appreciate the feedback!!

Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

Worst breakfast and service ever. Coffee was garbage. Asked three times for a glass of water. Could smell fish cakes from across room. Wish there was a rating lower than 1. All other patrons complaining.

Thank Davidarchie
Chris1027, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Thank you for the review. My apologies for the lack of service. Most dining room patrons like the coffee. I will be looking into the issues in your review. We work hard to ensure guest enjoy their stay and dining experience.

Reviewed October 18, 2017

We ate here prior to catching ferry back to Nova Scotia. One huge bonus was a spectacular sunset out the windows that went on and on changing the cloud bottoms above from orange to scarlet to deep purple gray. The portions were generous and very...More

Thank dickanddoug
Chris1027, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Thank you for the feedback. When you describe the sunset from the Dining Room that way, It makes one realize a sunset where ever is special even thought it overlooks the mountains and not the Ocean which is an amazing view from the front of...More

Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

I like it when I stay at a hotel and their prices are not ridiculously high like Toronto hotels. For dinner I had the cod with vegetables and mashed potatoes. The veggies turned out to be coleslaw. The cod was excellent and it was a...More

Thank Larry L
Chris1027, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Thank you for staying at St Christopher's Hotel. Glad you enjoyed the Dining Room food. We appreciate the feedback!!

Reviewed September 19, 2017

This restaurant is located St Christopher’s Hotel. It has ample parking, bright and clean ambiance, very complete menu which includes a complete selection of seafood, good appetizers and a varied wine list. I was not really hungry so decided on the Squid and this was...More

Thank David B
Chris1027, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Thank you for staying at St. Christopher's Hotel. Glad to hear you enjoyed the Calamari and the hotel ambience, we appreciate the feedback!!

Reviewed September 4, 2017

Had our last dinner before catching morning ferry and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Great food, good service, reasonable cost.

Thank 760arlenea
Chris1027, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Thank you for staying at St Christopher's Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the food and the service. We appreciate the feedback.

Reviewed July 29, 2017

We ate twice at this place, dinner one night, and breakfast two weeks later. The food for both dinner and breakfast was good, not outstanding, but good...well prepared and presented. The service, however, was terribly slow for both meals. The restaurant was less than 20%...More

Thank A6563EDsteveh
Chris1027, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Thank you for staying at St Christopher's Hotel. Glad you enjoyed the food. Sorry to hear that the service wasn't up to par. We appreciate the feedback!!

Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile

We are on a two week Motorcycle trip across Newfoundland and Nova Scotia. We have eaten at many local restaurants. This place looks nice but had the worst food. Our server was very nice and attentive. The food was awful....three bowls of barely warm chowder...More

Thank Tom C
Chris1027, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Thank you for the feedback!! We take all constructive criticism seriously. With regards to your comments the mashed potato, stuffing are house made. The Seafood platter gives you the.option of deep fried shrimp and scallop or sauteed. If you didn't specify then you did receive...More

Reviewed July 15, 2017

The place is not fancy, but we were greeted with a smile and great service. I had an omelet and my husband had eggs benedict. They were well cooked, tasty, and satisfying.

Thank CdninLoudoun
Chris1027, General Manager at St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Thank you for staying at St Christopher's Hotel. Glad you enjoyed your breakfast and recieved excellent service. We appreciate the feedback!!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Port aux Basques Hotels
St. Christopher's Hotel
212 reviews
.00 miles away
Hotel Port aux Basques
133 reviews
1.37 miles away
MacLellan Inn
57 reviews
1.93 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
1 Ton Pub & Grill
11 reviews
.11 miles away
Tai Hong Restaurant
14 reviews
.63 miles away
Harbour Restaurant
69 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Port aux Basques Marine Excursions Inc.
14 reviews
.21 miles away
The Gravels
5 reviews
.44 miles away
Shudamunks Adventure Tours
7 reviews
.49 miles away
Scott's Cove Park/Harbour Boardwalk
12 reviews
.09 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from St. Christopher's Hotel The Captain's Room staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$9 - $20
Cuisine
Canadian
Meals
Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 146 Caribou Road, Port aux Basques, Newfoundland and Labrador A0M 1C0, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Newfoundland and Labrador  >  Newfoundland  >  Port aux Basques
  • Phone Number: +1 800-563-4779
  • E-mail
Description
The Captain’s Room is open to serve you breakfast, lunch and dinner. Room service is available from 7:00 a.m. until closing. Room service menus are provided in your suite. Below we have a list of our menus. The air-conditioned dining room is a friendly place to dine when travelling the beautiful South West Coast. The large dining room is nautically adorned. In addition to daily specials and home-cooked Newfoundland dishes, our innovative menu offers a fine selection of fresh seafood, the best of the Captain's catch.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;