We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Thatch Inn

Cheriton Bishop EX6 6JH, England
+44 1647 24204
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good28%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
Open Now
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Cheriton Bishop EX6 6JH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 298 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2018

We have driven past this place so many times but decided to go there last night for a birthday meal for my mum. I so wished we had stopped there before. What a delightful place. Run by the owners the atmosphere is friendly and efficient...More

Thank AMcG2014
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely meal with family on Friday evening, thank you. The service was great and the food delicious - with a special mention to the yummy crumble!

1  Thank catemmmett
Reviewed November 24, 2017

This is one of the coziest pubs to visit. The wood stove is great on a cold night and the food is amazing and freshly cooked. The service is great and so are so owners. This pub is a must

Thank C_L_Kenilworth
Lance M, Owner at The Old Thatch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to make such kind comments. It's great to know the effort is worthwhile.

Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile

Visited this friendly accommodating pub for my 60th Birthday supper🍾🍸 I found it on Google as needed somewhere between Cornwall and Devon for us to meet. They could not have been more helpful as I was unsure of numbers etc but there were loads of...More

1  Thank Sarah T
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

We have eaten here a number of times now and every time we just can't get enough of there food. It's beautiful. Good company and every dish is well prepared, tasty and much more. Well done guys. Can't wait for our next dish!

Thank dlsheppard
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile

We stopped here purely by chance as the cafe we normally stop at was closed due to a burst water main. They were doing the very best they could do with the influx. The food was excellent and so was the company.

Thank Hilary P
Management response:Responded September 16, 2017

Hi Hilary, Many thanks for your kind words. Yes a very busy day indeed but we just managed to stay afloat. Kind Regards Lance

Reviewed September 11, 2017

We pulled in for lunch on Friday 8 September to break our journey to Cornwall. Restaurant was very busy but we found a seat in the bar. There's not a massive choice on the Menu, but we only wanted basic pub food, so ordered ham,...More

Thank lindalowe70
Reviewed September 8, 2017

Very nice looking roadside thatched pub, inside quite plain. Disappointed with specials board, as half items were marked, SOLD OUT. My Chowder was reasonable, but my wife's salad was truly pathetic, most side salads we have had are better than this very poor withered main...More

3  Thank Mike B
Management response:Responded September 9, 2017

Hi Mike, I am so sorry that you had such a poor experience at the Old Thatch. As you suggest I suspect that we were on an unacceptable 'off' day, although I don't know when you came in as my staff are not aware of...More

Reviewed September 4, 2017

A good test of a restaurant is when they have to cater for a large gathering. We had a pre-wedding family meal and the food and service was excellent. The pub was also very busy, so well done to them. The next day they provided...More

Thank Bodilly3
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

Wanted to support our local pub. Garden was a great start, very nice and child friendly. Food was quite expensive for pub so had good expectations. My burger was very dry and had no salad with it, this is stated on the menu. No tomato...More

7  Thank Skellington V
Nearby HotelsSee all Cheriton Bishop Hotels
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
256 reviews
3.88 miles away
Mill End Hotel
554 reviews
4.47 miles away
The Woodforde
3 reviews
4.48 miles away
The White Hart Hotel
320 reviews
4.51 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Kings Arms
309 reviews
2.58 miles away
Old Inn
89 reviews
2.77 miles away
The Gateway Tea Room & Cafe
145 reviews
4.57 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Castle Drogo
759 reviews
3.72 miles away
Miniature Pony Centre
393 reviews
4.48 miles away
Moretonhampstead Motor Museum
144 reviews
4.62 miles away
Crackshots Paintball & Laser Tag
14 reviews
4.96 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sam G
October 10, 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from G_Man619 | Reviewed this property |
Drove past a couple of weeks ago. Not looking busy so should get in easy enough.
Isabella J
August 1, 2017|
Response from SimoneMarshall | Property representative |
WE are dog friendly inside and outside. We do request that dogs do not go in the flower beds. There is no dress code. Booking is recommended.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
$6 - $21
Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Open Hours
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cheriton Bishop EX6 6JH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Cheriton Bishop
  • Phone Number: +44 1647 24204
  • E-mail
A classic thatched country pub and restaurant, the Old Thatch Inn is in Cheriton Bishop, just off the A30, halfway between Exeter and Okehampton. Our basic menu is usually supplemented by a wide range of specials and utilises local produce wherever practical.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing