We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$5 - $20
CUISINES
American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
85
56
22
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
85
56
22
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews biscuits hush puppies ribs chicken collard greens beef tips field peas mac and cheese steak porkchop off the highway fast food sides cabbage antiques phone takeout
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

I caught them off guard, probably between their lunch crowd and the start of their dinner business. I ended up just ordering the salad bar and soup combo. I didn't like either of their soups. The vegetable soup had lots of different veggies, but I...didn't see or taste any meat, so the soup had little distinctive flavor. The broccoli/cheese soup was okay, but the broccoli had been cooked a bit too long. The best part of the salad bar would probably be the diced raw strawberries. Nothing special about any of the other ingredients, but it wasn't a bad or flavorless salad.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 2, 2022

I have been to this place many times and usually my experiences have been fine. I did have a bad experience a few months ago when I had to wait for 45 minutes to get acknowledged, while others came in and got their food before...we were even acknowledged. I sent an email to the restaurant, but heard no response. I guess they didn't care, so I am coming here to tell what happened two evenings ago. I ordered the hamburger steak asking for gravy only, no onions. They will bring out a basket of hush puppies and biscuits if you ask. Well, this time, there was no basket, but just a few on a small plate. The hush puppies were so hard, they were like eating pork skins. The biscuits were hard and crumbly too. The biscuits are usually very good, so not sure what happened here. I got my steak, and after eating some of it, I could tell there were onions in it. I specifically asked for no onions. I also ordered fries as a side, and the person who burnt the hush puppies must have also cooked my fries because they were so overcooked I could not eat them. Our waitress asked if we wanted refills on our drinks quickly after we started eating, and we said okay, not knowing if we would see her again when we really did need refills. So, the drinks got very watery by the time we needed the refill. And then she brought us the check because she said she was getting ready to leave, so I guess that was reason she went ahead and refilled our drinks. Overall the food was just plain terrible and I had that nasty onion taste in my mouth for the rest of the night, almost making me sick. All this for over $16. I'm not going back. And obviously they don't care, so instead of reaching out to them again, I am coming on here to warn people about what they get at this establishment.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wendy P, Marketing at McLean's OLE Time Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2022

As we read your comments, as always, our first question is "Did you ask to speak with our manager while here in our restaurant so that he/she could address your issues?" We assume not since you did not say that here, just complained about multiple...More

Reviewed March 31, 2022

Stopped in as we were traveling Hwy 64 back from the Outer Banks. Had read mixed reviews but wanted something different and decided to give it a try. The food was so-so and the service was sadly lacking. Definitely not worth the detour off the...main drag.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
McLean's Ole TimeCafe, Guest Relations Manager at McLean's OLE Time Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2022

Tom, We are sorry to read your comments. Did you ask to speak with our manager while here to remedy any food or service issues for you while under our roof? We always want any guest to do that to give us an opportunity to...More

Reviewed February 6, 2022 via mobile

It was horrible! I ordered a “Cheeseburger and Fried. Hubby ordered the Frisco Chicken over rice. My parent ordered salads. The 2 salads were fine. The other 2 meals were COLD! I grabbed the fries and had a fist full when showing the waitress how...cold they were. After a long wait I can’t believe the food was this bad. My husband refuses to send food back at any restaurant. So, he ate cold food and I sent mine back and asked could they make a hot grilled cheese sandwich!!? My parents are in their 80’s and like going here-for the local conversation it’s definitely not for the food. A man to the right of us heard our conversation and said his sides were cold-showed the bowls and they were full- he said he was not going to eat it. I asked my husband to walk my parents out and I went to the register. I told them it has been 3 times in a row with “food” issues. She offered me a 2.00 discount. Are you kidding me? Don’t waste your time if you want good food. Waitress staff has always been wonderful but they spend a lot of time apologizing! Do Not Recommend!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Scott B, Owner at McLean's OLE Time Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2022

Hi Denise, Sorry for the delayed response as we just saw your review here. Since we also got this same review from you on Google, hopefully you responded to the offer we gave you there to contact our manager. In case not, here is that...More

Reviewed December 11, 2021

Arrived at 7:30 pm and ordered two simple dinners-a hamburger steak and sides and a vegetable plate. By 8:00 we still had no food and the server came to tell us they ran out of green beans. They had brought nothing but drinks while we...waited-not even a plate of biscuits. We left with no dinner and had to settle for fast food. A real shame- McClean’s used to be good.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 23, 2021

This place seems to be improving each time we visit. Now, it is a regular for after church service. I have become addicted to their beef tips on rice, and my wife has become addicted to the ribs. Give wanted to give out a shout...to this place that continues to do better. If there was ever a negative: No one in my family cares for their biscuits.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 7, 2021

Bad experience, Arrived at 1155 on July 7, 2021. I did not receive my order until 1237. I complained and waitress told me they had a private outing in another room. All we had my wife had a salad bar and I had chicken strips....My food was piled sloppily onto plate with four very small chicken strips for a large order. PIled high with french frys like trying to replace of any chicken available. No refills made to the table and no one asking us what we thought. I told waitress and no manager showed up. Not offered for any deductions on my check. It will be a long time before I come back here.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 4, 2021 via mobile

We have visited here several times in the past prior to COVID and it was good. This latest visit was a bit disappointing. Just was not up to their prior quality. Hope they get it back together again.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 22, 2021

I am (was) a regular very satisfied customer for months now. The breakfast grits were absolutely delicious. In fact, when I wanted grits I would get into my car and drive all the way up to the restaurant to get them. However, my last 2...takeout orders were just yellow with cheese. At first, because I have such great regard for the staff, I just ate them. The second time I decided to call back and inquire about the cheese in the grits. The individual answering the phone repeatedly argued that "all of our grits has cheese" . I never knew that before. I knew they tasted different but they were still a normal grit color. These were yellow as cheese itself. Not willing to loose my favorite breakfast grit location, I requested to speak with a manager. After speaking just a few words I noticed that she said in a very irritated voice, "All our grits got cheese in them" with the same accent as the first individual. So I acknowledged the fact that "they have cheese, but these are yellow with cheese" She restated it and I finally said, "Well I just will not eat there" at which point she snapped, "fine". Then I finished my statement just before she slammed the phone down ......."And I'll just tell others". So sad because it really is a nice place. Very quite. Nice friendly staff. This was my first bad experience. I now open a pack of instant grits, put about 1/4 slice of cheese in it, and get that same exact original taste that I once enjoyed from there. Little or no salt needed. Best wishes and blessings to the establishmentMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 23, 2021 via mobile

It was a couple of miles off the highway and we had to wait about 15 minutes, but it was totally worth it! I had fried porkchop with cabbage and mac and cheese. He had meatloaf with mashed potatoes and field peas. Served with biscuits...and cornbread. It was all delicious. We didn't have dessert but the options looked amazing. I'm sure we'll stop here again when in the area.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Scott B, General Manager at McLean's OLE Time Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2021

Thank you so much for those kind words. We're so glad you ventured just a little bit off the highway once here in Zebulon over to our restaurant. Do drop by again next time you're passing through.

Reviewed February 26, 2021

Our first visit was a pleasant experience. The decor is very rustic with the walls covered with art work, memorabilia, and antiques. Even a canoe is hanging on a wall. We had the country steak special and Nanna's chicken salad. Both were very good. The...hush puppies and rolls were a special treat. the collard greens were very good. The prices and excellent on everything. The service was very friendly, fast, and efficient. We recommend McLean's and will definitely return on our next visit to Zebulon.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 29, 2020

This restaurant is rather large and spacious inside. Tables are spaced and all staff are masked. We had lunch specials and iced tea. My wife had the buffalo chicken lunch with 2 sides. I had the grilled chicken breast and 2 sides (actually ordered the...pork chops and got chicken instead, my second choice). The most excellent waitress brought biscuits and hush puppies. The lunch was well prepared, hot and tasty. Biscuits were pretty good. Hush[puppies were better. Not all guests wore masks as posted. Overall I would return. My bill for the both of us was 25.50 plus tip.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 5, 2020 via mobile

Everyone enjoyed my sister in law's birthday! Ribs were tender, porkchop tasty, shrimp and catfish all great. Collards were only thing not seasoned well. All in all good meal.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 12, 2020

Had a fabulous breakfast at McLean's OLE Time Cafe. Breakfast was so good that we returned for dinner that same evening. Breakfast consisted of yummy blueberry pancakes with perfectly cooked bacon. Our server was excellent even though the restaurant was busy for a Friday morning....There were 4 of us for breakfast. We met up with 4 other family members and returned for dinner, total of 8. We ordered 2 baskets of hush puppies along with our meals. Everyone was satisfied and happy with their order. The six year old ate a plate of spaghetti, one strand at a time.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 13, 2020 via mobile

Best place to eat number 1 restaurant in every way. Always fresh fast service best tasting food if u want a home cooked meal there is only 1 place to go in town and that is Mcleans Ole Time Cafe

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Country Hearth Inn Knightdale Raleigh
51 reviews
8.56 miles away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knightdale Raleigh
291 reviews
9.38 miles away
Quality Inn Raleigh Near Walnut Creek Amphitheatre
70 reviews
13.21 miles away
Comfort Suites Raleigh Walnut Creek
114 reviews
13.88 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Southland Steakhouse
43 reviews
.87 miles away
Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Q
52 reviews
.82 miles away
Red Snapper Grill
20 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Five County Stadium
78 reviews
2.96 miles away
Wendell General Store
14 reviews
3.82 miles away
Zebulon Community Park
8 reviews
.84 miles away
Robertson Millpond Preserve
12 reviews
4.97 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
victoria s
October 25, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mcleansoletimecafe | Property representative |
We have a variety of vegetables, some cooked with meat and others not... and can make a veggie wrap for you... grilled onions, peppers, etc. You can also see our menu on our web page and facebook page.
1
Vote
garymF2857WA
March 30, 2018|
Answer
Response from lbsealey | Reviewed this property |
Most places have decaf anymore and given the style of this establishment, they would have this.
1
Vote
lukeiy
February 11, 2016|
Answer
Response from FrankEarlofHibernia | Reviewed this property |
Have no idea.Unfriendly, most likely.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about McLean's OLE Time Cafe

Yes, McLean's OLE Time Cafe offers takeout services.

McLean's OLE Time Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4