We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$5 - $20
CUISINES
American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
88
57
22
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
88
57
22
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews biscuits hush puppies chicken steak the sweet potato casserole home cooking salad bar sides
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed April 28, 2024

They took forever for my food I ordered no onions they put a whole onion on my food said they were going to discount my food for the wait ending up paying full price

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 19, 2024

"I ordered a ribeye cooked medium, but it turned out dry and had a crumbly texture. The server took it back, but the second steak was the same way. I didn't want to complain again, so I just dealt with it. However, another server brought...a saucer with a piece of toast that was almost burnt to a crisp. I accepted it but left it on the table. On the bright side, I would like to come back on a day when the chef who cooked my steak on 02/15 at around 5:30 PM will be there, as I would like to compliment him/her."More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Morris McLean, Owner at McLean's OLE Time Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2024

We are sorry for your experience and welcome you to call and speak with our manager Karen at 919-269-0125.

Reviewed October 11, 2023

Great food served in generous portions. Our food arrived quickly and was very good. Our waitress checked back often and never let our drinks get low.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Morris McLean, Owner at McLean's OLE Time Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2023

Thanks for your kind words! We hope you'll come back soon.

Reviewed June 10, 2023 via mobile

The food was great and the portions were huge. I enjoyed the Sysco chicken and the sweet potato casserole tasted like a yummy dessert.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Morris McLean, Owner at McLean's OLE Time Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2023

We appreciate that. Hope you'll come back soon.

Reviewed April 15, 2023 via mobile

We had an absolutely delicious lunch at Mcleans today I had the fish combo and it was outstanding the service was top notch the food fresh and the atmosphere perfect this is the place to go for home cooking

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Morris McLean, Owner at McLean's OLE Time Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2023

That's very kind. We hope you'll come back by soon.

Reviewed February 19, 2023 via mobile

I’m a bit ambivalent about or visit today. The service was quick, maybe too quick. We ordered meatloaf, chicken wrap, and onion rings as an appetizer. We got our main dishes really fast, what seemed 5 minutes, but no appetizer. To be fair we didn’t...mention the missing appetizer because we would have liked it before the main dishes. My fries were warm, not hot, considering the short time they should have been really hot. The wrap tasted good, but the shell was too small and fell apart. No big deal by itself, just adding to the experience. Overall the food was good and cheap, the waitress was very considerate and fast, but it had its hiccups. I am fully aware that we didn’t give them a chance to remedy it, which I know they absolutely would have. Nor were we charged for it. We will definitely go back.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
McLean's Ole Time Cafe, Guest Relations Manager at McLean's OLE Time Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2023

Thank you for visiting us and for your feedback. You're right! We always want our guests to speak with our manager to address any issues while here as we cannot make corrections or fix something post visit in an online review and wish you had...More

Reviewed August 4, 2022

I caught them off guard, probably between their lunch crowd and the start of their dinner business. I ended up just ordering the salad bar and soup combo. I didn't like either of their soups. The vegetable soup had lots of different veggies, but I...didn't see or taste any meat, so the soup had little distinctive flavor. The broccoli/cheese soup was okay, but the broccoli had been cooked a bit too long. The best part of the salad bar would probably be the diced raw strawberries. Nothing special about any of the other ingredients, but it wasn't a bad or flavorless salad.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 2, 2022

I have been to this place many times and usually my experiences have been fine. I did have a bad experience a few months ago when I had to wait for 45 minutes to get acknowledged, while others came in and got their food before...we were even acknowledged. I sent an email to the restaurant, but heard no response. I guess they didn't care, so I am coming here to tell what happened two evenings ago. I ordered the hamburger steak asking for gravy only, no onions. They will bring out a basket of hush puppies and biscuits if you ask. Well, this time, there was no basket, but just a few on a small plate. The hush puppies were so hard, they were like eating pork skins. The biscuits were hard and crumbly too. The biscuits are usually very good, so not sure what happened here. I got my steak, and after eating some of it, I could tell there were onions in it. I specifically asked for no onions. I also ordered fries as a side, and the person who burnt the hush puppies must have also cooked my fries because they were so overcooked I could not eat them. Our waitress asked if we wanted refills on our drinks quickly after we started eating, and we said okay, not knowing if we would see her again when we really did need refills. So, the drinks got very watery by the time we needed the refill. And then she brought us the check because she said she was getting ready to leave, so I guess that was reason she went ahead and refilled our drinks. Overall the food was just plain terrible and I had that nasty onion taste in my mouth for the rest of the night, almost making me sick. All this for over $16. I'm not going back. And obviously they don't care, so instead of reaching out to them again, I am coming on here to warn people about what they get at this establishment.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wendy P, Marketing at McLean's OLE Time Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2022

As we read your comments, as always, our first question is "Did you ask to speak with our manager while here in our restaurant so that he/she could address your issues?" We assume not since you did not say that here, just complained about multiple...More

Reviewed March 31, 2022

Stopped in as we were traveling Hwy 64 back from the Outer Banks. Had read mixed reviews but wanted something different and decided to give it a try. The food was so-so and the service was sadly lacking. Definitely not worth the detour off the...main drag.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
McLean's Ole TimeCafe, Guest Relations Manager at McLean's OLE Time Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2022

Tom, We are sorry to read your comments. Did you ask to speak with our manager while here to remedy any food or service issues for you while under our roof? We always want any guest to do that to give us an opportunity to...More

Reviewed February 6, 2022 via mobile

It was horrible! I ordered a “Cheeseburger and Fried. Hubby ordered the Frisco Chicken over rice. My parent ordered salads. The 2 salads were fine. The other 2 meals were COLD! I grabbed the fries and had a fist full when showing the waitress how...cold they were. After a long wait I can’t believe the food was this bad. My husband refuses to send food back at any restaurant. So, he ate cold food and I sent mine back and asked could they make a hot grilled cheese sandwich!!? My parents are in their 80’s and like going here-for the local conversation it’s definitely not for the food. A man to the right of us heard our conversation and said his sides were cold-showed the bowls and they were full- he said he was not going to eat it. I asked my husband to walk my parents out and I went to the register. I told them it has been 3 times in a row with “food” issues. She offered me a 2.00 discount. Are you kidding me? Don’t waste your time if you want good food. Waitress staff has always been wonderful but they spend a lot of time apologizing! Do Not Recommend!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scott B, Owner at McLean's OLE Time Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2022

Hi Denise, Sorry for the delayed response as we just saw your review here. Since we also got this same review from you on Google, hopefully you responded to the offer we gave you there to contact our manager. In case not, here is that...More

Reviewed December 11, 2021

Arrived at 7:30 pm and ordered two simple dinners-a hamburger steak and sides and a vegetable plate. By 8:00 we still had no food and the server came to tell us they ran out of green beans. They had brought nothing but drinks while we...waited-not even a plate of biscuits. We left with no dinner and had to settle for fast food. A real shame- McClean’s used to be good.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 23, 2021

This place seems to be improving each time we visit. Now, it is a regular for after church service. I have become addicted to their beef tips on rice, and my wife has become addicted to the ribs. Give wanted to give out a shout...to this place that continues to do better. If there was ever a negative: No one in my family cares for their biscuits.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 7, 2021

Bad experience, Arrived at 1155 on July 7, 2021. I did not receive my order until 1237. I complained and waitress told me they had a private outing in another room. All we had my wife had a salad bar and I had chicken strips....My food was piled sloppily onto plate with four very small chicken strips for a large order. PIled high with french frys like trying to replace of any chicken available. No refills made to the table and no one asking us what we thought. I told waitress and no manager showed up. Not offered for any deductions on my check. It will be a long time before I come back here.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 4, 2021 via mobile

We have visited here several times in the past prior to COVID and it was good. This latest visit was a bit disappointing. Just was not up to their prior quality. Hope they get it back together again.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 22, 2021

I am (was) a regular very satisfied customer for months now. The breakfast grits were absolutely delicious. In fact, when I wanted grits I would get into my car and drive all the way up to the restaurant to get them. However, my last 2...takeout orders were just yellow with cheese. At first, because I have such great regard for the staff, I just ate them. The second time I decided to call back and inquire about the cheese in the grits. The individual answering the phone repeatedly argued that "all of our grits has cheese" . I never knew that before. I knew they tasted different but they were still a normal grit color. These were yellow as cheese itself. Not willing to loose my favorite breakfast grit location, I requested to speak with a manager. After speaking just a few words I noticed that she said in a very irritated voice, "All our grits got cheese in them" with the same accent as the first individual. So I acknowledged the fact that "they have cheese, but these are yellow with cheese" She restated it and I finally said, "Well I just will not eat there" at which point she snapped, "fine". Then I finished my statement just before she slammed the phone down ......."And I'll just tell others". So sad because it really is a nice place. Very quite. Nice friendly staff. This was my first bad experience. I now open a pack of instant grits, put about 1/4 slice of cheese in it, and get that same exact original taste that I once enjoyed from there. Little or no salt needed. Best wishes and blessings to the establishmentMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Country Hearth Inn Knightdale Raleigh
53 reviews
8.56 miles away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knightdale Raleigh
306 reviews
9.38 miles away
Quality Inn Raleigh Near Walnut Creek Amphitheatre
70 reviews
13.21 miles away
Comfort Suites Raleigh Walnut Creek
116 reviews
13.88 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Southland Steakhouse
51 reviews
.87 miles away
Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Q
53 reviews
.82 miles away
Milano Pizza
16 reviews
.80 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Five County Stadium
80 reviews
2.96 miles away
Wendell General Store
14 reviews
3.82 miles away
Mona Pants Mintage Shop
7 reviews
.63 miles away
Robertson Millpond Preserve
12 reviews
4.97 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
victoria s
October 25, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mcleansoletimecafe | Property representative |
We have a variety of vegetables, some cooked with meat and others not... and can make a veggie wrap for you... grilled onions, peppers, etc. You can also see our menu on our web page and facebook page.
1
Vote
garymF2857WA
March 30, 2018|
Answer
Response from lbsealey | Reviewed this property |
Most places have decaf anymore and given the style of this establishment, they would have this.
1
Vote
lukeiy
February 11, 2016|
Answer
Response from FrankEarlofHibernia | Reviewed this property |
Have no idea.Unfriendly, most likely.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MCLEAN'S OLE TIME CAFE, Zebulon - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about McLean's OLE Time Cafe

Yes, McLean's OLE Time Cafe offers takeout services.

McLean's OLE Time Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4