The Classic Wineseller

The Classic Wineseller

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+1 828-452-6000+ Add website
Hours
Mon
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tue
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wed
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thu
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Fri
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sat
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
$5.00 – $15.00
CUISINES
Wine Bar
Meals
Dinner
features
Is this a wine bar?
About
The Classic Wineseller is a retail wine and craft beer shop that is open Tuesday through Saturday. The restaurant is open Wednesday through Saturday evenings. Enjoy LIVE music on Friday and Saturday evenings. Our location is underground and stays cool year around. A light jacket or sweater is suggested.
PRICE RANGE
$5.00 – $15.00
CUISINES
Wine Bar
Meals
Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles135 reviews
Excellent
90
Very good
27
Average
7
Poor
3
Terrible
8
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Jay B
Fairhope1029 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 none
I cannot speak to the food here but I can address their quality as a wine shop. As others have said, Classic Wineseller is located below the street in a real cellar-type space. These folks know what they are doing. The wines range from everyday value wines to high-end collector specimens. I absolutely love the way they have the wines arranged, some by region and others by type, which is a sign of a professional wine shop. I found several wines which I have not seen in years. The staff are helpful and friendly, and they offer a cozy wine bar at certain times as well as special tastings and live music. I will most certainly be back here often!
Written August 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tonya
Ravenna3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 couples
I must admit, from the street I did not expect much. But once you open the door and step down into their establishment it is an amazing view. The varieties of wines, cigars, and just friendly employees, just made us so happy and welcomed. We were in the area for eight days and visited this location three separate times. Once for drinks and dessert, once just to buy a bottle of wine for a friend who lives in the area, and the other for the most amazing dinner we had on our whole trip. The Ahi Tuna was delicious the espresso chocolate cheesecake was stellar, and the wines and selection are amazing. Tracy behind the bar was a true gem, friendly, personable, and extremely attentive. We cannot wait to return on our next trip down to the Waynesville North Carolina area.
Written October 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

LtRogerWilco
Sylva112 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 solo
The wine selection is fairly remarkable. I go here for Port and Madeira that is not widely found at big box wine selections. I get very nice cigars here also.
Written March 13, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Judi johnson
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2021 none
For $231 we were very disappointed. The salad was tasteless, the bone in stuffed pork chop was a disappointment for a valentines dinner choice and was dry. No appetizer was offered and no vegetable. Both my husband’s and my dinner was over a bed of couscous. But the biggest rip off was when we ordered a bottle of wine we were charged $45 and when it came to our table it had the sticker price of $16.99 still on it! When we questioned our server she explained it off as a corking charge! We will not patronize this local restaurant again and we are residents of the community. The atmosphere was lacking in candlelight and the entrees offered for a valentine dinner was not appropriate. My husband and I are avid cooks at home and fairly knowledgeable about wines and cannot believe we were so excited for a special dinner that we did not have to cook and paid that amount for the meal we could have cooked at home for a quarter of the price that we paid.
Written February 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

travellingwinotoo
190 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021 none
Fantastic atmosphere - I felt like I was in a real wine cellar. Friendly staff and the small kitchen produces fabulous food. My only request - MORE ITALIAN choices please!!!
Written April 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

KENNETH K
Sheboygan374 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 none
This is one of the finest wine selections I have ever seen and the staff know what they are talking about. Enjoyed the knowledge they share in selecting the perfect wine. I don't smoke cigars but if I did this would also be the place I would go.
Written November 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Fern Valley F
Bristol18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 none
Loved visiting with the owner and staff and learning about wines. My husband loved the cigar area..... everyone happy!!
Written October 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

FondoTraveler
Fondo207 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 none
Great selection of wine with a knowledgeable proprietor. You can't beat that combination. Prices are reasonable.
Written December 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

M23rdPWR
Freeport351 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2019 none
Their wineseller is just wonderful ... next time we will go for dinner ... just not enough meals in a visit!!!
Written August 12, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

TCC55
Asheville59 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2018 couples
Wanted to hear James Hammel. Booked a reservation early in the week, and gave my phone number. Drove out from Asheville on Friday night and found they were closed. Had called during the drive to alert them that we were running 10 minutes late, got answering recording, but no message that they had closed. Stuff happens, but lack of courtesy call to let us know they closed for the weekend is appalling.
Written December 15, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ClassicWineseller
Thank you for your feedback. I'm truly sorry you didn't receive a message that we were closed. The reason we ask for phone numbers is in case we need to notify of any schedule changes. On the date James was to play we have notes in the computer calendar next to each person's reservation that s/he was notified by phone that we would be closed. The notes also specify whether the person was spoken to about the sudden cancellation or if a voicemail message was left. Something obviously went terribly wrong since you didn't receive a call/message. I apologize for the inconvenience. I know it's a long drive from Asheville and I know you must have been very annoyed and disappointed.
Written January 13, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cate B
15 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2018 none
The wine seller STORE is great, but the restaurant is average. We ordered a charcuterie that was very very ho hum. The live music was fun and the wine we chose was great. And the vibe is fun - being in a "cellar" surrounded by wine. But each of our dishes was average. We wanted to be wowed and to finally find a place in Waynesville that could hold a candle to Asheville, but no luck. We'll be back (as there is not much to chose from here) but be aware that it's good, not great.
Written November 6, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ClassicWineseller
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience at the Classic Wineseller. I'm very sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations. You mentioned the charcuterie as disappointing and other dishes as average. The other dishes you refer to--would you mind telling us what those were? Did you happen to mention anything to your server? If you did, I apologize that the server didn't bring it to our attention so we had an opportunity to address it while you were visiting. Please know your feedback is important. We have over 30 items on our menu. If an item is disappointing to a customer, we really do want to know specifics so we have an opportunity to improve. Thank you again for your time.
Written January 13, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Quest771587
26 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2018 couples
We always go here on the 233k3nds. Love the live entertainment. The location is a cellar and the walls are lined with wines....all available for purchase, dishes are small and unique. Cozy, reservations a must, not large. It is a great place to spend an evening that is different, but excellent.
Written November 4, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

tanda367
195 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2018 couples
My husband and I stopped in to buy a couple of bottles of wine so we didn't get to sample the food but it looked crowded. They also planned to have live music that evening.
Written September 7, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

rogerc1234
Clayton84 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2018 couples
We caught the Wineseller on a Saturday night when they had a guest musician for dinner guests. We had visited the previous day searching for some wines, and made the reservations for the next night. They are flexible when you can have dinner after they open, and you have your table for the night; there's no rushing to get the next diners seated. The meals we ordered with well prepared and the service was excellent. Direct interactions with the owner during our wine shopping and during dinner were very much appreciated. For a relaxing evening with good food and enjoyable music, with some crowd interaction, give this place a try. You will enjoy it!
Written August 7, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ClassicWineseller
Thank you for your kind review. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience at the Classic Wineseller! Come see us again soon, we appreciate your business.
Written January 13, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Christine K
9 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2018 couples
The ambience in the cellar while we ate was romantic and classy. We listened to a jazz pianist, chose a bottle of good French wine, and ate some yummy ahi tuna and salmon. Make dinner reservations Friday and Saturday. They had a cool bar as well, no reservations required.
Written July 31, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ClassicWineseller
Thank your for taking time to let us know about your experience at the Wineseller. Please come visit again soon!
Written January 13, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 135
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
The Sweet Onion
$$ - $$$ · American
Pisgah Inn Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · American
Boojum Brewing Company Taproom
$$ - $$$ · American, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
Angelo's Family Pizza
$$ - $$$ · Pizza
Bocelli's Italian Eatery
$$ - $$$ · Italian
Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue
$$ - $$$ · Barbecue
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE CLASSIC WINESELLER, Waynesville - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

All Waynesville HotelsWaynesville Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Waynesville
Things to DoFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars