We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

The Daily Grind

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
208 N New River Dr, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445-6677
+1 910-541-0471
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 280: English reviews
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Went early on a Saturday during a Surf City power outage. Bought some coffees and pastries which were pretty good, but not great. Service was very friendly, but they were clearly not ready for an onslaught of customers close to opening time.

Thank Robert J
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Best cinnamon rolls ever! Great service!!!! From out of state and it's wonderful to have great wonderful people! Not often you met an owner who's so open to come out and meet his new guests!

Thank Nick L
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I only tried the cinnamon rolls and a cake for after dinner. So far the roll is good. The cake was pricey and I've yet to try it, but I think I'll need a large glass of milk with it.

Thank Yvonne O
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing Lattes and kids loved the ice cream too. Very friendly place to grab a drink, relax inside or make a dash with your drink. Place sells donuts and other yummy treats as well. Always a favored stop on our trips to topsail island.

Thank UK_Rich69
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped here to try the apple fritter this morning. The apple fritter was about 3 inches in diameter, had heavy glaze icing on it and the dough was almost that of coffee cake texture with a few apples in it. We also picked up a cinnamon roll - it was closer to 5 inches in diameter and also with... More 

Thank ncyoungen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Great place first of all. Our rentals Internet went out. My sister was in need of Internet to finish a project for college. So I called ahead to ask if they had WiFi. They did and with ample room to chill and get things done. The donuts and coffee were delicious. Definitely fast clean service. Believes in helping local businesses.... More 

Thank Halona S
Clifton Forge, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Good coffee & great service! Get there early if you want a donut. Nice touch to steam some milk for the coffee.

Thank Jim B
Dunbar, West Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

I love coffee shops, and this is a good one. Offering brewed and many coffee drinks, the fresh made bakery items look so delicious. And then there is hand dipped ice cream. Free wifi and rest rooms for customers. I like this place!

Thank fpalmer321
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2016

This place, like most in the Topsail area, is overrated. I was anxious to try to a doughnut, but had to settle for an apple fritter because the doughnuts were sold out. The apple fritter was the most revolting and overpriced doughnut I have ever experienced. The glaze was way too think and the doughnut was old. I was told... More 

Thank CaliforniaBrianna
Tracey H, Owner at The Daily Grind, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry you were disappointed. We did run out of doughnuts yesterday and that is a good problem for us to have but unfortunate for you and for that I apologize. Being as we stay open year round it is tough trying to decide how much of each item to carry without much... More 

Level Contributor
324 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

Saw tat the Daily Grind ranks #1 in Surf City restaurants, so I wanted to try. Hmmm. Sampled their coffee, coconut cake, and apple fritters. The coffee was hot, and the barista added warm cream, keeping it hot. The small was quite generous. (In fact, all portions were sizable.) The coffee flavor was ok, but not as robust and bold... More 

Thank EdRockster
Tracey H, Owner at The Daily Grind, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We do add steamed cream to our brewed coffees as to not cool them off with cold cream however if anyone prefers we will add cold cream. We do not mind at all! Our coconut cake has been a favorite for over 6 years which we do not make ourselves. I do hope you enjoyed... More 

Travelers who viewed The Daily Grind also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island

Been to The Daily Grind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
American, Cafe
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 208 N New River Dr, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445-6677
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Topsail Island  >  Surf City
  • Phone Number: +1 910-541-0471
Daily Grind Coffee, Donuts & Ice Cream is open 7 days a week. We have a relaxing setting with FREE WIFI! We offer a variety of menu items. Fresh Brewed Coffee, Latte's, Iced Latte's, Iced Coffee, Smoothie's, Frappe's, Ice Cream, Milk Shakes, Bagels, Muffins, Hand Dipped Ice Cream, FRESH HOT DONUTS and much much more!!! Please stop in and visit us.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Daily Grind and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Lake Norman, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Daily Grind staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?