We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanunda Bakery & Cafe

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
CUISINES
Australian
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
144
92
14
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
144
92
14
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pies bread pretzels pastry pepper steak pie cake bakery food gelato ice cream fresh rolls sweet treats sit inside quick lunch at lunchtime great range barossa valley great coffee
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A large proportion of businesses in the Barossa rely on tourism to make their money but not Tanunda bakery. Closed on Sundays and public holidays when every other place is open.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank EnnDeeTee
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Based on TripAdvisor reviews we stopped here for a quick bite to eat. The place itself is clean and modern but the pies are awful. I ordered a Mexican pie and itI was filled with chunks of potato and chorizo type sausage. It was really...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Peta C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My hubby and I went here for the first time today for lunch. Extensive range of hot and cold food and great prices. We ate in and our food was hot, fresh and tasty. Hardest part was choosing what to eat! Very friendly and helpful...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Glenda G
Tanunda B, Manager at Tanunda Bakery & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Glenda, Glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Tanunda Bakery! Hope to see you again. Tanunda Bakery

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking forward to a nice HOT Pasty on a cold Barossa day, first impression walking in was impressive, 2 Pasty's with sauce on a plate to eat in, just over $10, top price.....But as too often happens in SA, a Luke warm Pasty,...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank B5900UCdavidw
Tanunda B, Manager at Tanunda Bakery & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our store. We really appreciate the feedback and will definitely look into it. Kind Regards, Tanunda Bakery Management

Reviewed May 5, 2019

if you want a quick bite to eat ideal place very expensive for pies etc. They seem to get a lot of people there maybe it was an off day.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 03021952
Reviewed April 30, 2019 via mobile

The outside doesn't do justice to the treats you will find inside. Prices reasonable coffee great good service and an exceptional range and presentation of goods.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Gareth S
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

Stopped for a quick bite and place was packed. So much choice had steak pie . This was filled with chunks of steak. Had one of the German bins which was very fresh. Prices are reasonable and quality high. You can sit inside or out...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank lifebeeinit
Reviewed April 3, 2019

I've been to this bakery many times in the last few years and, to me, it's clearly the best place in Tanunda for quick and 'cheerful' bakery items. That said, just 3 minutes around the corner is the new Barossa Valley Chocolate Company, where they...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank peterkerin
Reviewed March 31, 2019

They take multiple teenagers on putting them on "trial" and pit them all against each other and doesn't pay anyone, taking advantage of young people looking for their first jobMore

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Keeley B
Tanunda B, Manager at Tanunda Bakery & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear Keeley, We are sorry to hear that you see us as a dodgy company that doesn't pay their workers. You can be reassured that this is definitely not the case! We pride ourselves in ensuring that all our staff are paid according to their...More

Reviewed March 26, 2019

As visitors & coming from german "stock" if I lived here I would be at this Bakery daily Every thing we tried was delicious especially the apple yeast cake. Bought back memories of my Grandmother

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Notatsea
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Barossa Motor Lodge
134 reviews
.26 miles away
Barossa Weintal Hotel
806 reviews
.56 miles away
Vine Inn Barossa
352 reviews
3.47 miles away
Nuriootpa Vine Court
60 reviews
3.64 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 39 nearby restaurants
fermentAsian
1,270 reviews
.64 miles away
Beans and Cream
87 reviews
.72 miles away
Red Door espresso
374 reviews
.76 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 52 nearby attractions
Langmeil Winery
298 reviews
.71 miles away
Barossa Visitor Centre
185 reviews
.75 miles away
Peter Lehmann Wines
344 reviews
.77 miles away
Chateau Tanunda
595 reviews
.76 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tanunda Bakery & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing