We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Bistro Dining at Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel

$$ - $$$
Bar, Pub, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
East Coast Road | Point Lookout, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland QLD 4183 , Australia
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 165: English reviews
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

15% surcharge for table service what a rip off. Service was ok food nothing spectacular. Very disappointed 😯

Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went in a large group of 11, the food came out at different times which is to be expected in a large group but I felt the wait was just too long. Some people had finished eating before others had even received their meal. I ordered a chicken salad, it was the last to come and the chicken was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Once again I was put off by some reviews but we tried this place for lunch as other than that it's bakeries and there not the best pies we have had! All food was fine from steak to pizza, definitely had a lot worse on the mainland!! Had a newborn and 12 year old and it was fine to eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank misslissa007
StradbrokeHotel, Manager at Bistro Dining at Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us for lunch. We certainly agree that it is always best to book ahead so ensure you get a table as weekends and holidays tend to be very busy with tourists and locals alike enjoying the great views. We look forward to seeing... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

We were here at 4:30 today looking for one drink after a stroll along the beach. The 5 tables avail were full and there was a large section that was closed. I asked the bar staff if the 3 of us could sit there as there was no other space and was met with a 'that's reserved for 50 people... More 

Helpful?
Thank Swi65
noosa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2016 via mobile

Views are great but food very average and service terrible! My fish and chips was smaller than the kids' meal and all chips x5 meals were cold. When I brought this to the manager's attention, she agreed the fish was very small and said she would get another piece grilled for me and bring it out in 8 mins. 15... More 

Helpful?
Thank kirstybond
StradbrokeHotel, Manager at Bistro Dining at Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Hi I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We always strive to rectify any issues with meals as quick as possible and in this case we apologize that our timing a little off. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope this instance will not stop you from... More 

Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2016

Maybe I am being a bit unfair to say it is "just pub food". After all it is just a pub. But no - they are a resort, the meal prices are well above what you expect to pay at an average pub so they can do better. The location is great. Views to die for. Food - not so... More 

Helpful?
Thank jayvee1
StradbrokeHotel, Manager at Bistro Dining at Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience in our Bistro. We are currently working on a new menu and your feedback has been passed on. We hope this incident will not deter you from returning again in the future. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2016

Friday night dinner, no booking so outside. As in other reviews food was ordinary, with the exception on the natural oysters which were some of the best we had eaten. Staff seemed under the pump but trying hard. My advice - go for afternoon drinks, enjoy the view and snack on oysters with your drinks. Have dinner elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank Cathie P
StradbrokeHotel, Manager at Bistro Dining at Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear you had a less than satisfactory experience in our bistro- oysters aside. We are currently working on a new menu which we hope will entice you to give us a second chance. More 

Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2016

average steak, average salad, less than average chips. They only had 3 high chairs, and even though the tables were booked later than when we needed one we couldn't use one. Not enough counter staff, the only person on the counter needed to make a coffee for a customer, so then there was no one available to take any orders,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ebhately
Blackwood, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2016

We had dinner here twice due to location & circumstances. The first meal was pretty terrible, my husband had rare steak which was way over salted and very tough. We tried to order espresso martinis (on the cocktail menu) at 8:35pm but were told that it was past the cut off of 8:30pm and that the coffee machine had been... More 

Helpful?
Thank MillsandTumble
Australia
Level Contributor
352 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

It's got the views and reasonable but unexceptional pub food. I thought it was OK, and I am informed the oysters were pretty good. The drinks by the glass were pretty reasonable too.

Helpful?
Thank anecessaryevil

Travelers who viewed Bistro Dining at Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel also viewed

Point Lookout, North Stradbroke Island
Point Lookout, North Stradbroke Island
 
North Stradbroke Island, Redland City
Point Lookout, North Stradbroke Island
 

Been to Bistro Dining at Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: East Coast Road | Point Lookout, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland QLD 4183, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Brisbane Region  >  Redland City  >  North Stradbroke Island

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bistro Dining at Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bistro Dining at Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?