We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar

$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
24502 Highway 12, Rodanthe, NC 27968
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Sun - Sat 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 267: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband & I enjoyed Good Winds Seafood & Wine bar near Waves/Salvo, North Carolina. Their house wines were excellent. We ordered the scallop alfredo & shrimp pesto with salads. Both were excellent. My food allergies were respected by the kitchen. Service was great.

Thank Kate R
Graham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had high hopes as we walked in and were seated right away by the window with a beautiful view of the sound sunset. Then it all went downhill from there as we waited forever for someone to greet us and take our drink order. We order drinks, hushpuppies and chicken tenders for our daughter. My husband was looking forward... More 

Thank buttinthesand
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went in the off season (2 weeks after Labor Day) and didn't find the food very impressive. The overpriced ($6/cup) seafood chowder was very good though. The rest of our meals were just ok. Someone needs to tell the cook (for sure no chef) to stop over cooking the Mahi! This is not fresh either, just the usual frozen... More 

Thank boxtersue
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had dinner at Good Winds twice during our stay in Rodanthe. Both times the food was excellent and the service was great. The view of the sound can't be beat, all of their portions are very generous and their fried seafood platters are ginormous!

Thank Crystal D
Chesterfield, VA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went in ready to order the deep fried bacon appetizer, the Good Wind's hot mess, and my peanut butter cup dessert. Too bad none of those things were on the menu. The menu listed on TripAdvisor is not current. We ended up with the hush puppies for an appetizer. They were the highlight of the meal. The meals included... More 

Thank mrandmrsd99
Moyock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

We are staying at the KOA across the street. My husband has heard of this place and was determined to check it out. Upon arrival the place could use a good flour sweeping and the entry way cleaned up. The place was half empty on a Friday night and it took 10 minutes to get a table. It took another... More 

Thank Loretta S
Luray, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2016

This was our first visit to Good Winds. The food was excellent and the quantity was..how can I say ALOT OMG..the clam, crab soup was one of the best I've had in a long time. Just delicious.. Waitress was very friendly and the service was excellent. No wait time. Food cooked to perfection. As the sun was setting what amazing... More 

1 Thank Ray Bonnie Q
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

We were there for dinner and loved the drink selection and sunset view. The fried shrimp was fantastic. The server was friendly, but very busy with a large party. We were not in a hurry so it was not a big deal.

Thank Stacey C
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

Yes, the view is fabulous. But we were extremely disappointed and will not be back. We had just spent 2 days driving up from Florida and we were tired and hungry, otherwise my husband would have sent back the steak he ordered. He ordered New York Strip, that should be good, right? He said it was rancid, not completely spoiled... More 

Thank Dana J
KittyHawkKitesInc, Manager at Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar, responded to this review

We are truly disappointed to hear about your recent experience at Good Winds Restaurant. We continually strive to deliver a tasty, enjoyable, and unforgettable dining experience to every single customer who walks through our doors and take great pride in doing so. We wish you had brought your dissatisfaction to our attention that evening, as our Manager would have immediately... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2016

We chose this restaurant because it was close to our condo in Rodanthe. The food was average but we had a window seat next to the water with a good view. We did not have to wait to be seated. The bill for out family of six was about $185. We would go again if we stay nearby. We would... More 

Thank allboysMom06

Travelers who viewed Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar also viewed

Rodanthe, Outer Banks
Rodanthe, Outer Banks
Waves, Hatteras Island
Waves, Hatteras Island

Been to Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$7 - $24
American, Bar, Seafood
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Open Hours
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24502 Highway 12, Rodanthe, NC 27968
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Outer Banks  >  Rodanthe
  • Phone Number: 12529871100
Good Winds Restaurant is located on the sound front in Rodanthe, NC and has something for everyone in the family for lunch or dinner and now Sunday brunch! One of the best spots on Hatteras Island to catch a sunset while enjoying a glass of wine or tantalizing appetizer. Take a look at our menu below and then come in for a visit and enjoy the breathtaking views paired with exceptionally great food.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?