We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Good Winds Restaurant is located on the sound front in Rodanthe, NC and has something for everyone in the family for lunch or dinner and now Sunday brunch! One of the best spots on Hatteras Island to catch a sunset while enjoying a glass of wine or tantalizing appetizer. Take a look at our menu below and then come in for a visit and enjoy the breathtaking views paired with exceptionally great food. Limited take out hours when availability allows.
PRICE RANGE
$7 - $24
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveler rating
154
114
74
24
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
154
114
74
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews asian shrimp crab cakes scallops shrimp po boy burger coleslaw kitty hawk kites sound side friday night off season excellent food and service sat at the bar the outer banks cooked perfectly sunset deck appetizers
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We (2 of us) were here on a Wed, night off season. Just us and 1 other couple to see the sunset. Andrew waited on us and his recommendations were outstanding. If we go back I would just tell him to bring us what he...recommended. We had the Tuna bites to start. Cooked perfectly with 2 great sauces. Followed by 2 cups of she crab soup. Yum, Yum. Followed by the crab balls. They don't believe in scrimping on the crab. Desert was 2 specially crafted martinis by Andrew. I was sworn to secrecy on the ingredients but trust me when I say, just trust the man. Thomas has just signed on as the chef. He has a ton of experience and is determined to be "the" destination in the area. If this restaurant had table cloths and candles it would deserve a Michelin star.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
KittyHawkKitesInc, Marketing at Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review, Dick! We’re so lucky to have such a wonderful staff. Come back and see us again soon!

Reviewed October 9, 2020

We found the restaurant while on vacation. The chef was very nice and told us about the food preparations in detail, as we had some guest who was gluten free needs The she crab soup was amazing and you would not believe the amount of...crab in it the crab cakes and shrimp poor boy was fantastic. Becky the bar tender was amazing and very helpful. We will be back.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
KittyHawkKitesInc, Marketing at Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2020

Thanks for your review! I’ve passed your comments along to the chef and Becky. We’re already looking forward to your next visit!

Reviewed October 9, 2020 via mobile

Amazing place to spend an afternoon. Great food, Chef Thomas is an awesome Chef. The She Crab Soup is to die for and the crab cakes are delicious. And let’s not forget Becky the Bartender, the Bloody Mary was perfect, and the Rum runner was...very good. I can’t say enough about Good Winds, it’s a must if you’re ever in Rodanthe.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
KittyHawkKitesInc, Marketing at Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2020

Thanks for your review, Bev! I’ve passed your comments along to Chef Thomas and Becky. Come back again soon!

Reviewed October 9, 2020 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed a cup of the She Crab soup. Very meaty with a delicious broth. Great meal starter. I finished before I could get a good picture.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
KittyHawkKitesInc, Marketing at Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2020

Thanks for your review! Come back and see us again soon!

Reviewed October 6, 2020 via mobile

Called at 6 for takeout. They told us to call back after 7 for takeout orders. We called back at 7 and they said they stopped doing takeout for the night. So we were stuck with no food. Terrible.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
KittyHawkKitesInc, Marketing at Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, Steven. We often have to restrict take out orders for dinner in order to ensure our dine-in guests are taken care of. We have a reduced staff during the fall and have seen a much larger crowd than usual for this...More

Reviewed September 16, 2020

Had a nice view if the bay. People were friendly, food was pretty good. Reasonable prices. probably better lunch spot than dinner

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
KittyHawkKitesInc, Marketing at Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2020

Thanks for your review, Bruce! Come back and visit us again soon!

Reviewed September 4, 2020

Food was satisfactory and the sunset was gorgeous. Nonetheless, I won’t be back because the employees blatantly disregarded the mandated state mask orderMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
KittyHawkKitesInc, Marketing at Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2020

Thanks for bringing this to our attention, Treasure. It is our policy that everyone in our restaurant wear masks except while actively eating. We’re sorry to hear that our staff was not abiding by this and the state mask mandate. We will be reiterating this...More

Reviewed August 19, 2020 via mobile

Great service and staff, food is amazing. The best part are the sunset views over the water, bring your camera! We go here every year for the great food and to take pictures.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
KittyHawkKitesInc, Manager at Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2020

Thanks for your review! Come back and see us again soon!

Reviewed August 10, 2020

My family (34 people in total) went to this restaurant on Friday. They did not have ice cream so I went down stairs to the gift shop to ask if there was anywhere in the plaza that I could buy some. There was an employee...standing with an older gentleman who said there was a coffee shop at the end that has sweets but not ice cream. I explained that my child who has a feeding tube can't eat solids so it has to be ice cream. I went down to the coffee shop to see what they made smoothies with. The gentleman walks in and says that he is going to get me some ice cream. I said that he didn't have to do that. I went back upstairs to have dinner with my family and about 15 minutes later he walked in with a pint of ice cream. The owner of the restaurant left and went to another store to pick up ice cream for my little girl! I couldn't believe it. We will definitely be back next time we visit the Outer Banks. Between the 34 of us, we tried almost everything on the menu and everything was delicious!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
KittyHawkKitesInc, General Manager at Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2020

Thanks for your review! So glad that the whole family could enjoy a meal with us. Come back again soon!

Reviewed August 6, 2020 via mobile

Super friendly and had 10 people there and everyone had a great meal... great little place with beautiful sunsets

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
KittyHawkKitesInc, General Manager at Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2020

Thanks for your review, George! Come back again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hatteras Island Resort
2 reviews
.36 miles away
Salvo Inn Motel
9 reviews
2.83 miles away
Avon Motel
77 reviews
13.08 miles away
JP Cottages
35 reviews
21.55 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Lisa's Pizzeria
441 reviews
.35 miles away
Top Dog Cafe
323 reviews
.74 miles away
Austin's South Island Seafood & Produce Company
77 reviews
.34 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Chicamacomico Life-Saving Station Historic Site & Museum
389 reviews
.88 miles away
Pea Island National Wildlife Refuge
264 reviews
.69 miles away
Rodanthe Pier
116 reviews
.36 miles away
Kitty Hawk Kites
48 reviews
.01 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
702kyleb
September 27, 2020|
Answer
Response from georgetR6157QI | Reviewed this property |
Sorry we only visited
0
Votes
Exploration621530
April 14, 2019|
Answer
Response from Exploration316354 |
Yes..ww love our furry friends
0
Votes
G3059MDkatem
August 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Ron2014 | Reviewed this property |
Can walk to it but not along the beach
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing