We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
501 Evans St, Morehead City, NC 28557
12522473111
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 8:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Description: It is our goal to please every customer who walks through our doors. If...
It is our goal to please every customer who walks through our doors. If you have a complaint please contact one of our managers.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 590 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 109
    Excellent
  • 116
    Very good
  • 155
    Average
  • 109
    Poor
  • 101
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Years ago this was the place.

They have pepped the place up, even serve alcohol now. Atmosphere and view is great...main reason for going other than tradition. Ate here today, they had just reopened after annual winter closing. Ordered the special "flounder and shrimp". Got 5 shrimp smaller than mediums and tiny filet... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago
4lassiters
,
King, North Carolina
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
King, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

They have pepped the place up, even serve alcohol now. Atmosphere and view is great...main reason for going other than tradition. Ate here today, they had just reopened after annual winter closing. Ordered the special "flounder and shrimp". Got 5 shrimp smaller than mediums and tiny filet. Didn't complain....but very disappointed nonetheless. Been eating here 45 years, but not so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 4lassiters
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great selection of seafood dishes and oh the view is so great! I love how this old building's wooden floors creak as you walk.

Helpful?
Thank Roxanne F
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was not very good, ther was no seasoning. The atmosphere was poor. The best thing was a view of the water. The waitress did not even know what was available. We have gone to a great number of seafood restaurants. We would never return to this one.

Helpful?
Thank sls2016
Renee M, Owner at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, We are disappointed to learn that your experience was so unimpressive. We apologize that we failed in regards to the food, atmosphere and service offered to you. This was definitely not our intent and we sincerely apologize that we could not provide you with a more positive experience. We will be reviewing your comments with our staff, as your... More 

Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been eating at Sanitary all my life. The seafood is consistently fresh and prepared to order. In particular the local fish is always a special treat and something not to be missed. The dining rooms are large and open with lots of views of the water and the sound. They are particularly well suited for large parties. Prices... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
Wake Forest NC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had wanted to visit Sanitary Fish Market and Restaurant for a long time and so on a recent day trip my family and I stopped for lunch. The restaurant was clean and the wait staff was great. Attentive, friendly and the service was great. The food however, was average. The hush puppies were horrible, no flavor at all. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank tlkmerrill
Renee M, Owner at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review

Tlkmerrill, Although we are very happy to hear that you loved the decor and service, we are saddened to hear that you didn't enjoy the food equally. In the future, if you ever stop by again please feel free to alert your server when you are unhappy with the food you had ordered. We would have been more then happy... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

We were very pleased that we chose this restaurant. Our server was friendly and very attentive, food arrived quickly and was very good and the price was right.

Helpful?
Thank SusanMFH
leland,nc
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

We had lunch on a nice day sitting outside. The view was nice and service was good. The food left a lot to be desired especially at that price. Conch soup had mainly potato and little taste. Oysters were fried and came greasy. There are many other restaurants to eat in this town.

Helpful?
Thank HarryLeland_nc
Renee M, Owner at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Although we are happy to hear you enjoyed our atmosphere and service, our food should certainly stand up to the view. We are sorry to hear your soup and oysters were so disappointing, and appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. If you would like to discuss your meal further, please give us... More 

Swansboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

After many years we decided to eat lunch here, it was great the sea food was fresh and the service was good.The view was excellent and the clams were super along with a baked potato.

Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
Greenville, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

The name must be why so many people call this place Tony's. The hushpuppies, flounder, oysters, shrimp, and scallops are consistently excellent. The prices are fair, but most of all this restaurant is set on the intracoastal where one can eat and watch the boats cruise by at no-wake pur. Everyone in Carteret County has grown up eating at Tony's,... More 

Helpful?
Thank John T
Pilot Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

Good!!!! Anything-anyway you want and always good and fresh. Always go out of their way to make everything right

Helpful?
Thank Anne C

Travelers who viewed Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 501 Evans St, Morehead City, NC 28557
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Morehead City
  • Phone Number: 12522473111

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Large groups

Description

It is our goal to please every customer who walks through our doors. If you have a complaint please contact one of our managers.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 8:30 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 8:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Charlotte, North Carolina
4 months ago
Louisburg, North Carolina, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?