We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Elkin
Post
Inbox
Search

Southern on Main

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2018 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Location and contact

Improve this listing
About
We are a family owned restaurant focused on Southern comfort cuisine. Our goal is to serve delicious food with a small town charm.
PRICE RANGE
$7 - $25
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
American, Bar
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Table Service, Takeout, Free Wifi
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
112
34
9
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
112
34
9
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch shrimp and grits trout quiche brussels sprouts chicken pot pie homemade biscuits fried green tomatoes salad crostini brownie pulled pork ribeye ice cream potatoes small plates our waitress was very friendly
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was excellent! A pleasant surprise find for sure!! The pulled pork and mashed potatoes were delicious.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Kelly W
Reviewed November 9, 2019

We visited this restaurant on a recommendation & were not disappointed. We both had the chicken leg with mac & cheese, and it was amazing! Service was good, but it's a VERY busy place, so waiting a bit was only because of how our server...More

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank lpinnc
MarlaS330, Owner at Southern on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for visiting us. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the visit even though it was very busy. Our busy days sometimes can be a bit sporadic, so sometimes it can...More

Reviewed November 6, 2019

we were traveling on I77 and spent the night in this town, we looked on trip advisor for the best place in town and this was supposedly it. we sat upstairs as the hostess indicated that this had the best ambiance. it was so noisy,...More

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Steven F
MarlaS330, Owner at Southern on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Steven! I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. I do believe that you joined us on a Saturday night. We usually don't have to use the upstairs dining area regularly except for our busiest of nights, and on November...More

Reviewed October 23, 2019

This restaurant came highly recommended and the menu was creative so we looked forward to a nice lunch. Unfortunately, not only was mine not nice, it nearly made me sick after I left. I ordered the black eyed pea cake. When it came, not only...More

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Two-Ws
MarlaS330, Manager at Southern on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

My apologies for not getting to this response sooner! I actually did read this review when you left it, so I still remember that day. I am so sorry that you felt like the black eyed pea cake made you feel sick! I haven't had...More

Reviewed October 14, 2019

This was my second visit to Southern on Main, and I will go back. The food was delicious, and I liked sitting out on the patio. I love the old building - lots of character!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank GaPurpleGirl
MarlaS330, Owner at Southern on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the great review! It's wonderful to hear that we will have your business again in the future, and that you enjoyed the food.

Reviewed October 13, 2019

Seemingly only bar/restaurant in struggling downtown area. Very reasonably priced with good beer selection. Everything about it though seemed off- the service; the hostess; food we didn't order being delivered and finally a huge lag in ordering to food appearing. Its down the street from...More

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank ALLEN S
MarlaS330, Owner at Southern on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Allen. I apologize for not responding sooner. I did read this review at the time that it was left, so I do remember that you came on a particularly busy night, where we had some staffing issues. I'm sorry that the experience wasn't a...More

Reviewed October 12, 2019

My family and I stopped in for lunch while on a day trip in the area. The special was a salmon cake so I decided to give it a try. It was delicious! Others in my group had fried steak, chicken and shrimp & grits....More

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Slick5276
Reviewed October 10, 2019

I went and got a sushi to go several months back. Waited for 30 minutes for the order. Meanwhile I was able to look around while sitting at the first window table. It is so dark normally when I have been there for Karaoke that...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ChaneySue
Reviewed October 1, 2019 via mobile

Stopped in for Sunday brunch while touring local wineries. Very quaint with a terrific brunch selection. The fried green tomato Benedict was a real treat!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Journey664157
MarlaS330, Owner at Southern on Main, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2019

Thank you for coming to visit us this past Sunday. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your fried green tomato benedict! We hope we will be able to serve you again the next time you are in the area.

Reviewed September 29, 2019

Our Friday evening dinner started off a little rocky. It seemed as if our table on the outside patio was not assigned to anyone, so after waiting about 10 or 12 minutes, we spoke to the hostess; soon a waitress came over, and thereafter service...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Charleston_WVMike
MarlaS330, Owner at Southern on Main, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2019

I'm sorry to hear that your server did not come to greet you all promptly. I will talk to the staff to ensure that proper communication is being used. We are happy to hear that you ended up enjoying your meal. We hope that we...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Budget Inn
2 reviews
.46 miles away
Elk Inn
16 reviews
1.30 miles away
Days Inn by Wyndham Jonesville
267 reviews
1.59 miles away
Hampton Inn Jonesville/Elkin
1,069 reviews
1.69 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 63 nearby restaurants
Generations
128 reviews
.62 miles away
Harry's Place
67 reviews
.16 miles away
Theo's
137 reviews
.53 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Starmount Crossing Cinema V
9 reviews
.56 miles away
The Reeves Theater & Cafe
19 reviews
.08 miles away
Elkin Municipal Park
19 reviews
.79 miles away
Wanderlust Studio
7 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
957gregi
February 16, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from MarlaS330 | Property representative |
My apologies for not seeing this question 2 months ago. We do accept reservations, and they are encouraged on weekend nights, and any time for parties of 6 or more.
0
Votes
Phil M
September 1, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Season W | Reviewed this property |
I would assume they would be but I'd give them a call. Their number is (336)258-2144. As a matter of fact we just got home from there. I was going to review them when I saw your question. I need to tell you the place is... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing