We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$15 - $20
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
141
84
31
23
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
141
84
31
23
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi shrimp steak ginger dressing chef manolo college
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 9, 2022 via mobile

Overpriced and mediocre swill, with my plate over 2/3 full of cheap fried rice. Beef was overcooked and dried-out. At a price of about $23, or about 50% more than the mediocre Chinese food at Taste Grill, I thought that I would finally find good...Oriental food in small-town, boondocks Boone, NC. Was I ever wrong! Avoid this restaurant unless you enjoy paying top-dollar for cheap garbage.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 11, 2022

This was THE BEST Japanese steakhouse that me and my friend has ever eaten at. We both agreed, it was fantastic! I’ve eaten at this style restaurant from Charleston, Columbia, Rockhill and Charlotte, and lots of small places in between. This place has them all...beat! Even down to the ginger dressing on their salads! The sushi was also phenomenal. I highly recommend giving them a try if you’re in the area.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 20, 2022 via mobile

We were somewhat worried about trying this restaurant because of some of the reviews. Truth is that the roads were snow covered and most places were closed so we tried this as it was walking distance to the hotel. The host immediately took us to...a table. The server quickly took our order. The chef was quite adept at his twirling and flipping of the utensils. The show by the chef was not as good as these things used to be because with the mask it was hard to create the fun atmosphere. That said the chef did as well as could e expected with the current limitations. They start you with a sipping soup and salad. Both were very good. I got filet steak. The steak was excellent. It came with rice and vegetables. The rice was not as good as other Japanese places I have been to but the vegetables were very good if not a very large portion. The rice portion was huge but I would have much preferred less rice and more vegetables. They also gave a bonus of two grilled shrimp per person. The shrimp were exceptionally good. All staff were properly masked and polite and professional. It was an enjoyable experience. Shows you can’t always go by just the reviews.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 19, 2021

We love their Sushi! It is the best around, bar none. I am usually not a person that likes tempura or cooked Sushi, but the Goodpoint Roll and Crispy Goat Cheese bites are amazing. Very friendly and professional service starting at Host stand, then to...Steven (our server on 10/18 was extremely kind - something often lacking nowadays) and Michael behind Sushi bar as well. Very nice to see respectful young folks and that should be rewarded. Keep up the great work, I will be back!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gwen D, Owner at Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2021

Thank you so much for your rave review.

Reviewed August 29, 2021 via mobile

We have been going to this restaurant since I was in college in the 90’s. My son wanted to go there for his birthday, so we went. I was disappointed to see that no one in the restaurant was enforcing the mask mandate. Once we...were seated, our server was nice, but the chef has zero personality. Two in out party ordered the chicken and jumbo shrimp, as it stated on the menu. They were served the delicate shrimp with their meal. When I asked the chef he mumbled something and acted like he didn’t know what I was talking about. I complained to the server and he finally offered 10% off. That’s fine, but we did not get what we ordered. My steak was really bland and was over cooked. Kind of ruined our experience. Sad since this used to be the place to go.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 8, 2021 via mobile

We were always pleased with the food at Makoto’s for the past 13 years, however, this visit was a real disappointment. The sushi was tasteless and the presentation was sloppy. Not what it used to be. We were told that their regular sushi chef was...not working this evening. Bad business not to have your other chefs keep up the standards.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gwen D, General Manager at Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2021

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed June 29, 2021

Ordered some steamed rice with the meal, but what we got was definitely not asian rice (was a brown color, but not brown rice). Chicken and shrimp entrees were nothing special, but at the same time quite expensive. The sauce that came with it however,...amazing - had to keep that for future use. If I had a true complaint with the food, it would be with the steamed vegetable extra side, the broccoli and cauliflower had a soaked "burnt" taste to it. Maybe it's just that I'm jaded because of all the great Japanese places near my home, but Makoto's just didn't seem worth the price.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gwen D, General Manager at Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2021

Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed June 12, 2021 via mobile

We celebrated my sister’s birthday and had a great experience! Our server could not have been more attentive and made the evening even more enjoyable. The chef was very entertaining and did a wonderful job with our individual meals. The food was delicious and ample...enough for more than one serving. Diners should know that the restaurant does not take reservations.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gwen D, General Manager at Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2021

Thank you for your awesome feedback.

Reviewed May 2, 2021

Took my wife to makotos yesterday for her birthday. Was outside for 30 min. before opening to get in quick. It did us no good ,because the other tables in our section got service way before we did and we were the first table seated!!!...The chef was really good as he entertained three kids. Food was good except for the rice"pretty dry and pasty". Everyone at table ran out of drink twice!!!! My wife and I had to stop eating until we got refills, which in return your food gets cold. TIP SHOULD BE BASED ON SERVICE!!!! NOT JUST BECAUSE YOU WALK AROUND WASTING AIR!!! My experience with tip added to Bill instead of the wait staff working for it , is sorry people waiting on you. Why work when you get tips regardless of how you perform. Think it will probably be a long..........time before we go back. If ever!! Getting charged to support sorry people is just something hard for me to swallow.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gwen D, Owner at Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2021

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed the show from your chef. As stated on the receipt, 60% of the service charge goes to the chef with the remainder shared between server and busser. I will make the servers aware of...More

Reviewed April 17, 2021 via mobile

We had lunch their yesterday after having good memories from a previous year. Sadly, it was not the same experience. First, they used carrots instead of zucchini as a vegetable and they looked and tasted as being canned. The rice did not have any egg...and was loaded with soys sauce. My jumbo shrimp was good, but the marinated teriyaki beef was cooked in sauce. The chicken cutlets were fine. The salad was drowning in ginger dressing. I am a healthy eater so over use of sauces and soy sauce is not to my liking. Lastly, when we got our bill, no one mentioned that they would add 15% tip. I normally tip 20%, but almost added this amount to the 15% already added. Thankfully I questioned that disparity and added an additional tip to move up to 20%. They should be more forthcoming.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gwen D, Owner at Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. Makoto’s an independent restaurant that has been in business since 1981. Let us know how we can make it a 5 star. gwen@makotos-boone.com

Reviewed April 2, 2021 via mobile

Drowned everything in soy sauce and oil was terrible .terrible terrible terrible food experience .I will not eat there again.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gwen D, Owner at Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2021

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, this is the wrong business.

Reviewed April 2, 2021

As a European living in NY City, i have to admit that my food expectations substantially decline as soon as i leave the city. Well , this establishment managed to disappoint even further. Food all over the floor, dirty tables and peeling walls were the...tell-tale signs of what was about to follow- salty, greasy and overcooked food which gave me a heartburn later that night...More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 15, 2021

Took my 90 year old mom to Makoto's Saturday night. We were excited to take her to her favorite restaurant because she had been quarantined for a year. While the chef successfully flipped the first couple shrimp into the mouths of the customers, he could...not hit my mom's mouth so he started flipping balls of rice at her. He continued to flip the balls, getting rice all in her hair and all over her clothes while laughing about it (one or two balls would have been ok, but not to the extreme that he continued to do it). My mom tried to be a good sport about it but had rice all in her hair and all over her clothes (she is soon to be 91) by the time he was finished. I ordered the vegetable plate (knowing that Japanese food tends to be salty) but the vegetables were so salty and so charred that after they were dumped on my rice, my whole plate became unedible. So disappointed in this trip because it has been so good in the past. Not a happy customer this time though.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 16, 2021 via mobile

We live about 45 minutes away. We enjoy dining here. Most of our visits the food is very good. Every now and then it will be an off day. They definitely do a very good job at Covid safety protocol as well

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 5, 2020 via mobile

Went to Makoto’s for our granddaughter birthday. Food was ok but salty and a little burnt. My wife and I ordered shrimp and chicken combos. We received our shrimp but when our turn for the chicken the server had about three bites for me and...two for my wife . The food wasn’t flavorful or worth the sixty dollars for the two of us. They did put on a good show .Can’t recommend this place for the food .More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone
408 reviews
.08 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Boone, an IHG Hotel
425 reviews
.21 miles away
Mountain Villa Motor Lodge
24 reviews
.28 miles away
Holiday Inn Boone - University Area, an IHG Hotel
10 reviews
1.10 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mint Cuisine of India
364 reviews
.45 miles away
Come Back Shack
1,102 reviews
.60 miles away
Coyote Kitchen
931 reviews
.39 miles away
Stick Boy Kitchen
169 reviews
.46 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Appalachian Mountain Brewery
220 reviews
.96 miles away
The Greenway Trail
196 reviews
.73 miles away
Boone Mall
44 reviews
.89 miles away
Appalachian Cultural Museum
8 reviews
.89 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MAKOTO'S JAPANESE STEAK HOUSE AND SUSHI BAR, Boone - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar

Yes, Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar offers takeout services.

Makoto's Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4