We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Silk Route

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Indian, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
CUISINES
Indian, Asian
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveler rating
429
236
81
34
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
429
236
81
34
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butter chicken kulfi curry naan ice cream seafood prawns indian food best indian second floor great restaurant top floor recommend this restaurant great view zanzibar cashews stonetown
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 810 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Silk Route is one of the reasons I love coming to Stone Town. Some friends and I were in Zanzibar for 5 nights for the Sauti za Busara festival last year and ate here each night. We told staff where our favourite table was and...More

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Kellie W
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Good food, attentive waiter, nice and causy place at second floor, very reasonable price. Menu is reach with plenty of option we had chicken Tikka and mutton biryani fingerlicking good. MR. Dev and Jackson took good care of us.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Roam124618
Reviewed 2 days ago

Their food is nice and very reasonably priced. My favorite food there was the Kulfi dessert, must have when you go there.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sajjad E
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Ate here with spouse and grown daughter, who lives here and recommended it. Terrific location near the center of the Stonetown wharf area. Entry via a long stairway, so if you have issues on stairs, this is not the place for you. Seating is on...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Marc L
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Our concierge recommended this restaurant but it was disappointing. The food was quite tasty ( always beware of restaurants with large menus which try to please everyone) but it lacked atmosphere. Wouldn’t rush back.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank travelingaussie0
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had dinner here on new years eve. The food was great, particularly the samosas and lamb curry. Atmosphere was also nice and they catered for our non garlic request.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank doloresb36
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is basically an Indian restaurant. Uninspiring food - bad decor - not great service - don't bother.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Q7294TGjoannes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place has some excellent Indian dishes! I really enjoyed everything I ate. The ambience is decent, but it is on the second floor and was pretty hot. The staff was not very attentive and seemed like they did not care. The very steep and...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank BSC_CliffsideDr
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This my worst experience in the restaurant. The food wasn't fresh. They give us the wrong drink because they didn't have the drink we order.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Jose D
Reviewed 1 week ago

As sun rose we went spice had lunch at this location yes zzerr the affiliation of India meeting Africa also known as not the silk route lol nice ambience cool atmosphere as you breathe in and take in the tucker you'll enjoy the variety of...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Tej M
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SpicyIndianCouple
August 8, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Langsuan | Reviewed this property |
It is a Muslim town so I would expect they serve halal food but I can't be sure.
2
Votes
Craig B
June 4, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from GrietWesternCape | Reviewed this property |
They did when we were there in April 2016. There is however an ATM just up the street from them should there be an issue for whichever reason.
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing