We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Le Tandoor

$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Royal Rd, West of Town Centre, Grand Baie, Mauritius 0000
(230) 263 1378
Website
Today
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We were not expecting a lot after eating at happy rajah, but we loved it. Friendly staff, beautiful looking cocktails. More importantly very very good food for our group, with a mix of vegitarians and meat eaters. Amazing chicken tikka

Helpful?
Thank Carol H
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016 via mobile

Terrible is an understatement for this place. Food is filled with food colouring and is tasteless. Only the yellow daal is somewhat edible and the breads are just about ok. They were playing blaring Hindi music which made the inedible meal even more painful to get through. Better to goto Chez Ram which is a few minutes walk from this... More 

Helpful?
Thank vkhaitan12
Balkrishn, General Manager at Le Tandoor, responded to this review

Sir , i believe that you have not read the very first page of the Menu, i.e the introduction of our Restaurant , where it is clearly mentioned that the the food you would order , can be made according to your taste , mild , Medium , or Spicy way . The Music you mentioned about would be investigated... More 

Grand Baie
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

Food and location are nice. But service needs LOADS of improvement. Loved the tandoori chicken. My favorite of all !

Helpful?
Thank Sheshna92
Balkrishn, General Manager at Le Tandoor, responded to this review

Thank you Shesna , Your comments on Service is being investigated . More 

Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016

This is by far the best Indian food I've ever eaten! The Lamb Khorma and Chicken Makhni is worth dying for!

Helpful?
Thank Julie N
Balkrishn, General Manager at Le Tandoor, responded to this review

Thank you Julie , this review shall give a boost to our staff and management on their work . More 

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

I would have easily made this restaurant my regular spot for indian takeaway food but it gave me a lot of surprise the last time. I mean the menu didn't include VAT (LEGAL REQUIREMENT FOR VAT TO BE INCLUDED). I expected to have the VAT included in the price when I ordered my food. I had to tell the guy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tushan B
Balkrishn, General Manager at Le Tandoor, responded to this review

Hi Tushan , Shall do needful . More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Truly authentic Indian restaurant with Superb menu offerings. The food is deliciously authentic and the service is impeccable.

Helpful?
Thank EurekaZandberg
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015

location is superb . right at the grand baie. food quality is average. lots of improvement needed. service is so so.

Helpful?
Thank StarTraveller25
Balkrishn, Owner at Le Tandoor, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Glad to hear your experience . a full inquiry would be done on your experience at our restaurant . kind regards More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

The really friendly and nice restaurant "La Terrasse" next door was closed that day, so we decided to try the Indian restaurant "Le Tandoor". We were the only guests, but I thought the reason was because it was quite early, about 6:30 p.m. A sleazy haunting Indian - I don't know if he was the boss or a waiter -... More 

Helpful?
Thank prilfish
Balkrishn, Owner at Le Tandoor, responded to this review

Dear Sir , Glad to know your experience ! Would do a full investigation on your experience and definely there would be sanctions !! Would like to inform you that our restaurant , is a fully registered restaurant , with all inspection done by all relevant authorities , the establishment you mentioned earlier do not qualify as a restaurant ,... More 

Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

Enjoyed two dinners there with family and had Tandoor Chicken both the times. Rice is better than the naans. Bit expensive but worth trying in a cosy ambience.

Helpful?
Thank Ashim_GHY
Nakuru, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

Waste of money! We ordered Paneer Makhani and Vegetable curry with Naan and some Mushroom starters. The portions were so small! And the paneer makhani was more soup than paneer. The untrained waitress was the only one I saw - not surprising since there were no other customers! The toilet was dirty so I had doubts with this place anyways.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neelam S

Travelers who viewed Le Tandoor also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Riviere du Rempart, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Le Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$10 - $30
Cuisine
Indian
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Royal Rd, West of Town Centre, Grand Baie, Mauritius 0000
  • Location: Africa  >  Mauritius  >  Riviere du Rempart District  >  Grand Baie
  • Phone Number: (230) 263 1378

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Le Tandoor staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?