We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$4 - $25
CUISINES
American, Contemporary, Fusion
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
48
9
3
0
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
48
9
3
0
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moqueca mahi mahi pot pie calamari bread panini seafood side salad steak mother's day on the small side best burger i have ever had varied menu excellent food enjoyed our food chef cory
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Five of us ordered dinners at Amado to take back to our motel. My dinner was the walnut encrusted mahi mahi with pesto inguine and a side salad. The mahi mahi was cooked perfectly with the mahi mahi tender and moist, the pesto linquine was...the perfect combination of garlic and pine kernels, and the salad fresh and crisp. I also appreciated the crusty bread included with the meal as it made for great dipping into the pesto. Had we not been exhausted from a full day of hiking, I would have enjoyed eating in the restaurant which sported simple, clean decor. In this time of Covid, seating was well spaced apart, staff wore masks the entire time, diners wore masks except when eating, and customers picking up orders also wore masks. I so enjoyed my meal as did my 4 friends who ordered dinners ranging from a burger to the Brazilian Moqueca. This is definitely a restaurant to visit when in Tupper Lake.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 5, 2020 via mobile

Don't go to Amado in Tupper Lake. Outdoor dining only. We asked them to turn on the outdoor propane heater (mind you, several others were on around the seating area, but not the one behind us). When I thanked the gentleman who turned it on...his...response was " it's not even cold. This is the Adirondacks. Go to Florida.". And he repeated that So, we decided to leave and they told they didn't need our business. They don't need yours either.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Sightseer56818104520, Owner at Amado, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2020

I just love how people just lie on social media. That was NOT my response to lighting your heater and you know it. Here is the skinny. If you think just because we are serving you that means that you can treat us like servants,...More

Reviewed August 31, 2020 via mobile

We reserved one of the greenhouse huts. From the moment we arrived the grounds looked very inviting. We were greeted by Lillian and she let us know our table was all set. After walking inside the structure. It was delightful. So comfortable w an Alexa...to play whatever music you want and heat or air conditioner. The food was so good. I had the N.Y. strip and my husband had the seafood Alfredo. Everything was so yummy and great portions. I would recommend anyone to eat here. Make reservations for the greenhouse it’s amazing.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Sightseer56818104520, Owner at Amado, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2020

Thanks so much, was our pleasure

Reviewed August 16, 2020 via mobile

Cory and Lillian run a great place. Best restaurant in TLake. Burgers are great. Great game good. Beautiful outside dining. Relaxed pace!! Joe B

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Sightseer56818104520, Owner at Amado, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2020

Thanks so much, always our pleasure to take care of kind folks like yourselves. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed August 13, 2020

The owner was very rude. He thought I was from out of town, instead of a local. I can’t support business that don’t respect their customers. I’d say go to little Italy instead.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Sightseer56818104520, Owner at Amado, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2020

No I was not rude, you just did not like my answer. We held a Grenhouse reservation for 10 days for you, 2 hrs before you canceled and then called at 5:30 for a take out order. As is our policy all evening take out...More

Reviewed July 28, 2020

CAUTION: OWNER RENEGES ON RESERVATIONS AND REFUSES TO SERVE PATRONS AT WILL At first glance it appears Amado's has it's COVID response strategy in order with limited capacity inside, open tables outside, and even some outdoor sheds for individual groups. While that may be nice,...the individual(s) running this business are unstable. We made reservations at Amado's via phone Saturday night. After a long 12 hr day of hiking high peaks, we were looking for a nice, sit down meal to rest and nurture our tired bodies. Our children had high hopes of a cool soda and good meal with the family. There aren't many options for sit down eating these days, let alone in Tupper Lake; however our hotel recommended several options; Amado's being one of them. So we called to make a reservation. We should have heeded our first hint to stay away. The young lady that answered the phone was unable to answer any questions herself, so I could hear her politely consult a man in the background, who loudly retorted to the girl in an unnecessary string of angry terses that no reservations are available before 7:30 pm; so we went with 7:30 pm for a table of 6. With hindsight, I suspect the girl that answered the phone is fearful of answering any questions independently for fear of scathing criticism from the bully that owns/runs this place. We showered up, dressed up, and began walking from our hotel to downtown. We arrived earlier than expected (6:30 pm), but figured we'd stop in just to ask if they had any cancellations, because there were several "socially spaced" tables available outside, several outdoor huts available, and several indoor tables available. We asked and were told that all those tables had reservations and would fill up soon. Okay, no problem, so we walked the town and had some tasty appetizers at the Well Dressed Man (btw, great place, nice staff, highly recommended, but limited seating). At 7:15 pm a member of our group was walking to a nearby store to grab something and saw that most all of the outdoor tables were still available, so he dropped by and asked if maybe they were ready a few minutes early and they said no. So we stayed put until 7:30 pm (the time of our reservation) and when we entered Amado's the Owner (or whomever runs the place) aggressively charged out of the kitchen, curtly asked us to follow him outside, and then (in much the same fashion I overheard on the phone when making our reservation) told my entire family that we were "Annoying", that he was "refusing to serve us", and told us to go away (using not so nice words). We had done nothing to deserve this. We are "Any Family USA" and if they did this to us, they'd do it to anyone. What was really a bummer was that we had been waiting for an hour for our 7:30 pm reservation to arrive and, as parents, we had used all our tricks to keep our kids engaged and not focused on dinner; only to be told that we were being REFUSED SERVICE. It was a huge blow to our evening and difficult to explain to our children. I STRONGLY ENCOURAGE EVERYONE TO AVOID THIS RESTAURANT. We went around the corner and had a nice dinner at Little Italy. Great service, nice people. Note it is cash only.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Sightseer56818104520, Owner at Amado, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2020

Saturday night at 6 pm we receive a phone call for a reservation for the evening for6 people to have dinner, they were told the reservation would be at 7:30 pm. Shortly after, ten minutes, the wife comes inside the restaurant to check if they...More

Reviewed July 22, 2020 via mobile

We make an effort to have dinner at Amado and tonight we were again rewarded with an excellent meal in a pleasant setting. Lillian, the maitre d' is friendly and welcoming. Amado is the place for a leisurely meal, so don't be I n a...hurray. Enjoy a drink and expect to take your time and savor a superior entre.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Sightseer56818104520, Owner at Amado, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2020

Thank so much this is our mission on Amado sit down relax enjoy a great dinner in the Adirondack energy. Hope see you guys another time.

Reviewed May 10, 2020

We've just finished our Mother's Day takeout for two. We probably have enough leftovers for a light meal tonight. It was not for lack of trying; absolutely delicious! Sorry we could have enjoyed our meals "in" this year. Thank you Cory and Lilian for your...wonderful contribution to Mother's Day 2020.More

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 25, 2020

What a dinner tonight. With being under Stay-at-Home and almost everything closed we've been cooking at home every night and needed a break. Well thank God for Amado. Called and ordered two burgers and a Turkey Pannini. Oh, and a side of cole slaw. Told...it would be ready in 10 minutes. Picked it up and everything was still warm when we got it home. Let me begin by saying that the burgers were fantastic, cooked perfectly to order and garnished to perfection. My wife said the Pannini was perfect, and the home made cole slaw was superb. For three people this feast was $36.00! For this quality food? Unbelievable! My friends, I think that it is important to support local businesses, especially in this time of need. But when you support them and get a meal as good as this, well, it's really a no brainer. So here's a suggestion; if you haven't already, give Amado a try. If you've already had their food, check out the current menu and take advantage of the specials. You're really in for a treat! Thanks Amado!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 3, 2020

I have been here with my friends many times. We actually have been going here for awhile (when they still served breakfast which we miss). It's a warm and welcoming place. The food is worth the wait because I know the chef cooks everything Fresh...and to Perfection! This place is only run by the husband and wife, the husband being the chef and the wife being the hostess, server, barista, well everything else! (I think she finally got some assistance!) When we come up to the Adirondacks, this is definitely one of our favorite stops. I wish Amado's well and hope you make it one of your favorite stops too!More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Lakeview Motel
16 reviews
.40 miles away
Tupper Lake Motel
78 reviews
.57 miles away
Shaheen's Adirondack Inn
247 reviews
.87 miles away
Park Motel and Cabins
68 reviews
.95 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Little Italy
245 reviews
.13 miles away
Well Dressed Food
206 reviews
.06 miles away
The Hub
31 reviews
.89 miles away
The Swiss Kitchen
60 reviews
.06 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Wild Center
948 reviews
1.39 miles away
Raquette River Brewing
82 reviews
1.69 miles away
Raquette River Outfitters
29 reviews
1.87 miles away
Adirondack Sky Center & Observatory
21 reviews
2.16 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Amado staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing