We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor: This business is temporarily closed until 08/01/2021

Seyshima

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 12/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Seyshima
Updated 12/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Our Teppanyaki fine dining option restaurant. The word Teppanyaki is derived from teppan, meaning iron plate and yaki, which means grilled or broiled. Guests will have the chance to interact, while enjoying our wines & sake, prior to the Teppan show by our chef.
PRICE RANGE
$5 - $57
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Wine and Beer
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
94
17
8
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
94
17
8
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi tuna prawns tenderloin chicken katsu teppanyaki experience fresh tasting teppanyaki chef hot plate japanese restaurant relaxing place unique experience great fun main course small restaurant fine dining last night
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed April 5, 2020

we had a great night at this amazing unique restsurant in the seychelles during our stay at h hotel, this night is super special as only available to a small number so you must book early, but the show thats put on for your dining...is second to none, as good as I have seen else where in the world at other 5 star resorts dining, great fun, great meeting other hotel guests and stunning food.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
TheHResortSeychelles, Manager at Seyshima, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2020

Dear simon-darcy-ab, Thank you so much for your kind review, the pictures are amazing as well! We will be sure to let the Chef & service team know about your 5 star review. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Boudewijn Brink F&B...More

Reviewed March 7, 2020

When you think sushi restaurant on a tropical island, you expect to have a multitude of sushi options. Think again. They have tuna and salmon - that's it - and it's VERY mediocre tuna and salmon. This was a super disappointing meal - though the...staff was lovely and service was great. But they need to seriously rethink the menu!!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
TheHResortSeychelles, Manager at Seyshima, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2020

Dear NYCEricT, Thank you for your review. I will speak to the team to gain a better understanding of why you were under the impression that we only have Salmon & Tuna. As can be seen in our menu on the website. We include a...More

Reviewed February 27, 2020 via mobile

Uninviting atmosphere with bright lights. Food was commercial kind of sushi. Not authentic Japanese. Frankly did not enjoy it. Sorry.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
TheHResortSeychelles, Manager at Seyshima, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2020

Dear kakki6, Thank you for your review. We will discuss your feedback with our maintenance team to see what the options are in regards to the lighting, we tend to keep it bright so that our guests can see, in detail, how our Chef's are...More

Reviewed February 25, 2020

We ate here twice on our stay at H Resort and the food was excellent. Freshly cooked in front of you. The Sushi was so fresh tasting and created whilst you watched. Nice atmosphere with everyone seated around the cooking area so you could watch...your meal prepared. We enjoyed the experience and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Recommended.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
TheHResortSeychelles, Manager at Seyshima, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2020

Dear 761samb2015, Thank you very much for your kind review. We will be sure to let the team know you enjoyed the food & service. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Kind regards, Boudewijn Brink F&B Ops Manager

Reviewed February 23, 2020

We had dinner here with quite high expectations, the food and experience was good but not outstanding and not worth the price. It was also disappointing is that many non-alcoholic options such as mineral water where not available at all (e.g. non-alcoholic beer) or only...water in large bottles at a very high prices. Being pregnant, it felt like I was left with the kids' options only like sweet sodas or paying more for water than a glass of wine/beer. It would have been reasonable to offer me to have a glas and pay for it rather than the whole bottle if the smaller bottles where not available.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
TheHResortSeychelles, Manager at Seyshima, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2020

Dear 763kerstinf, Thank you for your review & feedback. We strive to provide the best possible value for money within the limitations set by the cost of importing goods to our little piece of paradise, I will take your feedback to revise our current offering...More

Reviewed February 15, 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed a lot our dinner in Seyshima. The food was good and fresh, the service was excellent, and above all the surroundings were breathtaking, as the restaurant is built in the middle of a lake. Unique experience.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
TheHResortSeychelles, Manager at Seyshima, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2020

Dear 777Gilad, Thank you very much for your 5 star review, we appreciate it. I will be sure to let the team know that we have received another excellent review in regards to the service & food. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards,...More

Reviewed January 16, 2020

Seyshima is the best sushi restaurant that I have ever been too. I loved the intimacy of the restaurant. It gets booked quickly so book early. I also loved being able to watch the food being made

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
TheHResortSeychelles, Manager at Seyshima, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2020

Dear babybhe, Thank you so much for your kind review, we appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. I will be sure to let the team know that you had a great evening. Kind regards, Boudewijn Brink F&B Ops Manager

Reviewed December 27, 2019

This was the meal of the trip for us and second place wasn’t close. Another beautiful setting (the entire hotel has placed their restaurants really intelligently) and for $100 we had ribeye, chicken Katsu, prawns, tuna and a lobster tail. Just fabulous value and everything...was delicious. Ignore any bad reviews, they’re nonsense.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
TheHResortSeychelles, Manager at Seyshima, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2019

Dear Chuckie212, Thank you so much for another kind review, we appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Glad to hear that your experiences in Trader Vic's, Eden, and Seyshima were all excellent! I will be sure to let the team know...More

Reviewed December 22, 2019

Last Night on Dec.22/2019 we had a booking for the 21:00 Full experience, we were very disappointed with the way the restaurant changed, the chef is a new person who had no clue and cannot Speak Proper English to explain, he rushed everything and almost...mixed the orders, thinking that we will have the usual Teppanyaki experience, we have always visited Seyshima many times before, so we know how it will be. In General, we were scammed, it was not even busy, only five persons in total were around including 3 of us, the whole thing was horrible (Starters, Main and Dessert). The Servers were attentive and serving with smile. Paid high price for below street food average. Not worth going there anymore, not recommended at all.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
TheHResortSeychelles, Manager at Seyshima, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2019

Dear Idham Q, Thank you for your detailed review, I can assure you that we will conduct the relevant investigation to determine how this situation came about, as this is clearly unacceptable, my sincerest apologies on behalf of the F&B team. Thank you for complementing...More

Reviewed December 5, 2019 via mobile

We tried this Japanese restaurant and it was excellent especially the teppanyaki. Highly recommended!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
TheHResortSeychelles, Public Relations Manager at Seyshima, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2019

Dear jadh868, Thank you so much for your review and we are so happy to hear about your experiences at Seyshima. Your words are very important to us and I have shared it with the team - thank you. Looking forward to welcoming you back...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
STORY Seychelles
1,515 reviews
.10 miles away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Beach Resort and Casino
2,544 reviews
.12 miles away
Augerine Guest House
260 reviews
.19 miles away
Coral Strand Smart Choice
2,767 reviews
.31 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Eden
286 reviews
.12 miles away
La Perle Noire
1,102 reviews
.33 miles away
Mahek Restaurant
1,210 reviews
.37 miles away
Trader Vic's Seychelles
416 reviews
.12 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Gerry's Private Charters
92 reviews
.29 miles away
Beau Vallon Beach
2,072 reviews
.51 miles away
Dive Seychelles Underwater Centre
184 reviews
.11 miles away
Beach Shak
17 reviews
.75 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ypying93
November 30, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from marion392016 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, absolutly, it is a very small but cosy restaurant!
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing