We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Moose Lodge Boathouse

Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
373 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Wed - Sun 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 44: English reviews
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

To paraphrase Seinfeld...they know how to TAKE a reservation - just not KEEP a reservation. Told us we'd have an outside table at 7:30 - got there and told us at least 1/2 hour - so to sit inside and they'd move us - a table cleared and they didn't move us - It's very noisy and cold inside with... More 

1 Thank Barbara F
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Service was good, View A+. Appetizers were delish, but set up for a disappointing main course. Ordered a strip steak but ended up with an "end" not a strip. Lacked flavor and was boring. Did not meet our expectations and for the price was not a good value.

Thank philly_mikeh
Mark S, CEO Whiteface Club Companies at The Moose Lodge Boathouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding a recent visit to the Moose Lodge Boathouse Restaurant. I'm glad that you enjoyed the views and scenery and the service met your expectations and that you enjoyed your appetizers. I'm sorry that you found your steak boring. I would like to point out that our menu does not have "Strip Steaks". The steak... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I figured with the atmosphere and reputation that the food would be so good... Unfortunately not even close. We went on a Sunday for the burgers and small menu expecting that if that is what you offer you should do them all well. I ordered the loaded burger which was expensive but again I thought it would be worth it.... More 

3 Thank plainjane078
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were recommended this restaurant by friends of ours - and were very disappointed. Let's start with what went well: the setting is beautiful with the Boathouse overlooking Lake Placid with wonderful views of Whiteface Mountain. Unfortunately this is the high point. We ordered the "plain steak" on the menu for a hefty $26. What was not shown on the... More 

2 Thank nvrau
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We sat down for dinner at The Moose Lodge on the 4th. It was a great meal, set on the deck overlooking the lake. It is more of a "small plates" menu, which was great since we got to try everything, including the amazing onion rings. Actually, everything we had was great; snapper tacos, flatbread, caprese salad, onion rings and... More 

Thank April1979_07093
Mark S, CEO Whiteface Club Companies at The Moose Lodge Boathouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments and your appreciation of our menu as well as the location on the Lake. One of the biggest challenges that we, along with other seasonal restaurants experience, is both the attraction of seasonal staff and the training of them. Each year we work on training every position including hosts, servers, kitchen staff, seasonal... More 

Lake Placid, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We live nearby and are members of the Whiteface Club. We have eaten here often over many years. We went there for a light meal, but Sunday is now a light fare limited menu only. This year we had good service, and an unacceptable meal. (In past years the service has been variable to poor, but the food was always... More 

1 Thank campkehonka
Mark S, CEO Whiteface Club Companies at The Moose Lodge Boathouse, responded to this review

I'm shocked as well as disappointed to hear of this experience. Over the past 12 years we have received rave reviews for our hamburgers. If this reviewer is indeed a repeat customer, they have experienced this and have thus returned often as they indicated. Why would they never wish to return over a bad hamburger experience? As with all guests... More 

Lake Placid, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

Despite being a member of the Whiteface Club and having had a reservation I was advised my table for six including two children would be ready shortly, just being cleaned. Not so; Although I was told it would just be a few more minutes I was then told the table would be for someone else and a different table would... More 

3 Thank Brendan G
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

a smart group will go elsewhere. we arrived a few minutes early for our reservation, and it was just a total disappointment. we overheard the head hostess tell the junior two which tables to prioritize (ours last). after an hour, we just left. we'd been before, and sure, the service was slow (locals will tell you it usually is, so... More 

2 Thank rufustravels
Mark_Sperling, CEO, Whiteface Club Companies at The Moose Lodge Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Rufustravels, Thank you for your comments. We regret that you had an unfavorable experience at our Moose Lodge Restaurant. Unbeknownst to you perhaps was that this was our opening weekend and we were overwhelmed. As with any seasonal restaurant, opened Memorial Day through Labor Day, we start each season with new staff, some experienced and some requiring training and... More 

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

The Moose Lodge is closed for the season. We wanted to go there while we were in Lake Placid. We were too late the first night and then found out they were closed for the season. The setting is terrific. Their food? We never got to find out. Their website? It said they were open. Maybe next year...

Thank StellaDallas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

We have lived on the Whiteface Inn Club grounds for 12 years and the Boathouse is a short walk and our closest restaurant. The setting has always been unparalleled. Stunning waterside decks and views. Now thanks to a new chef and a decision to switch to a lighter tapas menu, it is also the BEST FOOD in town! Every dish... More 

Thank Foodie_Bell

Travelers who viewed The Moose Lodge Boathouse also viewed


Been to The Moose Lodge Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    4.5 of 5 stars
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Open Hours
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 373 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Lake Placid
  • Phone Number: 5185232551

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Moose Lodge Boathouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?