We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
This Hotel and restaurant is owned by Lalibela Church dioceses administration and this hotels is the 1st hotel built in lalibela before 60 Years.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night
CUISINES
African, European, Ethiopian
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveler rating
107
162
58
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
107
162
58
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch injera tibs pasta beef bread juice fries pancakes beautiful garden ethiopian food ate here nice restaurant sit outside food was fine great view trees
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Seven Olives has a charming layout with pink painted hotel building, beautiful light through the trees and flowers on the hill, and basket-woven ceiling inside the main restaurant lodge. Going to experience the scenery and perhaps traditional injera+wot is worth it... Some of the other...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 789gabriellel
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I came to this place based in previous reviews expecting something slightly better than the just average food one can find anywhere in Lalibela. Unfortunately, I didn’t find it. Food here is just average, if most. If I was a guest of the hotel maybe...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank MundocomoCasa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a popular spot for those taking a lunch break from the church tours. It is a nice, peaceful location away from the busy town but expect to pay tourist prices and wait for your food.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sarah G
seven o, General Manager at Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you! this b/c we provide you a fresh food which will bee cooked as per your order, not like others from the refrigerator. Sintayehu Fekadu

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food was adequate. We had lunch but the sandwiches were like doorstops, the cheese was so hard and inedible and the bread was burnt. The ladies toilet was not working Very disappointing....

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank koala602
seven o, General Manager at Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

please let us know the date and time this occurs? thank you for your feedback

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for lunch and had a mixed experience. Cool place, food was Tasty (but unfortunately cold when served), service very inattentive and slow. But a good place to hang out .

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 347matthiasd
seven o, General Manager at Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This highly recommended restaurant in Lalibela was originally a hotel built by the daughter of former emperor Haile Selassie, due to the fact that she enjoyed coming to visit the Christian holy site of Lalibela but didn’t have a nice place to stay. Our guide,...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Steve R
seven o, General Manager at Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

our aim is to make our customers happy and healthy. thank you! Sintayehu Fekadu

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel restaurant with a great view. We had tibs (meat stew), kita and injera bread and berbere. All delicious. It’s a very popular restaurant and was really busy. The rest rooms are clean and service is quick. Definitely recommend.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank travelloverCapeTown
seven o, General Manager at Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

your feedback is our back bone. thank you!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed a very tasteful lunch and fresh juice in the garden. A welcoming pause from the hectic church visits. Both Etiopien and continental cuisines.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ETWTraveller
seven o, General Manager at Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for the injera. We enjoyed the quiet garden after a day walking around town. The injera plate was massive and delicious. Well worth the stop!!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank mf628
seven o, General Manager at Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Eat inside or on the deck. We had lunch and dinner at this restaurant. The food was excellent and the views wonderful. The service waitors and the restaurant owner were very nice to us.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank lakeMIbeachbum
seven o, General Manager at Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you!

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing