We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boatyard Grill

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
At The Boatyard Grill you can enjoy delicous locally sourced steak and seafood while looking out over the breathtaking waterfront view. All of our food comes in fresh everyday, you won't find a better dining experience in the town. We are happy to host large groups and private events. If you are planning a rehearsal dinner, wedding reception, family gathering, cocktail party, class reunion or a casual BBQ or Clambake, look no further! We will make your special event a waterfront event to remember! Our experienced management team will make planning your event virtually effortless. We have a variety of party offerings that can meet every budget and catering need. Choose from our Waterfront Parties,
PRICE RANGE
$10 - $30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Waterfront
Reviews (1,152)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveler rating
524
368
153
51
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
524
368
153
51
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood coconut shrimp steak beet salad mahi mahi potatoes cayuga lake view of the water call ahead friday night an appetizer cooked perfectly long wait outdoor seating finger lakes inlet appetizers
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I had dinner here last night. I had the best fish tacos I've ever tasted which our wonderful server recommended. My boyfriend had the seafood fra diavolo and it did not disappoint. This restaurant is at a beautiful location by the water....I would definitely return if I come back to the Finger Lakes region again.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
BoatYardGrill, General Manager at The Boatyard Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for visiting with us. It is always pleasing when our customers elect to write a review so our future customers can see what we are all about… thank you. We appreciate your comments about our pricing, service and products.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The Boatyard grill is in fantastic surroundings, but the menu and the quality of the food are disappointing. Not enough attention to detail, poorly executed dishes and very little choice. Felt like a fast food restaurant unfortunately.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed August 13, 2021

We (family of 4) ate here on a very busy Wednesday evening during our Thousand Islands/Ithaca/Watkins Glen vacation. We did not call ahead, and did have a long wait, but every restaurant is experiencing staffing shortages these days and they were doing their best to...manage the amount of people they had coming in with the number of servers they had available on an evening where people just seemed to be lingering at their tables longer than expected. The employees at the host/hostess stand were constantly being approached by customers (some patient, some disgruntled), and they were consistently professional and polite. That being said…when we did get seated, service was VERY fast and efficient. Our appetizers and meals were all excellent…salmon, stuffed shrimp, a burger, and a seafood/pasta meal (I forget the name!), plus dessert (chocolate cake for 2, shared)…all VERY good! We would definitely eat here again.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed August 5, 2021 via mobile

Great restaurant with lovely view of the lake. We ate outside in a covered tent with the sides up. Appreciated the ability to look at the menu on our phones. We felt safe because of the COVID restrictions in place. Food was delicious. This was...the best meal we’ve had on our vacation.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
BoatYardGrill, General Manager at The Boatyard Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2021

Every review like yours helps us get the word out that we represent great value and caring service. Thank you

Reviewed July 24, 2021

We have a place in Aurora NY and this is one of our favorite restaurants! Always have great service and food. Yes its true, if you call ahead you will probably wait about 30 mins.....this place HOPS! If you don't make those" call a head"...reservations plan to wait an hour and that starts before 5:30 PM. And if the hostess claims 30 mins I would approach the desk at that time to get an update. Maybe the hostess should let you know when you call what the procedure is so you can be prepared.....We love the calamari for appetizer. Their alcoholic beverages are perfect, "rich" pours which we and everyone else appreciates. We miss the Seafood Tower and hope it will return soon. Generous portions and always cooked to perfection. One of the few restaurants to serve fresh artisan bread with garlic butter. Our server Marissa, along with every server in the past have been friendly and attentive.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
BoatYardGrill, General Manager at The Boatyard Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2021

Thak you for visiting. It's always nice to learn that we have exceeded expectations. We never lose sight that our guests have a range of options available when seeking out a business to meet their needs. Therefore, your praise today means more than ever.

Reviewed July 16, 2021 via mobile

Good ambiance, definitely call ahead as it gets busy. Food was delicious and prices were reasonable. Definitely recommend grabbing a drink and sitting by the water.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
BoatYardGrill, General Manager at The Boatyard Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2021

What a wonderful way it was for us to start the day reading your review about what we offer the public and the manner in which we serve, our greatest asset, our clientele. Please revisit us and introduce yourself so that we may thank you...More

Reviewed July 11, 2021

We did the call ahead service for 7:00. We arrived at 7 and were told it would be a half hour wait. At 8:00, I approached the hostess who said that people were just not getting up from their tables. At that same moment, a...gentleman came up and notified the hostess that his table hadn't had anyone take his order in half an hour... this was the true reason my table wasn't ready in over an hour. The hostess also let me know that she decided to seat a large table before the tables for two that were already on the list. I emailed the manager hoping I would get some sort of apology, it has been many days, no response at all. I usually do not write bad reviews as I feel terrible for small business going through pandemic circumstances, but this was really poor. We waited until 8:15, had to leave as other restaurants would soon close. I just wish the hostess would've been trained to take care of the customers, this was very poor service... we will not be back. This was prime time for restaurant dining, we lost our evening out at a nice restaurant due to the lack of courtesy of this staff. Just be honest, let your customers know that the wait is over an hour so that we can go elsewhere or stay and know it will be a while. Very poor, please fix this for others. For those of us who don't go out much, this is a terrible experience.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed June 27, 2021 via mobile

We waited for an hour for dinner. Service was friendly and efficient. Clam chowder and salad wedge were both good. My steak was overdone for medium rare but was still tasty. Outside dining was nice with a breeze overlooking the canal. Lots of people arriving...via boat.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
BoatYardGrill, General Manager at The Boatyard Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2021

Thank you for selecting us and for revealing your positive view of our business with others. We strive to deserve accolades like yours every single day and we will never tire of hearing that we please our treasured customers and clientele

Reviewed June 26, 2021 via mobile

Delicious food, lovely waterside waiting area, and a shout out to our server, Gina who made our anniversary wonderful.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed June 22, 2021

Waited 2 hours for food to be served on 06/11/21 @7pm only to have the wrong food delivered. Some of the food was substituted because they ran out of vegetables and potatoes. Tried to pass off a cheaper cut of meat claiming it was prime...beef. They served us like we wouldn't notice. Called manager who removed unwanted items from bill. Not even an apology or comp drink or dessert. This place is a poor excuse to run a business, blaming it on having too many people at one time. Did they ever get the memo about "Reservations" ?? We will never return.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?3  
BoatYardGrill, General Manager at The Boatyard Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2021

Dear Hamradio1957, I am sorry that you had such a bad experience with us, that is not typical of our service at all. If you would like to, can you email us at info@boatyardgrill.com regarding your experience. Again, we apologize, and we would like to...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
1,107 reviews
1.13 miles away
Super 8 by Wyndham Ithaca
903 reviews
1.13 miles away
The Hotel Ithaca
260 reviews
1.24 miles away
Canopy by Hilton Ithaca Downtown
65 reviews
1.25 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Purity Ice Cream Co
665 reviews
.57 miles away
Saigon Kitchen
339 reviews
.93 miles away
Ithaca Bakery
733 reviews
.69 miles away
Maxie's Supper Club and Oyster Bar
387 reviews
.92 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ithaca Falls Natural Area
252 reviews
.96 miles away
Ithaca Farmers Market
317 reviews
.20 miles away
Ports of New York Winery
98 reviews
.93 miles away
Sciencenter
153 reviews
.48 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
franksH5181LS
July 26, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from dad2girls | Reviewed this property |
They will not take reservations, but I believe you can do call ahead seating. The wait isn't horrible, and to pass the time they have a very nice bar and plenty of beautiful scenery to pass the time.
1
Vote
DianneQ6
September 23, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Joellmk | Reviewed this property |
They do not have reservations but it is worth calling ahead to get on the preferred seating list, which will cut your wait time in half.
1
Vote
Roger H
August 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from arnold t | Reviewed this property |
Boatyard will have to answer this question!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Boatyard Grill

Yes, The Boatyard Grill is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Boatyard Grill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5