We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Jake's offers a varied menu- featuring polished flavors and local ingredients whenever possible. Menu choices range from locally raised beef burgers to elegant composed seasonal dishes-something for everyone! The atmosphere is comfortable, casual and inviting. You can enjoy the beautiful panoramic view of the water front from the inside or out. This is not your white table cloth kind of place. We want you to laugh out loud, relax and just be as you are. Our guests come in flip flops and shorts, in suits and ties, and everything in between. Come join us-good things happen at Jake's!
PRICE RANGE
$8 - $28
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Pub, Bar
FEATURES
Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Television, Waterfront
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
98
53
18
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
98
53
18
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger pork chop pasta shrimp strip steak crab cakes view of the water beautiful view recommend this restaurant feel comfortable this wonderful place service was a little slow local ingredients seasoned food canton school college
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 21, 2020

We went to Jake's for a friend's birthday. We had looked at the menu online before arriving. My wife ordered the Pasta special. When it came out, it was not what she ordered. She mentioned it to the waitress and she said the menu she...saw was from the day before. My wife tried her food but did not like it and sent it back. We were still charged for the meal. We asked to speak to a manager, but the server mentioned the chef was in charge and offered to take 50% off the meal that we did not eat. The server was the only one we spoke to about our displeasure. We understand that Covid has been difficult for many in the restaurant business. But, if you are going to open up and provide service, you need to adapt to the situation. As menus are mostly only available online, you should ensure they are up to date and the server specifically has the proper information. There were QR codes on the table to view a menu, but we had to download an app to view it. Perhaps some WiFi in the dining area would help. Unfortunately, we do not plan to visit Jake's on the Water anytime again soon.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
HannawaJakes, Owner at Jake's on the Water, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2020

Thank you for the feedback. We have, temporarily, moved to an electronic menu to provide a touchless option for our guests - unfortunately updating the menu is a bit more challenging than it should be. Our server should have been aware of the error when...More

Reviewed February 18, 2020 via mobile

Went for dinner for my daughter’s birthday. This is a lovely venue, with a wonderful water view. My husband and son in law ordered walleye, which is one of the nicest, cleanest tasting fish from our local waters. It came smothered in teriyaki sauce, so...you could not enjoy the taste of this nice, mild fish. There was no choice for a prime cut of beef, only strip steak, which was somewhat tough (not the most tender cut of meat to begin with and easily overcooked) and was underwhelming, at best. The pork chop my daughter ordered, came, after an hour wait, as dry as sand. It was also covered with raw slivers of beets, turnip and apple that were not spiced in any way. The presentation of the meals were lovely. It was disappointing that the taste and preparation of meats completely missed the mark. I am an adventurous eater, and have sometimes been surprised at what combinations well in a dish. This is not the case here, however. If I could make a suggestion, it was be to let the flavors of the high quality, local ingredients be the stars of the show. As it currently stands, it is definitely not a place that we will return.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed November 28, 2019

There were 3 of us and all ordered something different from the menu. We all thought the food was excellent.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
HannawaJakes, Owner at Jake's on the Water, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2019

Thanks Steve, we hope to see you again!

Reviewed November 17, 2019

This was a very nice restaurant right on the water. Unfortunately, it was dark when we went for dinner, but it seems like it would have a beautiful view. The food was good. Service was a little slow and I had a dietary restriction, which...caused a bit of a problem for the kitchen. The menu had notations for Gluten Free food, but when the entree was brought, it was clearly not Gluten Free. I did tel my server about the dietary issue and she brought me Gluten free bread, so I know she heard me. They nicely remade my dinner, but I had to wait for the second meal. They did comp my dinner. If I return, I will try to be more clear with my server when ordering.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 29, 2019 via mobile

We are new in the area. My husband took us for a dinner to Jake’s on the Water. Its view is unbelievable. So impressive. Inside decor is also so nice. So, my first impression was great. Then, our appetizer arrived. It was a huge sushi...roll. It was too hard to eat and the taste was okay. Then, the handmade pasta and burgers came. The pasta was too thick and burgers were okay. So, my impression changed after I tasted their meals. But I will definitely go there again and will try some entrees. It definitely deserve a second chance.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Marc C, Owner at Jake's on the Water, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to provide some feedback, we do hope you return soon.

Reviewed August 28, 2019 via mobile

I have been coming to thos area for work and to visit family and have never stumbled upon this place until now. Everything was great! Great view! Great (and creative) menu (lots of maple and bacon added dishes) and great service! I highly recommend this...place. Wear your shorts and ball cap, wear a business suit, wear what you have on-- you will feel comfortable and will blend in. If you come to Canton/Potsdam area for work, school or college visits, check this place out.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

We’ve had dinner at Jake’s 3 times, and it never disappoints. It is our favorite restaurant in the Potsdam area. The atmosphere is lovely, and you can eat outside when the weather is mild. The food options are unique, and it is fresh and well-prepared....The staff is friendly and accommodating.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Marc C, Owner at Jake's on the Water, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thanks so much for taking the time to offer feedback, as a staff, we love to know when we delivered a great experience. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

We had dinner at Jake’s and the food and service were superb! Our waitress was efficient and attentive to our needs. Our drinks were served in a timely manner as was our food. The Pan-Seared Scallops were the best I’ve had in this area. Jake’s...uses local foods and the flavor is there. The building is beautiful, clean, and well maintained. The outdoor seating is beautiful along the lake is gorgeous. We had a key lime desert which melted in our mouths. I personally can’t wait to go back again and enjoy this wonderful place.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 4, 2019 via mobile

I visit 2 close friends every summer. For the last 5 years we have made it a tradition to go here for dinner. I love the atmosphere, the food, the drinks, the staff, even the bathroom soap! I have never had a disappointing meal. So...good every time.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed June 17, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I dined here last weekend ( Fathers Day) and had a lovely meals. We had a reservation, which was good, and the service was fast, and our waitress was attentive, polite, and knowledgeable about the menu. We had calamari, which came with...a great aioli, hot peppers & tomatoes. Asparagus & lemon soup was excellent, nice blend of flavors. We had crab cakes next, and they were large, again with a nice aioli sauce. Pasta riggies with shrimp, large portion had a nice taste, a little spicy. My husband had dessert, homemade carrot cake, with frosted piping around edge. Tasty nuts, and raisins (?) The prices are on par with good food. We recommend this restaurant. Wonderful decor,view of the water is great.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
HannawaJakes, Owner at Jake's on the Water, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2019

Thanks so much for the kind review - you enjoyed a beautiful day, given the recent challenging weather, a day we all enjoyed! Thanks again for the review, and for choosing Jake's.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Potsdam Inn
88 reviews
4.77 miles away
Scottish Inns Potsdam
152 reviews
4.84 miles away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
541 reviews
5.38 miles away
Northern Family Motel
78 reviews
6.66 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Barking Dog Saloon
13 reviews
1.66 miles away
Raquette River Pub
8 reviews
4.06 miles away
Thai Cuisine Restaurant
171 reviews
4.36 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Stone Valley Trail
16 reviews
4.00 miles away
Trinity Church
13 reviews
4.33 miles away
Potsdam Public Library
8 reviews
4.46 miles away
Maxfields
11 reviews
4.53 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Jake's on the Water staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing