We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
CUISINES
Italian, American, Bar, Seafood
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Television, Wine and Beer, Waterfront, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
108
82
33
17
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
108
82
33
17
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prime rib salad pork osso bucco seitan ahi tuna chicken burger fries mohawk river homewood suites next door outdoor seating wonderful meal server entrees ny
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 16, 2021 via mobile

Nice location next to the river. Friendly staff and a relay nice clam showder with a twist. The pepper filet steak with pepper sauce and asparagus vas really good. Recommend

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
Watersedge L, General Manager at The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2021

We're glad you were able to enjoy a nice meal by the waterfront! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed October 15, 2021

I ate here today with friends and we had a great experience. Our server was very attentive. My friends ordered the Seafood Risotto and both said it was wonderful. I had the Steak Tips and every bite was delicious. The steak tips with the garlic-rosemary...reduction sauce were tender and were served with perfectly roasted potatoes and roasted Brussels sprouts. The view of the river was peaceful.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Watersedge L, General Manager at The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2021

Thank you for coming to dine with us Linda! We're so glad to hear that everyone enjoyed their food and the views. We hope you'll come back to dine with us again soon.

Reviewed September 3, 2021

Beautiful clean rooms. Great bar. We were seated in the back bar area. Service was good but not memorable. Food was fine Good appetizer list and broad menu. Seems more of a bar atmosphere. Getting a table was a bit confusing on the managements part....The outside hostess has to come in and help with finding a table. When we left the place was still half empty. It was a Wed night.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Watersedge L, General Manager at The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2021

Hi Tom, thanks for coming in to dine with us. We apologize for any confusion and will be sure to address this with the staff. We hope to see you back soon.

Reviewed August 23, 2021

Outside lunch service starts at 12 noon. Why make your customers wait in line in the hot sun or in the rain in an uncovered area when you could easily seat them first come first serve with the understanding that table service does not begin...until noon? Why are you punishing your customers when seating is available right in front of us. Does not make sense to me. May have to find another place for lunch!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Watersedge L, General Manager at The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2021

Hi there, we apologize for any confusion related to the opening times. We will work on better communicating this. The reason this policy is in place is that the staff still is setting up for service and generally, we have a team meeting prior to...More

Reviewed August 22, 2021

Our group has now been made to wait in the hot sun and most recently in the rain, because "outside dining doesn't start until noon". People could surely be seated prior to noon with the understanding that service doesn't start until that time. Inside dining...is no problem and has no wait. It is difficult to understand this new procedure, as it certainly doesn't have the customers as a priority. We are contemplating having our luncheon meetings at other venues due to this ludicrous policy.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Watersedge L, General Manager at The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2021

Hi there, we apologize for any confusion related to the opening times. The reason this policy is in place is that the staff still is setting up for service and generally, we have a team meeting prior to the start of service. We are also...More

Reviewed August 17, 2021

I have never given any location a single star, but you need to enter the establishment to begin to garner a multi-star rating. I called to make a reservation about 2 weeks in advance, not specifying inside or outside, I was told because we would...be there at 4 PM we wouldn't need one. Sounds logical. My wife is reservation crazy. She called two days before and was told the same thing. The weather wasn't great the day we went and at 4PM their outside area would not be ready. We were met at opening (owner) and told that since we didn't have a reservation we were out of luck as the inside was fully reserved! Another group of four waiting was told the same thing. Normally I would write it off, but two phone calls, same response on the phone call, and no place to go on a Saturday night. The owner did recommend a quaint little place in Schenectady's Little Italy which worked out, but still tough as we had traveled a distance and were looking foward to their menu choices.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Watersedge L, General Manager at The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2021

Hi Charles, we apologize for this. The miscommunication is definitely our fault and we apologize. Please email us at customerservice@thewatersedgelighthouse.com

Reviewed August 2, 2021

We were there to celebrate my step sons 28th birthday and my hubby’s recent retirement. The restaurant was very accommodating when we needed to change our reservation but overall the restaurant seemed to be slightly off their game that night. Even with the reservation it...took forever to seat us, the French onion soup was a little on the cool side, my pasta had a little too much oil, hubby’s prime rib was slightly on the rare side. They filled our water glasses but failed to remove dirty dishes. The bathroom was low on TP and out of paper towels completely. The owner came around at the end of our meal which was a nice touch. Been here many times, still excellent and would still definitely come back for more. It just wasn’t perfect tonight.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Watersedge L, General Manager at The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2021

Thanks for spending such a special occasion with us, Tricia! We are terribly sorry about the miscues you mentioned here. We appreciate you letting us know and will talk with staff about these mistakes to ensure they do not happen again. We hope you'll come...More

Reviewed July 24, 2021

This was a surprise. Situated right next to our hotel. The hostess was able to accommodate my husband, myself, and granddaughter for dinner. Our waitress was attentive, efficient, and personable. The owner of the establishment visits each table and welcomes you to his restaurant, which...I thought was very nice. He clearly takes pride in the place and is there to make sure you have a nice meal. The food was fresh and tasty. We each had a seafood dish and the children’s chicken fingers, which were enjoyed by our granddaughter. There was a guitar player outside, which was a nice surprise after dinner.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Watersedge L, General Manager at The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2021

Thanks for the kind review! We're glad you were able to enjoy your dinner with your granddaughter. We hope you'll return for another great meal, sometime soon.

Reviewed July 8, 2021 via mobile

Had reservations, called ahead and added A few more Made us wait outside When they seated us it was at two separate tables not near each other Very expensive

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Watersedge L, General Manager at The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2021

Hi Patty, we apologize for the experience you described. Would you mind emailing us? customerservice@thewatersedgelighthouse.com

Reviewed July 5, 2021

While visiting in Schenectady NY on July 4th, our party of nine had dinner at the Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant. We were staying in the Homewood Suites next door, so this was a logical choice. The restaurant is very attractive, with outdoor seating facing the...Mohawk River as well as the indoor seating. Due to the size of our group we were seated in a private alcove off the bar. Perfect location for us. We started by sharing Bruschetta Pomodoro and salads. For entrees we had Cedar Salmon, Pepe Chicken, Swordfish Panza, Supergrain bowl with Seitan, Ahi Tuna and Strawberry Salad, Pork Osso Bucco, Prime Rib with mushrooms, Apple Walnut Salad with Tofu, and my order of Sea-bass Oreganata (which was delicious). No complaints from any in our party. The Baja Margarita was also praised. Our server handled all special requests professionally. My wife’s salad came with mixed greens although she had requested Romaine. The correction was made very quickly. Overall, we had a wonderful meal with good service in a lovely environment. I would certainly return.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
Watersedge L, General Manager at The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2021

Thanks for coming to dine with us on the holiday weekend! We're glad you enjoyed the food and the views. We hope to see you back at the restaurant when visiting Schenectady!

Reviewed July 1, 2021

It was a VERY hot, humid day and we arrived about 11:15 for our noon reservation. It was made clear to us that our reservation was for inside only, and if we chose to sit outside on the patio we would need to make sure...they knew we changed so they did not save a table for us. We understood the policy, did decide to eat outside (we were under cover and there was a nice breeze) , and made sure they knew about our change. This place is just plain lovely. Even indoors there is a great view of the Mohawk River. The food is very pricey, but the taste is worth the price. I ordered lobster roll (cold), and my 2 friends ordered the soft shell crab. We all loved our lunch choices. One of the group ordered eggplant fries which we all tried. They also were delicious!! Our server Olivia was excellent. At no time did we feel rushed, she was friendly and helpful. An asset to the organization. Also wanted to mention that the young lady that seated us was also very kind. Thank you Olivia. Hope to see you again!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Watersedge L, General Manager at The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2021

Thanks for the kind review! We're so glad you were able to enjoy the food and the views. We can't wait to host you again!

Reviewed June 11, 2021 via mobile

Very friendly! Amazing patio with such a relaxing river view! Food was delicious! Alex was very attentive and provided with excellent service! Tuna poke is a must ! Burgers! Chicken thighs ! Thank you for a great time and good vibes!

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Watersedge L, General Manager at The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2021

Thanks for this kind review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the food and the views. Can't wait to see you again!

Reviewed October 20, 2020 via mobile

Seafood is always delicious. Both of us had the lobster bisque which was very tasty. We ordered the stuffed lobster tails with crab for one dinner and scallop and lobster capresse for the other. Both were excellent! Scallop and lobster capresse sauce was fantastic. Prices...are high but worth the meal. It was a relaxing treat for dinner setting. Nice to see all tables full especially with the current situation. Staff friendly. Definitely dine again when need to be pampered.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
736karenp, General Manager at The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2020

Thank you for dining with us! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Our staff is working hard to ensure a great experience, even given the current environment. We hope you'll come back soon!

Reviewed September 26, 2020

I gave this restaurant 3 & 1/2 stars, as I averaged my dining companion's experience with my experience... This restaurant, overlooking the Mohawk River, was nice for outdoor dining. They have tables spread out on a patio under an overhang. There was plastic sheeting on...the outside edge of the seating area, I'm assuming, as protection if it rains. We were there when it opened at noon & got a table. Even though it was a workday though, every table was taken then! My dining companion really enjoyed her Soft Shell Crab BLT, especially as you can only get softshell crab at certain times of the year. I tasted a couple of the eggplant fries she'd ordered & thought they were very good. Now, I'm sure many diners would have enjoyed their Seafood Risotto entree. I didn't though as unfortunately, to my taste, it was heavily seasoned with rosemary, which I do NOT like at all! They also charged me for a large portion ($8 extra) rather than the smaller size which I'd ordered; however, they did correct this error on my bill. Lastly, there was A LOT of construction going on during my drive to the restaurant, including on the nearby bridge - not a pleasant experience! I would come back here to eat, but only after the construction was completed & I'd order something else...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
736karenp, General Manager at The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2020

Thank you for dining with us! We're glad you were able to enjoy the outdoor dining too! We know that construction can sure be a pain, but it'll be done before you know it, and when it is we can't wait to welcome you back.

Reviewed September 5, 2020

We planned a 4 pm arrivaal because we couldn't reserve a table on the patio. Since it was early we told our daughter to join us when she could, and we told the hostess that we would be joined by the rest of our family....She would not give us a table until our party was complete, so my husband and I had to watch while the patio filled up. My family soon arrived and we were seated, but the wait was frustrating. If we had known of the seating policy we would all have arrived together, so this policy needs to be made public. The patio setting is lovely, and food and service were very good.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
736karenp, General Manager at The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2020

Hi Mary, thank you for dining with us. We apologize for the miscommunication on the patio. It is our fault for not making the policy clear to you and inconveniencing you upon your arrival. We're glad you did end up enjoying the patio and the...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Homewood Suites by Hilton Schenectady
387 reviews
.05 miles away
The Landing Hotel at Rivers Casino and Resort
125 reviews
.62 miles away
The Stockade Inn
140 reviews
1.35 miles away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Schenectady
389 reviews
1.36 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Benevento Pizzeria & Catering
9 reviews
.60 miles away
Carm's Restaurant
16 reviews
.97 miles away
The Appian Way
54 reviews
.53 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Schenectady County Public Library
55 reviews
1.25 miles away
Museum of Innovation and Science
102 reviews
1.37 miles away
Schenectady Civic Players
31 reviews
1.40 miles away
Rivers Casino and Resort
291 reviews
.69 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Imbusywait
April 17, 2020|
Answer
Response from RealityChuck | Reviewed this property |
I know that they're putting out to go orders, but as far as I know they don't have specials family-style dinners, just individual entrees. The entrees are pretty big, though.
0
Votes
92gail
October 6, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Watersedge L | Property representative |
Hey there! Happy Hour drinks, specials, and times vary based upon the time of year. Call us ahead of time! 518-370-5300
0
Votes
lynn c
April 22, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Watersedge L | Property representative |
Hi! Sorry for just seeing this question! For all wondering we DO have a children's menu. Trip Advisor does not allow us to put URL links in these responses. But, if you go to our websites and go to "Menus" we have a... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant

Yes, The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant offers takeout services.

The Waters Edge Lighthouse Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5