We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
634 Main St, East Aurora, NY 14052 (Formerly Tantalus Restaurant Bar & Cafe)
716-652-0341
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 167 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 51
    Excellent
  • 42
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 26
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Quaint Restaurant

We arrived shortly after opening on a Saturday. We were the only people there. The motif is Medieval,large paintings on wall were nice. Table could have been cleaner.The waitress was friendly.The food was good,not great. I would eat there again. We had a groupon,which made the value good.It might... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 5 days ago
Care C
,
Savannah, Georgia
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived shortly after opening on a Saturday. We were the only people there. The motif is Medieval,large paintings on wall were nice. Table could have been cleaner.The waitress was friendly.The food was good,not great. I would eat there again. We had a groupon,which made the value good.It might be nice later for dinner if they lit all the candles... More 

Helpful?
Thank Care C
East Aurora, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The menu at Medici House is pretty extensive and when we need a quick bite to eat you can't go wrong with the thin crust pizzas that they have to offer. The front bar is very nice and it's worth just ordering a drink and waiting for your pizza to finish for take out.

Helpful?
Thank Greg E
waclaw, Owner at Medici House, responded to this review

Greg, Thanks for the kind words. Our pizzas are hand-tossed, thin crusted beasts that are hard to come by in WNY. Even after 14 years, they are still my favorite item on the menu. Regards, Laurie Owner More 

Lockport, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went there Friday evening around 645 ordered a couple drinks and our meals.I order the fish fry big mistake food took a long time to get there and was the worst meal ever. For 13 dollars on the high side for a fish fry you would think you get a lot of fish not. There was maybe 1.5 oz of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg D
waclaw, Owner at Medici House, responded to this review

Dear Greg, I am sorry to hear about your experience on Friday. Ownership is always on premise and cares terribly about both the meal and the service all patrons experience at the restaurant. I can tell you how many times guests comment about the size of the fish fry and request that we offer 1/2 portions. With regard to cost... More 

Buffalo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon entering the restaraunt we had no idea which way to go. We went into the bar area and there is no obious hostess station or place to check in. After wandering to the other end of the bar area we found someone seating people but again it was quite chaotic. We said we had reservations at 7pm but were... More 

Helpful?
Thank HokejG
waclaw, Owner at Medici House, responded to this review

I am very happy that you enjoyed your meal. I know I should "save my excuses for my Mother...." But, our regular hostess has been on leave and we are working with our back-up. A simply delightful girl but not as adapt as her co-worker. As far as the entrance to the Restaurant. It is much easier in the warmer... More 

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Very crowded and noisy, but I can see why. Even with the crowd, food and service were great (other than a wine glass that hadn't been rinsed properly and smelled soapy, but was quickly replaced when I pointed it out -- many restaurants need to be more aware of this). The blue cheese stuffed burger was the best burger I've... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim S
waclaw, Owner at Medici House, responded to this review

Dear Tim, I cannot tell you how much I appreciated your kind words. It was a terribly busy holiday season. Everyone at the Restaurant, from the cooks to the wait staff to the bussers and dishwashers, all worked terribly hard and it's nice to hear their efforts paid off. I do apologize for the soapy glass. The next time that... More 

East Aurora, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

This is not a restaurant for intimate dining. Bar and dining rooms are noisy and difficult to hear. Dining tables for 2 seat too far apart. Extensive menu from pasta to fish.

Helpful?
Thank mlcrowell
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

First this place specializes in pizza and server didn't tell us until we were ready to order they were out of pizza dough. We were offered flatbreads instead which we agreed to assuming it would be at a lesser price considering its not a pizza. They did not cook the flat breads the way we asked and hardly put any... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vertonica05
waclaw, Owner at Medici House, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry about your recent experience at our Restaurant. We take great pride in our pizzas. It is a rare day that we run out of dough, that said with the busy holiday season it unfortunately happened when you visited. I apologize for the waiter not informing you of this issue sooner and not explaining what an epicurean... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

I'm always amazed at how restaurateurs can be blind to gaping problems with their establishments and then wonder why they go out of business. Symptom #1 of a failing business: you need to run a half off deal 365 days out of the year to keep customers in the building. That's a sure sign of treating a symptom rather than... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DJC1976
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

The rustic casual decor was a pleasant change with piped in cool jazz music. LOVE the Beriberi Wings! My son brought me here to try these with their own distinctive taste and I just had to bring a friend. Wings are one of her favorites so I told her it's a "must try". She loved them as well! Their special... More 

Helpful?
Thank MauiWowe
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

Let me start out with the positive...My husband ordered a burger and fries...Although the burger came with cheese (my husband asked for it without) and there was a piece of plastic cooked into the hand cut fries the burger itself was tasty. My spinach and mushroom sandwich was good and the pumpkin apple soup was delicious. Now for the negative...The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mathilda73

Travelers who viewed Medici House also viewed

 
East Aurora, NY
 

Been to Medici House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 634 Main St, East Aurora, NY 14052 (Formerly Tantalus Restaurant Bar & Cafe)
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  East Aurora
  • Phone Number: 716-652-0341

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Italian, Pizza

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Medici House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?